We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend getaway”
Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hodson Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Last weekend we stayed in the Hodson Bay Hotel,It was arranged by my fiancee as a surprise for me-a welcome one as it turned out.We arrived on Friday evening an had dinner in the main restaurant,the food was fantastic ,the staff were very friendly and helpful,I was booked in for a deep tissue massage on Saturday morning before breakfast,I emerged extremely relaxed and refreshed,After a breakfast fit for royalty we strolled around the grounds and out by the lake-where we took a boat cruise of the lake,we returned in the afternoon and I went to the bar to have a few drinks while my fiancee had a facial before dinner,we returned to the bar after the meal as there was a band playing which rounded off the evening nicely.We left shortly after breakfast on Sunday as I had a game that afternoon but we're already booked in for the next bank holiday weekend and are bringing some friends along to experiance a great relaxing weekend for themselves!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KieranHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2010

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to put forward such positive feedback. It was great that both you and your fiancee had the opportunity to experience so many of the facilities the hotel has to offer. I am delighted that you had such a good stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you both back. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in organising your return visit with your friends.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,012 - 2,018 of 2,228 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2010

Just returned from a couple of days stay at that Hodson Bay Hotel had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautifully situated on the lake. There are two sections to the hotel, we stayed in the older section with the kids in an interconnecting room which was wonderful for the kids (and us!!). The rooms were prefectly adequate, clean and well serviced throughout the stay. The kids loved the kids camp and excellent pool.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the dinner in the restaurant was superb, kids ate in the camp which freed my husband and I to have dinner at ease. All in all a wonderful stay and I am looking forward to returning soon

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summersun_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2010

Dear Guest

It is always very encouraging for the management and staff at the hotel to read such positive comments. Our aim at the hotel is to ensure that each guest that visits the hotel, whether it be for one night or a family break, has the opportunity to experience all the facilities that we have to offer, and leaves the hotel looking forward to a return visit. I am delighted that you had such a good stay with us and I look forward to welcoming both you and your family back to the hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I'm not normally a person for writing reviews however my stay recently in the Hodson Bay Hotel was so fantastic that I felt that it deserves the effort. I went away with a few friends for a two night break. From the minute we checked in we were made feel very special, the staff were friendly and made us feel like their family. We had dinner on both evenings in the restaurant and the food was gorgeous, great variety on the menu, accompanied by some very nice wine. We each had a treatment in the spa, all I can say about that is that is was out of this world. We had breakfast at leisure each morning and again the variety and quality was superb. The most impressive thing i must say about the hotel is the staff, there friendliness and professionalism was second to none. I will definitely be returning to the Hodson Bay Hotel, in fact I'm in the process of organising a family reunion and now i have found the ideal location to hold it. Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwayGetaway_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2010

Dear Guest

It was delightful to read such heartful comments, and we truly appreciate such positive feedback. At the hotel we are priviliged to have exceptional staff, many of whom have been with us for a number of years, and they take great pride in the standard of service offered to our guests. I am delighted that both you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. Please make us aware when you wish to hold your family reunion, as we would love to help in any way we can and I would be delighted to meet and welcome you upon your return to the the hotel.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

A group of old college mates decided to meet up and we wanted to go somewhere central with lots to do. Hodson Bay it was.
So what can I say ... words can’t describe my stay and how special we were made feel.
I’m not going to lie the Hotel was busy and had a wedding coming in. There was a lot of excitement around the main lobby and outside.
We were checked in with little delay and we were shown to our room. We had some adjoining rooms and we were all pretty close which was great. There was fruit in our room and a letter and flowers form one of the ladies who could not make the trip.
Our rooms were bright and fresh . . . . . however if you are going to have a few “7ups” the night before be sure to close the curtains before you hit the hay, as we had one or two (bottles) of wine in the bar chatting about old time. Good atmosphere, there was table service also which was brill.
We had Spa treatment booked for the Saturday, we made sure to arrive early and had lots of time in the thermal area. I’m a Spa lover and I had high expectations for it and it live up to each and more. My therapist was amazing I think Joslan was her name. What a way to finish your treatment and experience by undisturbed views overlooking the water. Amazing.
I would advise to book early for dinner, as time get booked pretty fast especially for peak times. We eat about 6.30 which suited and headed for Athlone.
Sean’s bar is def worth a look. It is “the oldest” bar in Ireland. It had a good mix between locals and strangers. Trad music playing and the bar staff were great. ( or was it just because it was a group of 8 ladies)
Headed back to the Hotel and even the taxi guy spoke highly about the venue.
I cannot recommend this Hotel enough and the Wedding crew seemed to have good craic but not interfere with the other people in the hotel too much.
There was a kids club also and they were out playing in the front so next time I might bring my 2 devils with me.
Breakfast is a must try.. the array of fruit, cereals and yogurts had me spoilt for choice.
Even though we only stayed for 2 nights I was more relaxed than a week in the sun!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laoislas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2010

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for such upbeat and positive feedback. Both you and your group seemed to have really enjoyed your time at the hotel and you also got to experience some of the charm which Athlone has to offer. We are fortunate to have been quite busy over the summer period, and this can be quite challenging to manage as we have such a broad range of guests. Thankfully we are in a position to be able to facilitate each guests needs whether its a family holiday, group night away or a short romantic getaway. I am delighted that both you and your group had such an enjoyable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Second time to stay in this hotel. Possibly even better than the first. Room was excellent with great views of lough ree. Food and staff great, as before. They have introduced a bar food menu since our last stay, which suited us perfectly. The swimming pool is very modern and a great way to relax before breakfast.
Only negative would be live music, there was music at the weekend, but not much midweek. Lots to do around Athlone though, and it's not too far. There was a festival on in the town the week we stayed also.
Hodson Bay and Athlone are highly recommended and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2010

Dear Guest

Its always great to see guest coming back to the hotel time and time again. We have many guest that have been coming to the hotel for years, which of course is very rewarding for management and staff alike and it really encourages us to keep doing a good job. Mid week in the hotel we run various activites for guests, which include Wine Tasting, Spa Talks, Bingo and may more, and it is unfortunate that this information was not relayed to you. Please make us aware when you are returning to the hotel as I would be delighted to meet and welcome you back.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

To be fair Reception Staff were very very nice - On arrival the minute I walked in the door I knew the place was grubby but with 3 small kids and was arriving late in the evening after driving 3 hours was not kicking up a fuss..
Arrived to our bedroom - really musty smell - place felt like it needed a good clean.. Room was very spacious - beds very soft and uncomfortable
Reason we stayed was because of Kids Club - were never told at any Stage that it cost €15 per night for the Kiddies Club - found that out on check out which I thought was cheeky - I have never had to pay for this in any hotel before. Have to say any of the staff that we dealt with in the Restaurant both evening meal and Breakfast were very nice and dressed very well - The place would have been very nice when it opened up but my god the old part of the hotel leads a lot to be desired..The new part of the hotel is really nice so if you are staying here make sure to insist on staying in the new part..

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csimiami186638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Spent 4 nights here recently, staff were friendly, hotel lovely and food was terrific.
Great kids club to keep my 3 young ones entertained and feed when we went to the restaurant and had a fantastic meal.
Leisure facilities were excellent and there were plently of things to do both at the hotel and nearby to keep parents and kids happy. Only small complaint was the rooms were too warm and I found it difficult to sleep

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damien121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2010

Dear Guest

It was wonderful to read that there were many positive aspects to your stay, and I would like to thank your for your comments. At the hotel we use feedback such as yours to look at ways to improve the service and experience that your guests receive when they stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,006 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,131 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.7 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £68 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing