We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stop”
Review of Alverna House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alverna House B&B
Ranked #3 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Wittenberg, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“First stop”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This B&B was our first over-night stay out of Dublin back in mid-October. The location had a definite "rural" flavor and was easy to find. Accommodations, as well as breakfast, were outstanding. Our hosts (Ronan & Niamh) were extremely helpful in guiding us to The Locke Restaurant in Athlone where we experienced an exceptional dinner. My wife and I would not hesitate to book with them should our future excursions to the Emerald Isle take us to the Midlands.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi Jim & Barbara. We hope you had a wonderful Christmas and best wishes for 2014. Thanks for your lovely review and so glad we could assist with booking a nice restaurant. We'd love to see you both again so be sure to drop in if you're ever in the area. Best regards, Niamh & Ronan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We booked this by booking.com on route from Clifden to Dublin on a motorbike

It was superb, we were greated and made to feel very welcome. The rooms and breakfast were excellent.

If you have a family then there is plenty for them here- pool table, games, sitting room.

They offered us a lift into town and even an evening sarnie.

I would highly reccomend staying here!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesKaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi James & Jennifer. We just want to thank you both for leaving us such a good review. Sorry it has taken so long to reply! Hope you both had a lovely Christmas and all the best for the New Year 2014. Best regards. Niamh & Ronan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal, Donegal, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the location for only one night and we wish we could have stayed for another night or two. It was first class the service and hospitality was excellent and niamh would go out of her way to help you out. We even got left into athlone on sat night from niamhs husband and he wouldnt even take money from us for the lift. The room was lovley very spacious, good bathroom facilitys, and the breakfast in the morning was lovely, with cerals, fruit, muffins and yogurt just among some of the food that was provided before the fried breakfast which was great. We will be definelty coming back again and recommending it to all our friends in donegal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyMcL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi Johnny, sorry it has taken so long to reply! Just want to thank you both for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to write them. Hope you made it to the christening on time! We look forward to your return and sure bring all your friends next time! Best regards. Niamh & Ronan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This a lovely B and B. Spotlessly clean great shower and an excellent breakfast. The fresh fruit salad was the best we had during our 10 day stay in Ireland! Niamh (the owner) was very helpful in providing info on restaurants, parking in town and an excellent wool shop. Yes I bought some wool and a coat from Graces. I wish I had had more space in my case to allow me buy more there!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmcmc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Hi, we're so glad you & your husband enjoyed your stay here and I see you found the wool shop! Thanks for taking the time to leave such a nice review and hope you enjoyed your time in Dublin. Kind regard. Niamh & Ronan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemnitz
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great B&B - actually, the best we have visited during our road trip through Ireland. The rooms are very clean and beautifully furnished. The hospitality of the owners is unmatched. Breakfast was also the best we had during our Ireland trip.
Our little son enjoyed the playground in the garden very much. The B&B is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ole_stern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Hi guys, we're so glad both of you and your son had a nice time here. It was lovely to meet you both and your gorgeous little boy. I hope you had a lovely time in the west with your sister. Thanks for the great review and hope to see you all again some day. Regards Niamh & Ronan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millburn, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was our fifth and best b&b in Ireland. Lovely location, beautifully decorated place. Great family/recreation room. ---very family friendly. It is evident that the owners thought of everything to make the guests feel welcome. Great Irish breakfast. Niamh the owner was a gracious hostess. A five star gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hi Joanne, it was a pleasure to meet you both even if it was such a short visit. Thanks for leaving such a great review of our B&B and hope you had a nice time in Dublin after leaving here. Kindest regards, Niamh & Ronan. p.s. thanks for all the golf balls!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Castle - England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here at the end of August as a party of 5 in room 5 the family room. It was a great stay in a great location. The place is clean and refreshingly modern. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay welcome as they provided loads for my 2 children to do. The beds are comfortable with plenty of space in the room. The owners basically provided anything we wanted for breakfast and as i saying were really helpful. The location is excellent as it is only a few miles from Athlone and as we were cathing the ferry the next day Dublin is only really just over an hour away.
We would certainly stay here again Thanks for a great stay. The Braddick family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwdWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Hi Steve & Becky, glad to hear you all made it home safely. Hope the kids didn't mind too much going back to school! It was lovely to meet you all and thank you very much for leaving such nice comments. Niamh & Ronan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
1.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,066 reviews
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
913 reviews
4.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alverna House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alverna House B&B

Property: Alverna House B&B
Address: N61 | Kiltoom, Athlone, Roscommon, Cornaseer, Co., Athlone Cornaseer, Kiltoom, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alverna House is a modern family home. Rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. We are situated less than 10mins drive on the outskirts of Athlone Town. We are about 3mins from Athlone Golf Club and the Hodson Bay. Full disabled access & facilities are available here. All rooms are en-suite with multi-channel TV and have tea/coffee making facilities with biscuits. Children of all ages are always welcome and will enjoy our games room which has a full sized pool table, large plazma TV & Wii, board games etc... There is plenty of free off-road parking and local amenities include Pub, Hotel, Hodson Bay Watersports, Golf, Shops, RC Church, Golfing Range and of course within minutes from the bustling town of Athlone where there are a wide range of restaurants and bars etc.... Clonmacnoise Monastic Site, Kilbeggan Whiskey Distillery & many other attractions are all within a short drive from Athlone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Alverna House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing