We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Alverna House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alverna House B&B
Ranked #3 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A beautiful house, spotlessly clean and comfortable. We were made to feel "at home" on our arrival by Nimah who was very knowledgeable about the local area in respect of restaurants, places of interest etc. The breakfast was fantastic and our overnight stay went without a hitch.Wish we could have stayed longer!!. We will definitely revisit Alverna House in the future. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENBRIDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi guys, thanks for taking the time to review your stay here, it means a lot to us. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again someday. Best regards, Niamh & Ronan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at Alverna House for three nights recently. Niamh and Ronan have created a B&B to be proud of. The general décor in the public rooms is of a very high standard. Our room overlooked the front of the house and the adjacent main road but road noise was not an issue at all. All the fixtures, fittings and linens were of excellent quality. The personal facilities in the room were spotlessly clean and maintained as such during our stay. The choice and quality of breakfast was very good indeed. Wifi is available in the downstairs rooms. Going to Athlone? Stay at Alverna, you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdn1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi guys, thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your stay here. It was lovely to have met you both. We hope your re-union in Dublin was a good one! Best regards, Niamh & Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Our family of 6 ( with 4 children aged from 7-14 years) spent a very pleasant night at Alverna House with Niamh and Ronan. We were made to feel very welcome and the children have said that the breakfast was the best of all the B&B's that we have visited while in Ireland. The house is very modern, clean and comfortable. Our whole family highly recommends this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiAdventurer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Hi again! Delighted you and your lovely kids had a good time here. I hope Kinvara was good and that ye got some nice weather. Thanks for taking the time to leave a fab review and wishing you all a safe journey back home. Regards Niamh & Ronan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great overnight stay in this very clean and welcoming B&B, the owner even gave us a lift into town so we wouldn't have to get a taxi. Tasty fry up in the morning too. Would definitely stay again.
David and Roisin

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavDob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Hi David & Róisín, thanks for the lovely review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay here. Hope you got to go surfing the next day! All the best. Niamh & Ronan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have a surprising time at this B&B. We have just stayed for 1 night but we loved it! Niamh was very welcoming on arrival. We stayed in a superb room, a very spacious one and with a very comfortable bed at first floor! The cleanness of the house is incredible! Lovely breakfast! The house is very I highly recommend this house for a delightful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana Lucia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Hi Anna Lúcia & Cássio. We're glad you enjoyed your first night in Ireland and I hope the rest of your holiday was just as nice. Thank you for your lovely review and hope you enjoy the World Cup over there this summer! Regards Niamh & Ronan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here with my husband on our last night in Ireland. The B&B was lovely, our room was very large and modern. The owner, Niamh was very welcoming and helpful in directing us to dinner nearby. She was willing to cook us an early breakfast and gave us advice on how to best get to the airport in the morning. One slight downside is that Wi-fi is only available in common areas, but apart form that, this place is an absolute gem!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Hi Katherine & Brian, glad to see you made it home safe & sound. Delighted you enjoyed your last night in Ireland and thanks very much for taking the time to leave a lovely review. Best regards, Niamh & Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here on 3/4/14 for one night in single room. Niamh was very welcoming on arrival, room and en suite were spotless, very comfy bed. Breakfast was lovely freshly cooked fry with toast,brown bread,tea and orange juice filled me up for th day. I wound def go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomm4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Hi Thomas, thanks for taking the time to leave such a nice review of your stay here. I hope your exam went well and the best of luck with any other ones. Kindest regards. Niamh & Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,960 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,165 reviews
4.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
6.6 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
283 reviews
4.3 mi away
Shannonside House B&B
Shannonside House B&B
#1 of 20 in Athlone
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alverna House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alverna House B&B

Address: N61 | Kiltoom, Athlone, Roscommon, Cornaseer, Co., Athlone Cornaseer, Kiltoom, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range: £74 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alverna House is a modern family home. Rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. We are situated less than 10mins drive on the outskirts of Athlone Town. We are about 3mins from Athlone Golf Club and the Hodson Bay. Full disabled access & facilities are available here. All rooms are en-suite with multi-channel TV and have tea/coffee making facilities with biscuits. Children of all ages are always welcome and will enjoy our games room which has a full sized pool table, large plazma TV & Wii, board games etc... There is plenty of free off-road parking and local amenities include Pub, Hotel, Hodson Bay Watersports, Golf, Shops, RC Church, Golfing Range and of course within minutes from the bustling town of Athlone where there are a wide range of restaurants and bars etc.... Clonmacnoise Monastic Site, Kilbeggan Whiskey Distillery & many other attractions are all within a short drive from Athlone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alverna House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing