We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary break”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Anniversary break”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

From the moment we arrived we were greeted and treated like old friends. Staff from Manageress down were so cheerful and friendly throughout our stay. Bedroom was superb with fantastic views across the lake.

We have eaten in numerous 5 star restaurants and would rate menu at Wineport superior to most of them

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenndyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear kenndyj,

Many thanks for posting your review on trip adviser. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your Anniversary break with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    156
    86
    32
    9
See reviews for
115
661
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My spouse and I had just finished a boating holiday on the Shannon and were looking for a quiet evening and reasonably priced food on our last evening in Ireland. We stumbled upon Wineport Lodge by accident and thought it would be well beyond the budget we had set for the evening. Instead we were greeted and treated like royalty and had one of the finest dining experiences ever off the limited early evening menu which proved less expensive than almost every other meal we had bought in a month in Ireland. The culinary experience and the welcome alone would have justified a far higher price tag but the window seats in an amazing location as the sun was going down were worth their weight in gold. For those who appreciate it, the owner is a prize winning sommelier and the wine list is carefully chosen, extensive and caters for every purse. Incidentally, our experience was 'greet and eat.' No booking. No waiting. Amazingly quick service for the quality of food

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rOCHJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear rOCHJA,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of your evening with us. I have passed your comments on the rest of the team in Wineport Lodge.

We hope to welcome you back to in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Lovely hotel, lovely food, superb bedrooms and great ducks on the lake! Just wondering about the logic of not letting us sit at the windows for breakfast though, seemed a bit silly that just because it was "set" for dinner that we could not avail of a window seat, it was only a table for two so would hardly take an army to re-set it. Great sport in the bedrooms trying to get past the walk-in wardrobe to go to the loo WITHOUT the automatic light coming on, bit of a pain at 04.00 when you want to pay a visit but don't want to wake your partner, tried leaning close to the other wall, jumping in the air, crawling etc. - all of which did much more to wake my partner up than any automatic light coming on! Lovely weekend, can recommend it but bring your raincoat and your cheque book!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite - they are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CabraQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear CabraQueen,

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser, I am delighted to hear you felt Wineport was a lovely hotel with lovely food & superb bedrooms. All feed back is greatly appreciated & your comments on the sensor light in your suite has been taken on board. We hope it not impinge on your stay too much.

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had a window of opportunity recently when the kids were away and we had time to ourselves. My wife booked an overnight break in the Wineport Lodge to celebrate my birthday. She mentioned the special occasion when making the booking.
The building does not look very attractive from the road/carpark but it really makes up for this when you go to the main entrance. It is a beautiful wooden lodge set right on the shores of Lough Ree, in fact some of our fellow guests arrived by boat.

From the start we were made to feel at home, we were given a room upgrade and a plate of biscuits left out for us with a birthday greeting written in chocolate, a really nice touch.

Our room looked out on the lake and splendid lake views hit you at every turn throughout the lodge. Our room was comfortable and clean, the bed was excellent The staff were very friendly and the bar very welcoming with a decent barfood menu. When we went down to the restaurant for dinner a special effort was made to give us a nice table because it was my birthday. The staff in the restaurant were friendly and fun without being intrusive. The meal was very good as evidenced by very clean plates going back to the kitchen and, yes, they did give me a little birthday dessert with candles!
Breakfast in bed, at no extra charge, was delicious and a suitably decadent end to our mini-break. We left Wineport lodge feeling very relaxed and promising to return soon

Room Tip: All rooms have a lakeview but it is worth paying a little extra for a suite if you can afford to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benbud K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear Benbud K,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser. We are delighted you enjoyed your break away with us & that you felt there was special efforts made for your special occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport Lodge in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Warm place. Smailing receptionists . Room looking at the Lake. Merveillause bath floor when we could dry our boots! Thanks Sandra & Sergio

Room Tip: Every wine means a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187823Sandra810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I live in Italy and my new husband lives in Dublin. We are not Spring chickens and have had a whole lot of experiences in our lifetime. This September we were married, had our Reception and overnighted with our guests in the Wineport Lodge.
It was a dream. Celine and her staff got it all so right.
They participated wholeheartedly in the whole event, with joy and discretion. Celine was there from the moment I arrived to prepare; she pinned bottonholes, led my son, daughter and I down to the Harbour Room for the ceremony, placed my bouquet into my shaking hands and generally was wonderful.... you would think it was the first wedding she had organized, such was her enthusiasm.
The food was exquisite, the table setting beautiful and the service at table exemplary.
The Lodge itself is mirrored in a beautiful lake; emphasis is definitely on discrete top quality. Staff are trained to the highest levels, the food is 5 star quality and the warmth you feel from the moment you enter is genuine.
You want to feel pampered? Go for a romantic week-end. Their fresh lavander, tea-light and champagne bath experience is the end of the world! It would rekindle the dead!!
A meal there is a harmonious experience of excellent cuisine, good wine, relaxation and satisfaction that only top notch service can provide.
Am I biased? Yes, I am. I have just had the most wonderful event of my life there and they made it perfect

Room Tip: Any suite and you will be happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishredhead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear irishredhead1,

Many thanks for your lovely review on trip adviser, we are delighted you enjoyed your special day & we were thrilled to be involved in such an important occasion in your lives. It was our pleasure to accommodate you & we were more than happy to assist with your plans for the big day! I have passed all of your comments on to Celine & the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport Lodge in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

While the surroundings and venue itself are luxurious it was the staff who made our stay memorable. We enjoyed every minute of a truly relaxing and opulent break. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLKS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear CLKS25,

Many thanks for your lovely review on trip adviser. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & found that it was mostly our staff that made your stay memorable. I have passed your comments on the the rest of the team.

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Property: Wineport Lodge
Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing