We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury by the Shannon”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The situation on Lough Ree is spectacular, the welcome outstanding, the rooms really comfortable with the food and wines excellent. All-in-all a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Dear Paul K,

Many thanks for your lovely review on trip adviser. I am delighted to hear that your time in Wineport Lodge was all in all a great experience.

We hope to welcome you back to in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

905 - 911 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed in the Wineport Lodge for a wedding in October 2011. It is a true gem, which is hidden away in a quiet rural area not far from Athlone and very near Glassan. It was such a pleasure to stay in a hotel where ALL of the hotel staff were extremely polite and helpful. Nothing was a problem and staff in the residents bar remained cheerful and pleasant, even when we were up until the early hours of the morning. Sometimes food at weddings can be a disappointment, even in the best of venues, but in the Wineport...well, the food was absolutely fabulous. Breakfast was another delicious experience!

All of those at the wedding spoke so highly of their experience, so suffice to say that there will be a number of us planning a return break. I'm not sure if it's a place that you would bring small children too as it is right beside the lake, plus there aren't really any facilities for kids. if you want a break that doesn't involve a long trek from Dublin, where you can relax and unwind with that book that you have been meaning to read, whilst you look out over the lake directly in front of the lounge - then this is the place for you. It's also convenient if you would like to pop into Athlone for a spot of shopping. The nearest village is Glassan - this is a great spot with a fantastic gastro pub called The Fatted Calf...so if you want to venture outside the doors of the Wineport, this is the place to go.

As far as I can remember, you have to book for two nights if you fancy visiting at the weekend. One thing is for sure, you will come back feeling relaxed and fresh after a trip to the Wineport. You will also be most impressed by the very friendly staff. The only suggestion that I could make regarding an area which could be improved on is the bedrooms - they could be spruced up a little bit more. The rooms are very comfortable, but not plush, as I had expected.The bathroom was lovely, with heated floors and modern furnishings.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweeety-bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Dear Tweeety-bird,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us & that you found our staff & food to be a highlight. I have taken note of your comments regarding the bedrooms, we really appreciate your feedback.

I hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Where do I start...Myself and my partner stayed here last weekend at this beautiful peaceful resort during the weekend. It was my boyfriends birthday, and I wanted to make sure we were looked after no matter where we chose to go. Firstly, Ciara in reservations was extremely helpful adding little things to my reservation. When we arrived we were taken straight to our room which was the Captains Suite (amazing room)(Thank you Norma). Both of us having come from hotel backgrounds, we have extremely high expectations. We are often experience disappointing standards on a regular basis (as a result) but we left this place blissfully relaxed and extremely happy with the service we received. Its how every hotel should behave. I don't have one complaint - only that we had to leave.

If you want a peaceful get away from it all, this place is perfect. We had opted for the couple spa treatment which involves a full body massage for you and your partner, then a relaxing bath prepared for you in your room with champagne! A wonderful experience.
For those of you who love steak, Wineport's fillet is second to none. Amazing, well bodied, well hung steak cooked mid rare is so so beautiful :)

The views are therapeutic and you seem to embody a sense of peace and calm while staying here. Its wonderful to get away from all the noise and bussle of the world. All the rooms are beautiful as they all have lake views.

The real high light here is the intangible product they offer which is fantastic service. When you pay to go somewhere, you are paying for the service. And in many places I have experienced, they have forgotten that they are providing a product in the "Hospitality Industry".

Credit where credit is due and this place deserves credit. If you din't believe me, experience this place your self. I strongly recommend a stay at the Wineport Lodge.

We will definitely be back, as will most of our friends and family ;) thank you to all the staff from Sharon and Bruno.

Room Tip: Go for a suite! They are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Dear Sharon S,

Many thanks for review on trip adviser, we are delighted to hear your stay with us was a truly wonderful experience. I have passed your lovely comments on regarding your bedroom, treatments & dinner to all of the departments.

I look forward to welcoming you & Bruno back to Wineport Lodge in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

From the moment we arrived we were greeted and treated like old friends. Staff from Manageress down were so cheerful and friendly throughout our stay. Bedroom was superb with fantastic views across the lake.

We have eaten in numerous 5 star restaurants and would rate menu at Wineport superior to most of them

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenndyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Dear kenndyj,

Many thanks for posting your review on trip adviser. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your Anniversary break with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My spouse and I had just finished a boating holiday on the Shannon and were looking for a quiet evening and reasonably priced food on our last evening in Ireland. We stumbled upon Wineport Lodge by accident and thought it would be well beyond the budget we had set for the evening. Instead we were greeted and treated like royalty and had one of the finest dining experiences ever off the limited early evening menu which proved less expensive than almost every other meal we had bought in a month in Ireland. The culinary experience and the welcome alone would have justified a far higher price tag but the window seats in an amazing location as the sun was going down were worth their weight in gold. For those who appreciate it, the owner is a prize winning sommelier and the wine list is carefully chosen, extensive and caters for every purse. Incidentally, our experience was 'greet and eat.' No booking. No waiting. Amazingly quick service for the quality of food

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rOCHJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Dear rOCHJA,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of your evening with us. I have passed your comments on the rest of the team in Wineport Lodge.

We hope to welcome you back to in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Lovely hotel, lovely food, superb bedrooms and great ducks on the lake! Just wondering about the logic of not letting us sit at the windows for breakfast though, seemed a bit silly that just because it was "set" for dinner that we could not avail of a window seat, it was only a table for two so would hardly take an army to re-set it. Great sport in the bedrooms trying to get past the walk-in wardrobe to go to the loo WITHOUT the automatic light coming on, bit of a pain at 04.00 when you want to pay a visit but don't want to wake your partner, tried leaning close to the other wall, jumping in the air, crawling etc. - all of which did much more to wake my partner up than any automatic light coming on! Lovely weekend, can recommend it but bring your raincoat and your cheque book!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite - they are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CabraQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Dear CabraQueen,

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser, I am delighted to hear you felt Wineport was a lovely hotel with lovely food & superb bedrooms. All feed back is greatly appreciated & your comments on the sensor light in your suite has been taken on board. We hope it not impinge on your stay too much.

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had a window of opportunity recently when the kids were away and we had time to ourselves. My wife booked an overnight break in the Wineport Lodge to celebrate my birthday. She mentioned the special occasion when making the booking.
The building does not look very attractive from the road/carpark but it really makes up for this when you go to the main entrance. It is a beautiful wooden lodge set right on the shores of Lough Ree, in fact some of our fellow guests arrived by boat.

From the start we were made to feel at home, we were given a room upgrade and a plate of biscuits left out for us with a birthday greeting written in chocolate, a really nice touch.

Our room looked out on the lake and splendid lake views hit you at every turn throughout the lodge. Our room was comfortable and clean, the bed was excellent The staff were very friendly and the bar very welcoming with a decent barfood menu. When we went down to the restaurant for dinner a special effort was made to give us a nice table because it was my birthday. The staff in the restaurant were friendly and fun without being intrusive. The meal was very good as evidenced by very clean plates going back to the kitchen and, yes, they did give me a little birthday dessert with candles!
Breakfast in bed, at no extra charge, was delicious and a suitably decadent end to our mini-break. We left Wineport lodge feeling very relaxed and promising to return soon

Room Tip: All rooms have a lakeview but it is worth paying a little extra for a suite if you can afford to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benbud K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Dear Benbud K,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser. We are delighted you enjoyed your break away with us & that you felt there was special efforts made for your special occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport Lodge in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,986 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,203 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £123 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing