We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
YORK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Spent one night here and wished we were staying longer! We arrived an hour later than we meant to but were given a very warm welcome just the same and immediately felt enveloped in the relaxed atmosphere. We were shown to our room – we had been upgraded to a lovely, spacious room with a large bathroom and a sitting area with additional seating on the decking outside which would have fabulous in warmer weather as the lake view was wonderful. We headed for the restaurant for a superb meal and the next morning had a lovely breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit and delicious bread. The staff were all really friendly and just the right level of attentive and the hotel itself is modern without being overly trendy and very comfortable. Any gripes? Well, maybe some cushions in the rooms to soften up the sofa, perhaps some instant coffee and decaff for an early morning or late night cuppa, not just ‘real’ coffee and the bedside lights were a little tricky to switch on and off, but those are very minor things. I would thoroughly recommend Wineport Lodge and would love to go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorsfromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear VisitorsfromYork,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us & that you liked so many aspects of your stay which resulted in a wonderfully relaxing evening in our lodge. We really appreciate all of your feedback & hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    154
    86
    32
    9
See reviews for
113
655
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights from 10th to 13th April at the Wineport Lodge. From the minute we arrived at reception we knew we were in for a treat. The staff were very helpful even though they had a wedding that afternoon. Our room was upgraded which was amazing. Everything we could wish for ! My husband is a coffee addict and we had a coffee plunger in room along with homemade cookies in a jar each day. Bed was so comfortable and what a luxury to have underground heating in the bathroom. The views across Lough Ree were amazing. Breakfasts were amazing, all tastes catered for and no request was a problem. Nice treat to get the morning paper delivered outside your room. Dinner was amazing, beautifully presented and service was superb. Though we had no reason at all to get in touch with Reception I imagine your request would be dealt with immediately and with no fuss. I could have stayed for another few nights! We both had pampering sessions which were amazing, so relaxing and peaceful and then to just walk back to your room to chill out with the tv, radio or a dvd. Bliss without the kids! Would highly recommend The Wineport Lodge and we will certainly be going back again without any doubt. Well done to all the staff !

Room Tip: From our 3 night stay we heard no noise at all even though there was a wedding there on the night of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulawhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear paulawhelan,

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser. It was lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your break with us. Your positive feedback & comments regarding how you felt it was the most relaxing & pampering experience ever have been passed on to our team here in the Lodge.

we look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Having found this in the Blue Book of Hotels,we were at first a little dubious as we entered the parking area, but what a gorgeous surprise ,when we were greeted at the reception area by a welcome smile.,booking in was promptly dealt with and then shown to our room.

The room was a WOW factor and so continued the rest of our stay. Food was without a doubt superb and breakfast with the lovely fresh orange juice , homemade brown bread and scones was just perfect. We will be back

Some nice walks, the village of Glasson worth a visit







Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear patsy62,

Many thanks for your lovely review on trip adviser, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & felt that Wineport accommodation had the WOW factor. Your feedback is really appreciated & we look forward to welcoming back to the lodge in the near future.

Best regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I spent two nights in the Wineport and it was so good I felt compelled to submit my first review to tripadvisor!

Most importantly, every single member of staff dealt with my special dietary requirements with kindness and careful attention to detail. I emailed them a week in advance and nothing was too much trouble. The chef even made me my own "free from" panna cotta!

Apart from the efforts that they went to with the food, the Wineport was a delight: exceptionally friendly staff, immaculately clean and ever so comfortable with amazing views of the lake from both our room and the restaurant. They seem to put so much thought into everything.

If you can fit it in, I would also strongly recommend the hot stone massage in the Treatment Suite - it was simply amazing.

We are already planning to go back for our wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freefromfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear freefromfoodie,

Many thanks for your lovely review on trip adviser. We are delighted to be your 1st review & it was great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We were only to happy to look after your special requests, I have passed your lovely feedback on the the team in the lodge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport Lodge for your Anniversary celebration.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We got a Blue Book Voucher as a wedding present and spent a year trying to decide which fab hotel to stay in! We finally decided to book into the Wineport Lodge for our Wedding Anniversay and we were not disappointed. We found it really easy to find as it is very close to the motorway - only a few miles - but what a location. When we arrived the sun was shining and there was people in the Restaurant and out on the deck having lunch - we were tired and hot and hungry and even though we arrived before normal check in time - our room was ready and we were taken straight to our room. Although "room" does not even come close to describing what we stayed in - it was the Captain's suite - a two storey loft type apartment with balcony overlooking the lake, sitting room area, dining area, mini kitchenette, downstairs toilet and upstairs bathroom with lovely big bath and huge shower. TV's upstairs and downstairs, music system, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities with a jar of cookies. We were blown away. We didn't want to leave this fab room with the lovely view over the lake. We ordered room service - Club Sandwich and Chicken Ceaser Salad and enjoyed the bottle of Prosecco and Chocolate Dipped Strawberries on the balcony. Heaven. We could see the sun set from our private balcony - very romantic!
We had dinner that night in the Restaurant - the food was magnificent - the only problem was that I couldn't fit in more! I had the Trout thermidore to start and my husband had the Goats Cheese, for mains I had the pork belly- very rich and delicious and my husband had the chicken dish. For dessert we got the strawberry youghurt with granola to share and the plate came out with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate which I thought was a very nice touch.
Tilly in the Restaurant was very friendly and followed us out to the pier with two glasses of champagne to enjoy while we looked at the stars! The manager Norma was also very pleasant and friendly and made us feel right at home.
We both got treatments the next day in the Spa - can't remember the name of the girl in the spa but she was lovely and the treatments were very relaxing.
We had lunch before we checked out - again it was a lovely sunny day so were able to have it outside.
Would highly recommend this place for romantic weekend away. Dinner is fab, setting is lovely and the staff and service are excellent. Only problem was that the stay was too short. We didn't get time to use the hot tub or view the art gallery or make use of the bikes or have a few drinks in the bar.
We will have to return again. It is quite pricey but I think it is well worth it

Room Tip: The Captain's Suite is a must - you'll never want to leave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandeleur79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Vandeleur79,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review on trip adviser. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to hear you enjoyed the The Captains suite & that you felt dinner was fabulous, the setting was lovely and the staff and service were excellent. I have passed your comments on to Tilly & the rest of the team in the lodge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport in the future.

Best regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Spent one night with my Husband in the Wineport Lodge. It was on a rare very sunny day
so we arrived to a very packed hotel of lunch diners. It felt a little strange walking through
an area where people were relaxing over lunch to get to reception (and initially embarassing
as the noise our case made on the wooden decking). The receptionist was very friendly &
showed us to our room. The room was very nice with a balcony looking out over the water.
The room had a big comfortable bed, still and sparkling water (free of charge), a stocked
mini bar (missing from alot of establishments now), DVD, CD and TV. The bathroom was
spacious with a separate shower and bath. The only little issue I would have is that the
towels were not the best quality and while there was Voya shampoo and body lotion the
shower gel was some other generic version and there was no conditioner. Not a big deal
really. We ate in the restaurant that night. The restaurant is well laid out with lots of room
between tables and beautiful views out over the water. The food was good. Not amazing
but good. The only course which wasn't great was desert. We had breakfast the next
morning in our room. It was of very good quality (sometimes room service can be a little
wilted !). We were staying there under an inclusive deal so it was good value for money. I am not sure that it is worth the prices quoted on the web however.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear JazzLimerick,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your overnight stay with us including our friendly staff, lakeside rooms & restaurant. We appreciate all of your feedback & hope to welcome you back to wineport in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is a superb venue. The hotel rooms are lovely, nice detail, make sure to request a room that looks onto the lake. Our room did and it was lovely. The bed faced the window and we had a small balcony and the view was gorgeous. The food at this hotel is superb, very tasty and very reasonably priced. The staff were extremely helpful with any requests we had. Just to be wary, while it is not far from Athlone itself you do need to get a taxi in and out. Its not walking disance. This venue is isolated so if its a party scene you are after this is not the place to go. It didnt have a gym or leisure centre either but the spa while we didnt try it is meant to be excellent.

Room Tip: make sure to get one facing onto the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinsdelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear dublinsdelight,

Many thanks for your lovely review on trip adviser. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break with us & felt our scenery food & staff were excellent. I have passed your comments on the rest of the team.

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Property: Wineport Lodge
Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing