We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a special occasion!”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Booked a one night break away for a special occasion - we needed to relax and recharge the batteries. From the outset, we were very impressed with the hotel. Location on the waterfront was amazing, the room we booked was a "suite" and it was just fantastic - huge room, large very comfy bed and couch, amazing bathroom, lovely balcony. It's a pity about the weather... but the owners and staff of wineport can't change the weather (more's the pity!!)
We had a bite to eat in the bar and i cannot speak highly enough about the standard of food. It was so good that i couldn't wait for our dinner later that evening.
The food in the restaurant is in one word "AMAZING", would go back this minute for dinner! While the one night break is certainly not cheap - in recessionary times, it's hard to justify spending the money (can get a few nights break elsewhere for the same price!) it is definitely worth every penny for a special occasion. I will definitely be returning again for the food alone!
One small thing i might recommend, would be a bit more "choice" on the t.v channel end. Although, with the option to get a dvd from reception, this is not really a necessity.
All in all we enjoyed our night in Wineport & hopefully will return in the not so distant future.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony, but the "suites" are much more spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DG7Meath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

I have just come back from the Wineport with my Husband and we had a fantastic three nights stay. I booked through the hotels website and I must say from the minute we booked till we left this morning the staff could not have been nicer. We got a great deal for three nights on the internet. When we arrived we got a lovely welcome and we were shown to our room which had been upgraded to a suite. I had a treatment the day we arrived and it was fantastic the staff could not have been nicer. Nothing was to much trouble. We had breakfast in our room each morning and it was very good and freshly made. You should try the pancakes they are fab. We totally relaxed and feel very refreshed after our stay. This is a hidden gem and they are doing a great job. It should also be noted that they have implemented the 5% jobs incentive discount and it is great to see a hotel like this doing it. My Husband and I had stayed in Wineport two years ago but I think it is a totally different place. The staff really make. If you want complete relaxation and to get away from it all you should come here. We also ate in the restaurant and the food and setting were fab.

We will be back again and again and I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The Wineport has been on my list for years and finally this week I was able to stay. When we checked in we were given an upgrade to The Captain's Suite. All I can say is that the room was unbelievable! We were both delighted and very grateful for the upgrade. Unfortunately the weather was not that great but that did not damper our stay. I booked a spa treatment and the whole experience was fantastic. Dinner was delicious and loved the view from the restaurant. I wish I could eat the Goat Cheese Croquettes on a daily basis. The staff were extremely friendly and professional. We would definitely recommend the Wineport and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here for one night and it was just wonderful. The scenery is breathtakingly beautiful and all the rooms have a lakeview. But I also loved the hotel interior which was very tastefully decorated. Both my husband and I suffer a bit from backaches/stiffness but there was no such complaint here. I had a wonderful nights sleep (much needed with a 15month old at home!). However, it was the food that was absolutely stand out for me. The dinner was just fabulous - we both had the 28 day aged steak for mains which was absolutely melt in the mouth! And I can honestly say that the buttermilk pancakes for breakfast were the best I have ever tasted - fluffy, soft and oh so delicious. I had a massage as well which was very relaxing and the treatment rooms were beautiful. I will definitely be back - hopefully for longer next time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank buttons007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for a night last weekend,we booked for one night b&b and an evening meal. we were welcomed by the friendly and very professional receptionist who chatted and let us know of their facilities while showing us to our room.
We booked treatments in the spa and it was the most relaxed i'd been in years, christine was top class and would recommend anybody to try the spa here.
Dinner was... lets just say UNREAL! while waiting for our starter we were given a little espresso cup of (if i'm correct) carrot,ginger and coriander soup, which was just delicious, the ham hock starter was to die for main we both had the steak.....oh my god that steak, i've simply never tasted such fantastic steak in my entire life, and whats funny is i'm a butcher by trade!! it was so tender and succulent and the flavor was just second to none compliments to the chef and kitchen staff. the restaurant was busy but there was loads of lovely pleasant staff (especially ronda and the girl in the bar) to keep everyone's needs attended to.
we used the hot tub twice too which is a lovely relaxing feature. the room was gorgeous with a beautiful view but maybe one little thing is that if the trees were pruned to balcony level the view could be enjoyed that little bit more. the shower was ever so slightly lacking in power also but look, it in no way had any affect on the amazing night and day we spent in the wonderful wineport. we'll definitely be back sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colm c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Dont do many reviews as I stay in hotels for work. But for family and pleasure this is one of the best I have stayed it, attention to detail, the food, the location. Outstanding. Plus I have photos that you would not believe are from here. It's worth the little extra.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear David K,

Thank you for your review. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Best Regards, Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We spent a weekend at the Wineport Lodge and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is nestled away in the countryside right on the lake, literally! There is a lovely terrace to sit out on and the water's edge is less than 10 metres away. There is a small jetty and as we were standing there about 20 ducks swam up looking for food, and shortly after that a swan plus four cygnets. So adorable. On check in we were greeted with a very warm welcome and were shown to our room by a very charming young man. The room was heaven - plenty of space, very well laid out, spotless and very comfortable - the bed was so large I couldn't locate my husband! We had sliding doors leading out onto a balcony which looks out onto the lake through some trees. Lovely linen robes and slippers were available plus complimentary mineral water. Breakfast was supberb - kippers, roasted field mushrooms as well as the usual continental or full irish breakfast. We had dinner on the second night and it was also fantastic. A great selection of very delicious food and they made sure we didn't go hungry. The service was excellent and they were very helpful on recommending wines etc. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay. All the staff were so friendly, helpful and extremely polite. One of the best things about it was the noise -there was none! Just the sound of the lake, relaxed chatter and the tinkling of wine glasses - a perfect way to spend a weekend away in Ireland. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taratrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear taratrip,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again!

Best Regards, Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,026 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,242 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £149 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing