We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Beat.....”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We were a group of 4 girls who went for one nights break at this lovely hotel. When we arrived we were shown to two fabulous rooms with views across the lake. We had snacks and drinks sitting on the terrace of the hotel looking at the stunning views.

Our dinner was beautiful on Saturday night, great table and our meal was superb. To be fair the layout is really good and no tables on top of each other. All of the staff that we came in contact with were superb, exceptional friendly service which really added to the whole experience.

Overall a lovely stay, good value for money and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaka2Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

From the moment we arrived to reluctant departure this is a special place. Food very very good , location stunning, comfort excellent, and staff.... top notch.....even the bikes to borrow !. Will be back.
Tony S.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This is my second visit to the Wineport Lodge and it is such an amazing place that I hope there will be many more trips ahead of me to this superb hotel. The setting is fantastic; the staff are all friendly, courteous and helpful; the food is delicious and the beds are so comfy with lovely pillows. All rooms look out onto the lake which is amazing and you are so close to the water that you can hear it lapping. A colleague and I alos availed of the free bike loan (with helmet and high viz jacket also provided) and had a lovely spin on the bikes this morning before tucking in to a freshly prepared breakfast! Couldn't recomend it highly enough.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic as they look out onto the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oonagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Visited here for two nights with my girlfriend, we'd been here before and really won over by the staff, food, their ability to cater for special diets.

Glad to see they have somehow even improved on that! Since last time they've got loaner bikes, and room service breakfast (which we suggested last time and ticks all our boxes now).

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerrowadat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I am a local in Athlone and go to Wineport restaurant twice a year as a treat for my birthday and again for my partners birthday. The food is always amazing with very prompt service and beautiful surroundings. It really is a special place for occasions. I have never stayed in the hotel so cannot comment on that but the food and view alone are worth the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband, sister & I decided to stay one night at the Wineport Lodge to recover from our jet lag and were very much delighted. The Provence & Alscace rooms are perfect. Large king beds, the best bath tub I have ever been in & a waterfront overlooking the Shannon river, simply beautiful. The lodge along with it's fantastic restaurant is in a peaceful, wonderful setting. I highly recommend this place & can't wait to return for a longer stay. The staff was so professional & it is walking distance to the town of Glasson.

Room Tip: Provence & Alsace rooms on the water with balconies & dine at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

well what can i say about this gem of a place,situated in a wonderful spot in Athlone,on arrival we were greeted by a very welcoming & smiling girl @ the front desk who showed us to are room,the room its self was very nice with a lovely view of the lake,that evening we had dinner & what a meal it was,the staff were always making sure every thing was ok with are meal & were always on hand to top up your glass,breakfast was also very nice and it was brought to your room at no extra cost,my one negative thing i would say about the wineport is it only sells 2 draught beers which i found a wee bit odd,1 was a lager & the other a stout,anyway had a very relaxing peace stay here & will be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MILLER1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,973 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,188 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
952 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £116 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing