We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What luxury !!!”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What luxury !!!”
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

What a place , stayed here for one nite and was just amazed by the service. Our room on the edge of the lake with a balcony was just great. We even had fresh mike in the fridge for of coffee and a few home made biscuits. We had dinner and it was just fab. We woke up in the morning after a knock on the door , our breakfast arrived at no extra cost which we had outside on the balcony . We have found our new retreat .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainydaysinireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Rainydaysinireland,

Many thanks for your lovely review on trip adviser. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your overnight stay with us & that you were amazed by the service during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    159
    88
    33
    9
See reviews for
118
676
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding here yesterday and the venue was perfect. The lake views are breathtaking and we were treated to some amazing sunsets while here. Our room was perfectly located to watch the sunset and wake up to wonderful views both mornings. Spotlessly clean throughout, kind and helpful staff. Delicious food on the wedding evening, in the bollinger bar and the night afterwards. Can't fault this lovely hotel and only regret not trying the spa facility and hot tub! Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublinmallorcaelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear dublinmallorcaelle.

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the lake views & sunset.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport in the future to try the spa & hot tub facilities.

Best Regards
Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in one of the lake view suites, beautful view of the lake great size room and a large bathroom with the best shower ever. The bed was like sleeping in heaven, I really don't think there was any thing you could need that was not already there, down to fresh milk for your coffee or tea and home made biscuits what a lovely touch.
The food is top notch my favourite the lamb not to be missed. From dinner to breakfast great food. And all served by lovely people.
We have been a few times and each time we come away fully relaxed and very happy.
I think it is a great get away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear DaisyWorks,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

We are delighted you chose to return to Wineport Lodge & that you once again thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

We hope you return to stay with us again & we will be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portarlington, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I stayed at the Wineport Lodge in January. Was little taken aback by the appearance from the outside. I thought my Husband was joking when we pulled up outside it just looked like a wooden boathouse, but when you walk thorough the doors you are in a different world.. The accommodation was outstanding the rooms were huge and so clean. They have an amazing old barrel hot tub out on the roof over looking the lake. The restaurant was outstanding the food was to die for and the service was amazing. the staff made you feel so welcome and spoilt my son for his 10th Birthday. When leaving the restaurant we spoke to the owner and her 10 year old son. so friendly and a joy to speak to. Would so recommend a visit here

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Anna S,

Many thanks for your lovely review on trip advisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & that your son enjoyed his 10th Birthday celebration with us.

We hope to welcoming the 3 you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband and I are just back from an overnight treat in this gorgeous oasis. The hotel overlooks Lough Ree in Co. Westmeath.. It is very close to Athlone so while you feel as if you are in the middle Of nowhere, you are actually quite near the town! We loved everything about this place, the very warm,cheerful reception, the spacious room with spectacular view, the whole welcoming warm ambiance. There is coffee/tea facilities in room which we lovePLUS cookies!!!! As we arrived early we had afternoon tea with delicious scones beside a glowing fire. The weather was very very cold so we were too lazy to venture out for walks. I would say though that during good weather it must be amazing to walk around this beautiful area. We read and rested after tea and went to dinner around seven. Such a meal!! Couldn't praise it enough. The staff in the dining room were just as warm, efficient and welcoming as the staff at reception. The food was perfect. We didn't leave a morsel. The service was excellent and though it might be considered a little expensive I would willingly pay that again for such service, quality of food and general ambiance!! Finally there is a gorgeous lounge with a blazing log fire where you can have whatever beverage you desire to round off a heavenly experience. Just can't wait for an occasion to return there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear CorkGer,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found that the staff in the dining room were just as warm, efficient and welcoming as the staff at reception.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Kind regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Wineport is on the very edge of a scenic & peaceful lake close to the centre of Ireland. The highlight is the accommodation — spacious, luxurious & contemporary rooms you'll want to hang out in all day long. (To that end, breakfast in your room costs nothing extra.) Beyond the rooms, there's not a lot to do in the hotel or in the area unless you take a boat trip; if you're doing that, book well in advance of arriving.
The staff are the only major disappointment. While two or three of them were super-friendly, most of them have an overworked, weary, curt and inattentive vibe. They'll get you whatever you want, but not quickly, and with no grace or charm or mindfulness. I stress, there are a few lovely exceptions to that, mostly at reception.
The poor service was most notable in the restaurant. The food is superb, but the staff (from senior to junior) treat you like a unit to be moved through as fast as possible. It's very disappointing in what is quite an expensive restaurant with a great kitchen behind it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dylancotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed with a group friends, our get together was about catching up, with great food and just relaxing. The hotel exceeded all our expectations on all fronts. Rooms were large and very inviting, with all the extra in the room such as home made cookies, paper etc adding to the overall experience. Views over the lakes were stunning and our room had a large balcony. Food was really good, of high standard I still rave about the desserts. It was on the expensive side but for me it was well worth it. It was quiet while we were there so it suited us perfect and sitting out on the balcony ( even though it was very cold) with a glass of wine was just perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coldars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear coldars.

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear you that you enjoyed your stay with us, including the view & the food.

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Best Regards
Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,848 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
905 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Property: Wineport Lodge
Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing