We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of heaven!”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Dún Laoghaire, Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Just back from a wonderful weekend in the Wineport lodge. Fantastic views of Lough Ree from our large bedroom with a beautiful balcony. Excellent meals in the wonderful restaurant. Hot Tub with lake views and wonderful massages!

My partner proposed here (yes its that romantic) and everyone was so friendly and congratulatory! It really added something special for this occasion for us.

We will definitely be back here... highly recommended for a weekend getaway, relaxation and romance!

Thanks to the wonderful team at Wineport!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Barry M,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    165
    92
    34
    9
See reviews for
120
695
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We came to Newport Lodge to celebrate being together ten years. We were looking for a romantic getaway (having secured a babysitter for our busy two year old!). Boy did we pick the perfect place. From the moment we entered reception I could feel my shoulders relax and I left all the busy thoughts of every day life at the door. All the staff are so welcoming and seem genuinely interested in chatting. Our room was lovely, though smaller than I'd hoped but warm decor and very comfy. The bathroom had a nice bath and separate shower. The only fault I could find was the portal window between the bathroom and bedroom. A nice feature during the day but it meant if one of us wanted to use the bathroom during the night we couldn't switch on the light as it flooded the bedroom with light. We had dinner in the hotel and it was exquisite. From starters through to dessert and wines recommended it was faultless. Well seasoned and bursting with flavour. This hotel is a real haven. I personally wouldn't consider it suitable for families as children would disturb the tranquility (especially for anyone lucky enough to leave the madness at home!). We will definitely return in the future.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chefsmrs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear chefsmrs21,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We really appreciate it.

Hopefully, we'll see you soon again!

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed here just after halloween for two nights. We had a suite overlooking the lake and looking onto the outdoor hot tub. Although it was cold outside, it was heaven sitting in the hot tub. We had dinner the first evening and my partner declared it 20 out of ten. The wine was perfect. Breakfast on both mornings was superb and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. I had a treatment in the spa which was lovely. All in all, this is the place for a break away from everything.

Room Tip: Try and upgrade to a suite as the regular bedrooms are quite small, having the extra bit of room mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainecb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear elainecb09,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.


Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I loved my recent trip away to the Wineport Lodge on a girls weekend away. The place is heavenly. You are only a few minutes off the busy Dublin to Galway road and yet once there you feel you are relaxing in a Lodge in the middle of the woods - it is so peaceful and serene here with the panoramic views of the lake and the surrounding trees. The rooms are 5 star - extremely comfortable and spacious. The food is fabulous and the staff are exceptional. It is a little pricey but if you think you or a loved one deserves a treat book the Wine Port - I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: ask for lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Yvonne S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here last night for an over night break for my wifes birthday.
This hotel has to be the most relaxing place I have ever been. I have stayed in tons of hotels overs throughout Ireland over the years, but none like the Wineport!
We did not have to lift a finger, at one point the girl working in the bar offered to carry my drink from the bar to the restaurant... talk about service! I did refuse the offer, but it was definitely one of those things that makes this place a great place to stay. For dinner, I had the steak and chips. I can be very fussy about my steak and how its cooked, but the chef managed to get it just perfect and the peppered sauce was just right drizzled over the top of the steak. The chips were pretty good too, skins left on, just the way I like them! perfect!
The staff could not have been friendlier, ensuring you had everything you needed to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We had a suite on the ground floor which was very comfortable indeed, with a deck that was literally almost hanging over the lake, with some of the best views of the lakes I have ever woken up to.
Breakfast this morning was beautiful. I don't eat tomato or runny eggs, so i didn't try them, but everything else was so nice I ate not just my own, but ate my wife's breakfast too.
All in All, this hotel has it all, and them some. Yes, it does come at a price in comparison to other hotels, but what you get for that price is simply amazing. We will be returning to the Wineport Lodge again.

Room Tip: Room 201 is one of the bigger suites on the ground floor with (what it looked like to us) the larges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Eoin H,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us,

I am delighted to hear that you found the staff could not have been friendlier, ensuring that you had everything you needed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport Lodge.

Kind Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Just left the Wineport Lodge Restaurant after having a delicious meal.

We would highly recommend the Lebanese fried chicken for starters....Possibly the nicest starter in the world..!!!

Staff were very friendly, pleasant and very helpful..

Will be back again...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Kathrina L,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this nice review,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and that you found your meal delicious,

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I visited here last month with my mother. We had a really enjoyable, relaxing one-night stay. The room was really nice with a great panoramic view of the lake.It wasn't hugely spacious, but suited us fine. We arrived around lunchtime and after checking in, enjoyed a light lunch in the bar. Throughout our stay, the staff were incredibly friendly and efficient and in fact they contributed massively to our enjoyment of the hotel. The evening meal in the restaurant was delicious. Our first visit, it most definitely won't be our last.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irish67dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear irish67dublin,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review,

We are thrilled to hear your stay was enjoyable and relaxing. We are delighted you found the staff incredibly friendly and efficient.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,919 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
932 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Property: Wineport Lodge
Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing