We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless for busy group in December”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Offaly
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Faultless for busy group in December”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Had Christmas meal with 30 plus people in mid December 2013.
Fabulous for Christmas time, real warm fire and owner greeting on arrival makes the difference.
Bar area really allows warmth and cosy start to night.

Restaurant was exceptionally busy for time of year but this didn't take away from meal or service quality. Food was really really good, credit should always be given when due, and this meal even for a large crowd was quality.

Strongly recommend, worth the treat.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank OffalyPk1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear OffalyPk1973,

Many thanks for your wonderful review.

I appreciate you taking the time to post it.

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    156
    86
    32
    9
See reviews for
115
661
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here in Feb with my Mum and Sisters and we throughly enjoyed it. The staff were lovely, the setting was great and our room was lovely and comfy. We ate in the restaurant and needless to say it was memorable. However, I do think our expectations were a lot more than what we received, nonetheless it was tasty. Athlone is close by for some shopping and Glasson has some lovely little pubs. Lough Ree is nice and peaceful and our room had a great view. We would visit again for a overnight stay or two.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ereg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear ereg11,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We really appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Really pretty wooden lodge hotel.
Our bedroom had a stunning lakeside view. The room was warm, bed really comfortable, complimentary water, minibar/fridge. Beautiful balcony from our room.

Breakfast was both a cold buffet & a hot menu with about 8 choices. Really nice breakfast & the full Irish was very good. Fresh coffee from a coffee press which was a nice touch.

The bar is a lovely big room with a fire. Didn't use the restaurant though.

There are 2 hot tubs outside - they're brilliant with stunning lakeside views.

I would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JALDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear JALDublin_Ireland,

Many thanks for posting your review.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay & will be returning!

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dún Laoghaire, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Just back from a wonderful weekend in the Wineport lodge. Fantastic views of Lough Ree from our large bedroom with a beautiful balcony. Excellent meals in the wonderful restaurant. Hot Tub with lake views and wonderful massages!

My partner proposed here (yes its that romantic) and everyone was so friendly and congratulatory! It really added something special for this occasion for us.

We will definitely be back here... highly recommended for a weekend getaway, relaxation and romance!

Thanks to the wonderful team at Wineport!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Barry M,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We came to Newport Lodge to celebrate being together ten years. We were looking for a romantic getaway (having secured a babysitter for our busy two year old!). Boy did we pick the perfect place. From the moment we entered reception I could feel my shoulders relax and I left all the busy thoughts of every day life at the door. All the staff are so welcoming and seem genuinely interested in chatting. Our room was lovely, though smaller than I'd hoped but warm decor and very comfy. The bathroom had a nice bath and separate shower. The only fault I could find was the portal window between the bathroom and bedroom. A nice feature during the day but it meant if one of us wanted to use the bathroom during the night we couldn't switch on the light as it flooded the bedroom with light. We had dinner in the hotel and it was exquisite. From starters through to dessert and wines recommended it was faultless. Well seasoned and bursting with flavour. This hotel is a real haven. I personally wouldn't consider it suitable for families as children would disturb the tranquility (especially for anyone lucky enough to leave the madness at home!). We will definitely return in the future.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chefsmrs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear chefsmrs21,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We really appreciate it.

Hopefully, we'll see you soon again!

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed here just after halloween for two nights. We had a suite overlooking the lake and looking onto the outdoor hot tub. Although it was cold outside, it was heaven sitting in the hot tub. We had dinner the first evening and my partner declared it 20 out of ten. The wine was perfect. Breakfast on both mornings was superb and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. I had a treatment in the spa which was lovely. All in all, this is the place for a break away from everything.

Room Tip: Try and upgrade to a suite as the regular bedrooms are quite small, having the extra bit of room mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainecb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear elainecb09,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.


Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I loved my recent trip away to the Wineport Lodge on a girls weekend away. The place is heavenly. You are only a few minutes off the busy Dublin to Galway road and yet once there you feel you are relaxing in a Lodge in the middle of the woods - it is so peaceful and serene here with the panoramic views of the lake and the surrounding trees. The rooms are 5 star - extremely comfortable and spacious. The food is fabulous and the staff are exceptional. It is a little pricey but if you think you or a loved one deserves a treat book the Wine Port - I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: ask for lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Yvonne S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Property: Wineport Lodge
Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing