We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in this Hotel January, 2014. I cannot say how much we enjoyed the peaceful ambiance here. The room, staff, food and service are second to none. The balcony is great and although we had rain we could still sit out and enjoy watching the lake. I fed the swans and when they werent there the ducks were about. The sunset is unbelievable. We have stayed here a few times and it is the highlight of our Irish breaks

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony and lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 113Gillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear 113Gillian,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review.

We are pleased you enjoyed another visit to Wineport Lodge.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Regards, Norma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    165
    92
    34
    9
See reviews for
120
695
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed in the Captains Suite in January 2014 and didn't want to leave. Duplex room with gas fire was very comfortable with a small balcony looking out onto the lake. Heating in addition to the gas fire was very welcome and the music piped through all rooms was a nice touch. Bed was a bit soft but that's a personal preference, separate wardrobe area and bathroom with large freestanding bath, double shower and heated floor. Small kitchen sink downstairs with tea making facilities, mini bar with the expected wines and beer. The hotel bar was on the small side but if you can get a seat in the conservatory extension with views of the lake I doubt you'll leave. Cocktails €10, pints €5.50 and light menu available. Lots of benches and tables outside but that needs the weather to change - it's clear why this hotel is popular for weddings. The two covered hot tubs outside the main building were very clean and my favourite thing, looking out over the lake in the pitch dark, 2 degrees and the pouring rain. The complementary robes came in handy. The restaurant was busy, book in advance. Very good steak dinner for approx €30, starters weren't really my cup of tea. If a special occasion might not be a bad idea to ask to reserve one of the larger round tables, they looked more comfortable than the smaller tables for 2. Waiting staff were great, one particular female member of staff, perhaps the Manager or Hostess I think, going over and above the call of duty, sorry I didn't get her name. Complementary room service for breakfast, very tasty, remember to ask for brown sauce when ordering. Loved this place, no point trying to think of small negatives for the sake of it. Took a peep into one of the empty suites when leaving which looked good value for money to me.

Room Tip: The suites are probably best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leftturnclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear TotoahBelfast,

Many thanks for posting your review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Captain's Suite.

I have passed your kind words on to the Restaurant Manager and her team.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Regards, Norma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here for my 40th last May - had a lovely break - food was excellent, breakfast in bedroom at no extra charge. Bollinger bar very relaxing with good service. Our room had a balcony, even though it was raining it was relaxing to sit out and watch the lake.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pittland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Pittland

Many thanks for your wonderful review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found the Bollinger bar very relaxing with good service.

I appreciate you taking the time to post it.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I was looking forward to our night away here having heard some great things about this hotel. The setting is fabulous and our suite was amazing. The staff were really lovely and very friendly. Unfortunately this did not make up for the slow service and poor food in the restaurant on the night we stayed. In the middle of the night (3am) we were woken up by our neighbours playing music at full volume. I complained to reception who tried but failed to contact the room occupants (they wouldn't answer the phone or knocks on the door). Eventually they turned down the volume but we were wide awake at that stage and our relaxing night away from the kids was ruined. I know this could happen in any hotel but it really took the gloss off it for us. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Overall I don't think I would go back. In the hotel's favour they did discount our bill on check-out because of the problem during the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whitelight_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear whitelight_9,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser.

I am very sorry to hear that your stay was disturbed.

Should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly & I will my very best to make you experience memorable for all of the right reasons.

Kind Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

i want to be fair so ive given this an average rating as its not a basic hotel but truly i wont be back, its trying to be something its not in my opinion. from the get go i found the tone of the receptionist on the phone to be superior. on arrival all this full on greeting you and staff members constantly saying have a nice day/night/meal....and on and on all the time seems fake and not very irish or genuine. i personally found it annoying, for example during dinner several different people interrupted us to ask if everything was 'ok'..... continuously. its like its their policy to ask rather than it being a genuine attentive thing to do, they really over do it. my steak was ordered medium rare but came medium, they did offer to replace it (in a very brisk tone, they really didn't sound like they were happy to do it) but everyone had started eating and it was late plus i didnt want to cause a scene, i only took a couple of bites but they still charged us for it of course, as other reviewers have mentioned they seem ruthless in this department. they also have this very old fashioned habit of making (heavily suggesting several times) you have a before dinner drink, three times we asked the waitress to go to our table as it was late but instead she kept telling us that we would be 'better' to order drinks in this waiting bar area and then our table 'would be ready'..we were there for 50 mins having drinks we didn't really want until we finally got up off our seats to make our own way to the restaurant; at which point she rushed over saying 'let me bring you to you're table'....we didnt sit down to dinner till after ten, too late for me anyway. all that moving tables breaks up the atmosphere of the night i think. the irony is that later on as we were on our after dinner drinks the waiter held back the tray with the drinks we had ordered and firmly suggested that we could go back to the waiting bar area (again!) to drink them as he told us we would be 'more comfortable' there, clearly they were trying to manoeuvre us out of the restaurant as they wanted to close it; it was 12.30 at that stage and there was only one other table left. in fairness we ate so late (thanks to them), two and a half hours is normal in my opinion for a dinner. another thing i didnt like is that a friend had sent us complimentary bubbles but they never offered us this for the 50 minutes we were passive aggressively asked to wait in the bar area. then when we sat at our table we didnt order wine for another 35 mins or so as we were chatting etc..and at no point during that period did they bring out the bubbles, instead they waited until after we had made a wine order before they suddenly revealed that a complimentary bottle had been bought for us, lots of restaurants do this intentionally so that you order as much booze as possible, im not fan of it i have to say.

the service is artificial and they are 'trying' to be 4/5 star but they staff cant seem to do this convincingly, the waiter poured white wine into a red wine glass for example, i found the waiter i spoke to about the wine dismissive and the white wasnt cold enough.

the rooms are zzz in terms of decor, the view is lovely. overall i felt very controlled by the staff on my stay as they seem to run a very tight ship there in terms of a full on greeting when you arrive which is not what everyone wants after a potentially long trip there, they tell you when they want you to sit at dinner and then that they want you to have drinks before dinner and then when they want you to leave the restaurant, there is no flow and relaxation to this policy it just feels very forced and calculated. not sure if the agenda is up selling or staggering the bookings but its defiantly not about what the customer wants and its not very nice to be on the receiving end of it. it is expensive as other reviewers say but only for what you get in my opinion. i was happy to leave behind the big brother service of wineport. as i said, others may enjoy it here, but its just not for me.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank scenarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear scenarios,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I appreciate your comments & we have taken your feedback on board.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We are just back from a lovely weekend at the Wineport lodge in Athlone, the hotel is gorgeous situated right by a lake, the staff were all really nice and attentive and the rooms clean with super confy beds!! Breakfast was delicious each morning, the only negative would be that the bar snack menu and the dinner menu in the restuarant are practically the same but been off season it is understandable, the food is delicious in both bar and restaurant and the wine was superb too! Will definetly recomend it and go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyntire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear kyntire,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review.

We are delighted that you found the food is delicious in both bar and restaurant and the wine was superb too.

We really appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We are literally just back from a night in the Wineport Lodge, as a christmas present to each other. What a treat!!! From the very moment we arrived, the staff made us feel welcome.....not in any overbearing way, but with a really natural enthusiasm.
Our first floor suite was beautiful.....named 'Alsace' ...very roomy and with a gorgeous view of the lake. All rooms are named after a wine region...
We had a lovely lunch on arrival.....and check out the new garden room with the stand alone solid fuel stove!!!! Such a cosy option.
The spa treatment we had was of very high quality. The therapist knew exactly what was required in a massage, and the outdoor hot tub was a perfect temperature.
Dinner was wonderful.....menu full of imagination and presented with flair, with real quality flavours.

we have booked again today for a treat in the dreary month of February. Simply can't wait!!!!
Congratulations and thanks to the owners and all the staff.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to one of the first floor suites.....cos you're worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JABDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear JABDublin,

Many thanks for taken the time to write this nice review,

I am delighted to hear that from the moment you arrived the staff made you feel welcome.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,917 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
932 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Property: Wineport Lodge
Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing