We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night away”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great night away”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Had a fabulous night away for a 50th birthday. The room was very big with doors which opened on to a balcony overlooking a beautiful lake. The prosecco and hand made chocolates were a lovely touch. The meal in the restaurant that night was second to none. The atmosphere in the bar was very relaxing. I really enjoyed and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebeastalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Thebeastalways,

I really appreciate you taking the time to post this wonderful review.

I'm very glad you enjoyed this 50th birthday celebration at Wineport Lodge.

Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Regards, Norma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    164
    92
    34
    9
See reviews for
119
690
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My review is mixed so I've tried to include more detail.
We booked by phone with Aoife who was very helpful & friendly.
We stayed in a Lakeside 'Suite' on the ground floor, the room was very spacious and when you opened the curtains the floor to ceiling window exposed a beautiful view of the Lake which was only 3 meters away. Ensuite was very large, separate walk in wardrobe and large comfortable bed, strong WiFi reception, also the room was very quiet though I don't know if there were guests staying next door. Only negative was that the bed linen was old but it was clean.
The bar area was warm and welcoming (cobwebs around lighting). If it was peak season I think the shared space inside may feel a bit crowded as there is no large gardens outside but for an off-peak stay it was perfect, plus it had an outdoor hot tub overlooking the lake which was lovely though not very clean (you do have good signs up but perhaps a small shower area requesting that people rinse off before using might prevent make-up, fake tan marks around rim). The service throughout our stay was mixed - we scored it a 4 out of 5 mainly because the bartender Stephen was very efficient, knowledgable on the food menu & very friendly & made us feel at home. The receptionists & room service were also very friendly. For a 4 star the food was good but not amazing however the 3 course meal was €49 though the nicer options on the menu had €4 up to €7 supplements so expect to pay up to €119 for meal in the restaurant. They serve good breads and a little chef's starter which was lovely. Starters & Desserts were tasty and the mains were ok. The speed of service in the restaurant was slow even though the restaurant was very quiet & some staff were not as friendly others. Our initial impression the first evening was not great as we mentioned we were hungry & although we were shown to our table we were given a pre-dinner drinks menu rather than the dinner or full wine menu & it was over 20mintues before we got served. The breakfast was good, I would recommend having it in your room (no extra charge) over the restaurant - as you are seated at a small table with no linen tablecloths. Overall for 2 nights B&B mid-week with one meal included when we added extra dinner on first night and drinks over stay, cost was Euro500 for 2 people sharing, overall we had a nice relaxing break to celebrate a special occasion, it was easy to get to from the East coast and it felt like ok value for money for a 4 Star Blue Book property. Best wishes.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBMajella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear LBMajella,

Thank you for posting your review.

I appreciate you taking your time to share your feedback.

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The ratings left by other users left me with high expectations before my visit. The place is simply overrated - both the hotel and the restaurant.
Pros:
- nice setting on the lake
- friendly staff
Cons:
- rooms are very basic and worn considering the price charged - for instance the toilet didn't flush properly (awkward)
- hotel venue is really small, there are no grounds to the hotel, which came as a surprise as it is advertised as a lakeside hotel in the countryside, it may as well be in the city centre
- restaurant: the food was bland, both for dinner and breakfast. I was expecting a lot more considering it is advertised as a destination restaurant
- hotel: the hotel itself is really small, it feels more like being in someone's house rather than a hotel
Summary: this is a nothing more than a B&B with a mediocre restaurant. Don't expect to be blown away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cpmmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear cpmmg,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in this Hotel January, 2014. I cannot say how much we enjoyed the peaceful ambiance here. The room, staff, food and service are second to none. The balcony is great and although we had rain we could still sit out and enjoy watching the lake. I fed the swans and when they werent there the ducks were about. The sunset is unbelievable. We have stayed here a few times and it is the highlight of our Irish breaks

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony and lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 113Gillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear 113Gillian,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review.

We are pleased you enjoyed another visit to Wineport Lodge.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Regards, Norma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed in the Captains Suite in January 2014 and didn't want to leave. Duplex room with gas fire was very comfortable with a small balcony looking out onto the lake. Heating in addition to the gas fire was very welcome and the music piped through all rooms was a nice touch. Bed was a bit soft but that's a personal preference, separate wardrobe area and bathroom with large freestanding bath, double shower and heated floor. Small kitchen sink downstairs with tea making facilities, mini bar with the expected wines and beer. The hotel bar was on the small side but if you can get a seat in the conservatory extension with views of the lake I doubt you'll leave. Cocktails €10, pints €5.50 and light menu available. Lots of benches and tables outside but that needs the weather to change - it's clear why this hotel is popular for weddings. The two covered hot tubs outside the main building were very clean and my favourite thing, looking out over the lake in the pitch dark, 2 degrees and the pouring rain. The complementary robes came in handy. The restaurant was busy, book in advance. Very good steak dinner for approx €30, starters weren't really my cup of tea. If a special occasion might not be a bad idea to ask to reserve one of the larger round tables, they looked more comfortable than the smaller tables for 2. Waiting staff were great, one particular female member of staff, perhaps the Manager or Hostess I think, going over and above the call of duty, sorry I didn't get her name. Complementary room service for breakfast, very tasty, remember to ask for brown sauce when ordering. Loved this place, no point trying to think of small negatives for the sake of it. Took a peep into one of the empty suites when leaving which looked good value for money to me.

Room Tip: The suites are probably best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leftturnclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear TotoahBelfast,

Many thanks for posting your review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Captain's Suite.

I have passed your kind words on to the Restaurant Manager and her team.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Regards, Norma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here for my 40th last May - had a lovely break - food was excellent, breakfast in bedroom at no extra charge. Bollinger bar very relaxing with good service. Our room had a balcony, even though it was raining it was relaxing to sit out and watch the lake.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pittland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Pittland

Many thanks for your wonderful review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found the Bollinger bar very relaxing with good service.

I appreciate you taking the time to post it.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I was looking forward to our night away here having heard some great things about this hotel. The setting is fabulous and our suite was amazing. The staff were really lovely and very friendly. Unfortunately this did not make up for the slow service and poor food in the restaurant on the night we stayed. In the middle of the night (3am) we were woken up by our neighbours playing music at full volume. I complained to reception who tried but failed to contact the room occupants (they wouldn't answer the phone or knocks on the door). Eventually they turned down the volume but we were wide awake at that stage and our relaxing night away from the kids was ruined. I know this could happen in any hotel but it really took the gloss off it for us. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Overall I don't think I would go back. In the hotel's favour they did discount our bill on check-out because of the problem during the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whitelight_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear whitelight_9,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser.

I am very sorry to hear that your stay was disturbed.

Should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly & I will my very best to make you experience memorable for all of the right reasons.

Kind Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,887 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
913 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Property: Wineport Lodge
Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing