We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We spent one night at this beautiful hotel last week. Really friendly welcome from the owner and the rest of the staff were just as pleasant. Gorgeous room overlooking the lake with it's own balcony. We ate in the restaurant that night and the food was first class. Breakfast delivered to the room (at no extra charge) was the best breakfast we have had ever had in a hotel. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Jean B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport.

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    156
    86
    32
    9
See reviews for
115
661
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My partner and i had a beautiful night stay in Wineport Lodge. From the moment we arrived we were pampered. Our arrival was met with a very warm greeting from Ray and the team. The hotel is beautiful and the views are to die for! We had a lovely meal later that evening - i could not fault it. The service was prompt and the quality of food was better than the mothers home cooking (which doesnt happen often!) We had some spa treatments on the Sunday before departing home which was a great way to finish a lovely relaxing weekend. Our only regret was not staying for two nights! Next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Niall C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to seeing you again for a longer stay..

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Visited the Wineport Lodge for a one night break in February and we were pleasantly surprised when we received an upgrade to a lake view suite.

We had our 2 year old son with us and he was very impressed with the home made cookies that had been left for him. The cookies were on a plate that had his name spelt on it in chocolate, a really nice touch.

The room was very nice with a beautiful view and we had our own decking which I imagine is a brilliant feature in the summer.

The staff were extremely friendly and we would definitely recommend a visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Macabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Macabra,

Thank you for posting your review.

I am grateful to you for taking the time to recommend us.

Looking forward to welcoming you to Wineport again.

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed for one night at the wineport last week and really enjoyed our stay. The location is beautiful and perfect for a romantic night away. We stayed in a suite that was out of this world, really the nicest room I stayed in in Ireland. We had treatments in the spa and unfortunately I couldnt have mine, the staff couldnt have been nicer to me and really very accomadating. I wish I got the therapist's name but she was so lovely and deserves a special mention (her hair is black and in a bob!). Dinner was beautiful and well served, the manager came and spoke to each couple and I thought it was a lovely touch, made us all feel so special. The bar is small but perfect for a night cap and cuddle by the fire. Breakfast in bed (comp) completed this perfect stay. I will definitely be returning and recommending to friends. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciararo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Ciararo,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I will pass your compliments on to Trish (in the Treatment Suite)

I appreciate you recommending us.

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Amazing! Attention to detail is spectacular. Cookies on arrival in the room to celebrate a birthday, fresh jug of milk in the fridge, glossy magazines on the coffee table, most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Stayed with my husband for one night in oct 12. Wished we could have stayed longer. Food was amazing and service was top class. Will return.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TLRL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear TLRL14,

Thank you for taking the time to post your highly complimentary review.

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed all the little touches.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Wineport.

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Cannot fault this place. So beautiful and romantic. Staff are warm and friendly. One of the best meals of our lives. I'm not a big steak fan but honestly best I've ever had, Melt in mouth. Room was cosy. Breakfast was very tasty. Will be back for sure.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear DavidOHanlon79,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I will pass on your compliments to the Kitchen.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I spend last weekend at the Wineport Lodge. A gentle drive from Dublin a little over 1 hour, the Wineport lodge is situated on the edge of a lake near Athlone. We enjoyed brilliant food and service through out out stay. Our room was very, very comfortable and the en-suite spotlessly clean.

All the staff at the Wineport where very welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much. The restaurant was full of atmosphere and the food fantastic.

I can't wait for the opportunity to return to the Wineport again, which I hope is soon.

Mark

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Mark,

I am delighted to read that so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review & look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards, Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Property: Wineport Lodge
Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing