We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WinePort Lodge has it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“WinePort Lodge has it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is just amazing, it's location is stunning. The restaurant is fantastic! The out door hot tubs were great! We loved every second of it. The SPA is a real switch off too and I enjoyed the treatments. But most of all the rooms are HUGE!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear AngeC2014,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are delighted with it.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    154
    86
    32
    9
See reviews for
113
654
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Attended a wedding here recently & all i can say is WOW. The staff were so attentive to everything, nothing was a problem. The rooms were lovely, heated bathroom floors & the Times in the morning was a nice touch. Beds were so comfy. Only downside was path to outdoor wedding gazebo - some poor bride in heels might find that a bit tricky without practice. Can't wait to go back & experience the restaurant a la carte!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sillysusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good afternoon sillysusername,

Thank you for you your lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport Lodge.

Kind regards,
Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for a flawless stay. The staff, rooms and food were great! We met with Celine the wedding coordinator the following day to discuss our 2015 wedding plans...wow, what a pro! We were so impressed by her laid back but professional approach. She made some great suggestions about local vendors ect. We are so excited to be planning our 2015 wedding with Wineport. If you are thinking about this as a wedding venue, or just a weekend away this lodge will not disappoint!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0703ChristinaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear ChristinaG,

Thank you for you lovely review.

We are delighted you booked your wedding here & we have passed your kind regards onto Celine.

Kind regards,
Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This lodge is fabulous, nestled away in a quiet location overlooking the lake. It is a real getaway! The staff are very welcoming, friendly and attentive. The food is excellent. It is expensive but a real treat!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Ann-Marie,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,

Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I received a night away in the Wineport as an extremely generous 30th birthday present from one of my best friends- I was delighted. She remembered me saying it was one of my favourite hotels in Ireland.
It still remains as such.
We were upgraded to the Champagne Suite and it took a while to sink in- such a beautiful room. We arrived after 4 and had to use the end car park- it was literally so busy at that time! Check in was a breeze and we were brought to our room which I thought last visit and this visit was a very professional touch. The girl on reception was very nice and friendly and really helpful when I needed a vegetarian menu. Next is my one amd only negative. The restaurant is fabulous and we got a fantastic table right by the window with that beautiful view. The staff were attentive and really nice and dinner was really good. But it was a huge shock when we paid the bill. As nice as the food was it didnt impress me enough that I had to pay €30 for a leek mushroom and salad dish with a glass of coke. I usually pay that for a 3 course meal. I was in two minds as whether to mention it but it bothered me so there it is.
Moving on.... Sunset arrived at Wineport. It is just enchanting and mesmerising to witness sunset here.
The Wineport is still one of my favourite hotels in Ireland- I will return as soon as possible.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShellieGCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear ShellieGCork,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to read that we are one of your favourites.

If you would like to get in touch, I can check out your restaurant charges.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I've eaten here quite a few times now and have never had a meal that was less than excellent.
What makes it stand out is the setting which is lovely, just by the lakeshore.

I also love that the food is just as good at a wedding or occasion as when going for a meal in the evening/Sunday. Lots of restaurants/hotels will just present very average meals when catering for a large group, but the standard is consistently great at the Wineport

Yes, it is expensive, but it's worth it for a treat/special date

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Siobhan M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your experiences with us.

Thank you for sharing...

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed at Wineport Lodge earlier this month more as a midway one night stopover on the way to Galway than anything else. From the time we arrived and were shown to our excellent lakeview room to our departure the next day we felt at home. We ate in the Bollinger Lounge for our evening meal and was probably the best meal we experienced on our weeks holiday touring the west of Ireland and they were all good. The young gentleman behind the bar who served us couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful and it wasn't put on as is the case at so many hotels. He was very genuine and just himself which made us feel very relaxed. We had the best nights sleep of our tour and a lovely leisurely breakfast which we could have had in our room on the balcony overlooking the lake but the weather wasn't the best so chose to eat in the restaurant. I would say that myself and my wife aren't the easiest to please. If we are paying for a four star hotel we expect four star service. This hotel however for us was five star in every way and we regret only staying one night. Our next trip to Ireland will be to stay at the Wineport for longer and will be our only stop. Congratulations to the management. You have it spot on and should be a training base for other hotels to see how it should be done. Bob Farmer

Room Tip: A superior lakeview room is well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Robert F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to us so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport in the near future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Property: Wineport Lodge
Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing