We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a midweek over night stay and must admit we got fantastic value for our money, the room was lovely with our bed looking out over the water. Our room had a built in stereo system with music pre loaded on which really made for a very relaxing experience. Breakfast the next morning was delivered to the room on time and fresh.
My only comment is we found the food in the restaurant to be average, we had heard fantastic things but both felt disappointed.
But don't let this put you off, overall a very relaxing and enjoyable stay and we will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strickers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Strickers2013,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We appreciate your feedback given.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Wineport.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely place & view and nice food, but if you have dietary restrictions, you constantly have to check if they have taken it into account. With both courses, they've missed something and if you want to check, one waiter says it possible, the other one not. They do correct mistakes, but it may be too late. Great wining and dining without dietary restrictions, but don't go here if you have some and want to have a relaxed dinner

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear AnVliet,

Thank you for posting your review.

I am sorry to read that your dietary requirements were not initially met .

We do try to look after all dietary needs & usually do so very well.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Really nice place with lovely views of the lake.Lots of people sitting on the veranda when we arrived and we felt awkward having to disturb and brush by them with our bags to get to the reception area. Room was again lovely but the balcony was not private in that we could see and hear the people in the rooms beside us and along with others strolling by the door that looked straight into the bedroom it all felt a bit intimidating and in no way private unless you closed the door & curtains which defeated the purpose of having the lovely view in the first place. We ended up whispering and closing the door to hear the tv so as not to disturb the peace which was quite uncomfortable as the weather was so hot. Restaurant again lovely but horror of horrors...the fabulous steak was so let down when it was served with a little bucket of chips that were cooked from a frozen bag ...Aaaah !! My pet hate and not the first time I've come across it. For the price you pay you would imagine a fresh spud could be peeled and chipped instead of spoiling and insulting a good steak by serving cheap, fast food, fakey, frozen, tasteless stick chips ! Thank-god I ordered the sweet potato fries and didn't have to suffer them on my plate but it does so annoy me. I got over my anger when served a Pecan Pie to die for and I would go back for it alone. Breakfast was amazing with a great choice and their breads are delicious. Staff were really nice and I can see why it is so popular. Lovely experience but I've had better for a lot less so was a little disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molly2365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear molly2365,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I appreciate your feedback which I have shared with my colleagues.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Attended a wedding here. The staff were extremely welcoming and very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Food was absolutely amazing. We had the most delicious sweet potato, parsnip and spiced apple soup, following by Duck Confit, Roast Beef and then a trio a delicious desserts. Venue is fantastic with beautiful views of the lake. Outdoor area's were a pleasure (assisted by nice weather). Definitely would recommend. Would make a lovely getaway for a couples weekend. Drinks were a little pricey at the bar.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Dave W,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are delighted with it.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Norma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed in The Wineport on 13 July 2014 to celebrate anniversary and it was just beautiful. The Chablis suite had a lovely balcony, fantastic lake view and the room was huge. What made it stand out from other hotels? The little things. A dote of a teapot, brownies in a sweet jar, luxurious products in bathroom and a surprise delivery of desserts to our suite after we had retired to sit out and watch the sunset. There was also a Happy Anniversary plate with sweets when we arrived. The food in the bar was very tasty and good portions I would have liked to eat in restaurant but we had eaten with the family early in the day, a treat saved for next time and there will be a next time. Sometimes the best places are on our doorstep. Great welcome, friendly staff and you cant beat it for a sunny sunday evening sipping cocktails watching the boats and the water skiing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pallyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear pallyan,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are delighted with it.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Norma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We are just back from Wineport Lodge after a 1-night stay.
We brought along our 5-week old little girl with a little apprehension and I am delighted to say the hotel made all of us most welcome.
I asked for a room with a cot and if possible a quieter room.
The hotel couldn't do enough for us, were very welcoming towards our little lady on arrival and they had allocated us a Gorgeous room in a quiet part of the hotel. They had upgraded us which was a really nice touch.
We had a lovely meal there last evening and had breakfast in bed this morning, which was to a high standard.
When I enquirer about the use of the outdoor hot tub they were most accommodating this morning also.
It was so nice to see people make a genuine effort to make our stay more comfortable and special.
I will certainly be recommending the hotel, it's staff and the facilities to friends.
As an added bonus the area is beautiful around Glasson village and we enjoyed our walks around the village and it's surroundings. We fully intend on visiting again so I wanted to let others know of the hotel and the value for money it provides.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bordeaux room overlooking Lough Ree, we didn't want to leave the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johngriffin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear johngriffin79,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are delighted with it.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Norma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is just amazing, it's location is stunning. The restaurant is fantastic! The out door hot tubs were great! We loved every second of it. The SPA is a real switch off too and I enjoyed the treatments. But most of all the rooms are HUGE!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngeC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear AngeC2014,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are delighted with it.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Norma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,976 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,193 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
952 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £117 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing