We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, best place in athlone for food!”
Review of The Locke Restaurant - CLOSED

The Locke Restaurant
Price range: US$18 - US$41
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Locke Restaurant, Athlone is located in Athlone's historical quater and is set in an enchanting 150 year old church which stands proudly on the waterfront. The church was the original Anglican church in Athlone and dates back to the early 1800's. The church still retains most of its original fetures which now form part of the gorgeous restaurant that is The Locke. The Locke is situated beside the beer garden entrance to Sean's Bar, Ireland's Oldest Pub, Athlone Castle and is in the heart of the bustling nightlife of Athlone. The restaurant is one block away from the Dean Crowe theatre. It also also is within walking distance of some of Athlone's wonderful attractions, such as the Viking Boat Cruise and the Luain Gallery. The core of the restaurant, set in the captivating and magnificent church which dates back to 1858, now known as the Locke Restaurant is the second level with its high church beamed ceilings, warm, atmospheric lighting, panelling and rich carpet. The cosy snug bar located on the lower level has a dramatic feel about it. There is live piano and harp sessions every Saturday night in the bar area of the restaurant and all are welcome to come and enjoy it, even for a drink. The Locke Restaurant is a proud Irish Restaurant, specialising in fine Irish cuisine and seafood with a strong focus on local suppliers and produce. Our award winning Head Chef and his excellent team cook everything fresh to order and take great pride in the quality and standard of food they produce.The Locke Restaurant is open from Tuesday to Sunday served full evening, Al a Carte Menu from 5pm to 9.30Pm and There is also a great value Early Bird Menu available each day from 5pm to 7pm with 2 courses starting from €21.00 Per person. The Locke also has capacity for groups and parties with our private dining room options available for small or large groups and parties. We also have Group Menus and tailored packages for groups.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, best place in athlone for food!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner in the locke a couple of weeks ago, have to say was one of the best restaurants that i have been to the food was amazing and the value was great for the quality and the service was great, the atmosphere was so relaxed and calm, will definitely be going back for a meal, best spot in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shauna15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Shauna15, wow, thank you so much for the wonderful review.

Seamus Jordan, our excellent Head Chef, and his team are on cloud nine after reading your feedback, they haven't stopped smiling. As a team, we all work very hard at making the Locke special and doing justice to our enchanting church so it means ever so much to us to get such lovely comments.

Thank you for making our day.
With regards,

Ann O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    43
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Myerstown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“YOU MUST EAT HERE!!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I believe in serendipity. We stayed at the Prince of Wales hotel and walked to the old town for supper. We found a couple places but nothing "called" to us. By chance we saw a small sign advertising the Locke. We started wandering by the water and found it, a converted church right on the river. We looked over the outside menu and found a couple things of interest but still weren't sure. Then Gavin happened to walk out and he invited us in for supper. After a short conversation with Gavin we realized serendipity was in play so we went in.

The place is beautiful inside and the atmosphere is wonderful, even romantic. The first thing Gavin informed us was that what we wanted on the menu was not available! :o( Instead he recommended the ox-cheek and went on to describe how it was made and how is would be served. We gave serendipity full rein and were we glad we did! :o)

Our meal and experience at the Locke were the best we had the whole time we were in Ireland! In fact it's one of the best meals we've EVER had, period! The food was unbelievably delicious. The staff was really friendly. Gavin was super (we talked with him at length after the meal). And as a topper, it was an "early bird special"! If this place was close to us in Pennsylvania we would be regulars!

If you're anywhere near Athlone you really must stop at the Locke. And please say HI to Gavin for us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Gary H, WOW WOW WOW, is all i can say.

Thank you doesn't even do justice to such a splendid review. Gavin is so red faced from your feedback, he has never had such lovely comments said about him. I don't think he will ever stop smiling from it.

I am at a loss for words to convey our feelings from your review, it is amazing to know we made you feel so welcome and that you enjoyed your evening with us so much.

From our team of chefs to our wonderful floor staff, we all say a 1000 thank you's. We all hope that if you are ever visiting Ireland again, will be be on your list of places to visit because it would be our honor to have you back.

Warmest thanks,

Ann O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something special”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We recently enjoyed a really excellent meal in this beautiful atmospheric restaurant right on the banks of the river. Initially when we were ordering, several things we wished to order were no longer available but it was a bank holiday weekend so we just selected alternatives. I would highly recommend the stuffed quail starter - it was delicious! The steaks were really good also. But the desserts - absolulutely divine! Also loved the little extra touches that really do enhance the experience - it was a birthday outing so the waitress brought an extra dessert with a birthday greeting and we also were given Long Island teas which were delicious! The staff were lovely and excellent service. Will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPMNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
JPMNorthernIreland, Thank you so much for your review.

What a lovely complement you paid us with your title, it is so nice to be thought of in such a way but it was our very special pleasure to host you both.

At the Locke, we really believe that it is the small touches that make the biggest differences and we always try to go the extra mile for our guests. Everything we produce and use in the Locke is fresh and we change our menu everyday to reflect this, but when you deal in fresh produce, it means you only have a certain amount in stock everyday but it does mean that what ever dish you get from our menu has been made and produced on that day. Chef is delighted you enjoyed his quail, it is one of his personal favorites at the moment on the menu.

Nora is over the moon that you enjoyed the cocktails so much, that has made her day.
I sincerely hope that next time you are visiting Athlone again, you will come and visit us once more.

Warmest regards,

Ann O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Real treat”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We ate at the restaurant on a short visit to athlone. The service was efficient and friendly anthe food was fantastic. From the bread served whilst we we waited for starters to the vegetables with our main course the quality of ingredients and the preparation was exceptional.

If you enjoy good quality steak - order it here - incredible!

Thank you for a treat of a meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Gez M, all i can say is Thank You so much.

Your review made our day here at The Locke.
I am so happy that you enjoyed your evening with us so much and that the food was so good, thats very important to us. Our brilliant Head Chef, Seamus Jordan and his team are over the moon with your feedback.

I really hope that on your next trip to Athlone, you will call again.
Kind regards,

Ann O'Shea
www.thelockerestaurant.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantasic Acident”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were on our 20th anniversary trip to Ireland and had just toured the Athlone Fort and were walking around killing time on our second day in Ireland on the 28th of Sept and we saw what looked like a beautiful old church so I walked around to the front to investigate. I was surprised that it was a restaurant and was taking a picture of the front when the Manager came out and asked if we would like to see the interior. He was far from pushy and was very warm asked us if we had dinner plans. As it was about ten after 5 we were not ready for dinner but he was no nice we had to give it a shot. So, so, so glad we did. The food was great in every dinner spot we went to in Ireland (I had planned dinners at 6 different, highly rated restaurants in Ireland) but this was one night for which I had not made any plans. Yet this was by far our favorite meal in all of Ireland. We had the Venison and Basil stuffed chicken, as well as salad & soup. I only wish I had been more hungry. I asked the chef to visit our table to ask about the method of preparation and he was delightful as well. Food was perfectly prepared, service as fantastic and the "feel" of the place was perfect. Got go and try to get he table on the second floor looking out the beautiful glass at the river. You will love this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Steve C,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed our restaurant so much when you dined with us in September. We are overwhelmed by your compliment about being your favorite restaurant from your trip, that really means alot.

I have passed your lovely comments on to chef and he said, he was delighted to have met you, as we all were.
I hope that the next time you are visiting Ireland, you will make sure we are on your list of places to visit.

Warmest regards,

Ann O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Locke Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing