We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, top service”
Review of The Locke Restaurant - CLOSED

The Locke Restaurant
Price range: US$18 - US$42
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Locke Restaurant, Athlone is located in Athlone's historical quater and is set in an enchanting 150 year old church which stands proudly on the waterfront. The church was the original Anglican church in Athlone and dates back to the early 1800's. The church still retains most of its original fetures which now form part of the gorgeous restaurant that is The Locke. The Locke is situated beside the beer garden entrance to Sean's Bar, Ireland's Oldest Pub, Athlone Castle and is in the heart of the bustling nightlife of Athlone. The restaurant is one block away from the Dean Crowe theatre. It also also is within walking distance of some of Athlone's wonderful attractions, such as the Viking Boat Cruise and the Luain Gallery. The core of the restaurant, set in the captivating and magnificent church which dates back to 1858, now known as the Locke Restaurant is the second level with its high church beamed ceilings, warm, atmospheric lighting, panelling and rich carpet. The cosy snug bar located on the lower level has a dramatic feel about it. There is live piano and harp sessions every Saturday night in the bar area of the restaurant and all are welcome to come and enjoy it, even for a drink. The Locke Restaurant is a proud Irish Restaurant, specialising in fine Irish cuisine and seafood with a strong focus on local suppliers and produce. Our award winning Head Chef and his excellent team cook everything fresh to order and take great pride in the quality and standard of food they produce.The Locke Restaurant is open from Tuesday to Sunday served full evening, Al a Carte Menu from 5pm to 9.30Pm and There is also a great value Early Bird Menu available each day from 5pm to 7pm with 2 courses starting from €21.00 Per person. The Locke also has capacity for groups and parties with our private dining room options available for small or large groups and parties. We also have Group Menus and tailored packages for groups.
Reviewed 3 May 2014

After reading all reviews we wanted to give it a go and the restaurant certainly lived to our expectations. The food was absolutely delicious and the portions were just perfect. The service was one of the best I've ever had. We ordered a bottle of prosecco but wwre advised that they run out. Normally you would have to look for something else but not at Locke! Gavin (the owner) apologised for not having Prosecco in stock and offered us a bottle of champagne instead for the same price! He then came back few times ensuring everything was perfect.The waitress (sorry didn't get the name) was really nice too. They food, atmosphere, and ambience is just perfect for either a quiet meal for two or an occasion larger party. Definitely worth visiting when you are in Athlone

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karolpiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear karolpiet,

Gavin is still on cloud nine here after reading your review, I honestly dont know how we will get him down (jut kidding). It is so nice to know that The Locke stod up to its recomendations, that is so important to us. I have passed on your kind words to Joanne, your waitress on the night and to the entire kitchen team, who all deserve great praise for their continued hard work and dedication.

Gavin believes that hospitality is not just a nice word but is sher dedication to minding people and delievering on value and an experience. At the Locke we all work towards that and its great when it comes across.

Thank you so much for the compliments and recomendation.
As you are only in Dublin, I hope you will call again soon.

With thanks,

Ann "Mammy" O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for The Locke Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

The exterior of this place is intriguing - an erstwhile church set on the banks of the River Shannon ! From the moment the doors open, a voyage of fantastic discovery unfolds, starting with the warm and sincere welcome from Gavin the restaurant Manager ( and Son/co-owner ). Everything about the interior and environment stimulates the senses ; I won't say too much but you cannot fail to be impressed. And doesn't it say much about an establishment that is able to say from the outset (and with not a hint of arrogance) that all the dishes on the menu will delight and satisfy ? Seamus the head chef ( and a worthy recipient of his 5 star status ) certainly knows his craft - taste, presentation, creativity...all surpassed an already high expectation ! And the service scores on every front - attentive, friendly and fun, without being intrusive ! 'Mammy' bustles about the place and has a twinkle in her mischievous eyes ; 'Daddy' does his thing behind the bar and gives vital but quiet support to the proceedings...and Joanne gets on with being professional and efficient !
We have eaten in some of the best restaurants around the world ( all 9 of us ! ) and we know a good thing when we see or taste it ! And in 'The Locke' we've found a wonderful eatery that ticks all the boxes. Miss it and regret it !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nauj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

nauj63, my friend, thank you so much.

I have not stopped smiling for days after reading your review and for you to mention us in the same breathe as restaurants from around the world is simply mind blowing for all of us here. I am so delighted that our gorgeous church restaurant, The Locke, could impress you and the family so much. As a family based restaurant, we adore looking after other families and being able to welcome them in.

We take great pride in the Locke and it is so rewarding to know that this comes across but it is a huge team effort here and its always nice to see our brilliant Head Chef held in such high estime, he deserves it as does all his team.

I know that you all come to Ireland once a year for your family get together and even though I know you always try to go somewhere different, I hope next year, we may be on your map again.

From our whole family here at The Locke (chefs and staff inculded), to yours, a humble and gracious Thank You!

Yours,

Ann "Mammy" O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Top restaurant where we got one of the best meals ever.Great service and atmosphere in a lovely old renovated church.10 out of 10.

1  Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Pat K,

To recieve a 10/10 rating from you, i cant put into words how nice that is. Thank you from all of us here at The Locke.

We believe that all the elements of the restaurant need to work together from the chefs to the service to the ambiance and even our gorgeous church has to play its part. It is so nice when it all comes together so well.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us so much and your recomendation means alot so again, Thank You!

Warmest regards,

Ann O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Atmosphere is great and food is excellent.
I have been there several times and food is always fresh and deliciously cooked.
I suggest a stop there for an early bird menu if you are near Athlone!
Everyone should try it at list once.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank vivian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Vivian B, all I can say is WOW and thank you!

How do I even begin to respond to a headline and review like that, we are blown away and are over the moon and thank you for that! As a regular visiter to us here at The Locke, it is hugely important to know that our food, service and ambiance is not just good but consistant, that is very important to us.

It is so great to know that you find our delicious Early Bird Menu to be such good value, that is very much what we aim for.

From the chefs, to the floor team to the family, we all say a very energetic Thank You!
Your comments and recomendation means so much to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Locke again very soon.

Thank you a 1000 times over,

Ann "Mammy" O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Last saturday evening 29th March went to this resturant. We were greated on arrival by Gavin the manager, can't say enough about our meal. This resturant was just superb, the attention paid by gavin to all his customers was super. Would recommend a visit and will definitley go back again if were in athlone again. Menu was fab & if u request anything they will do there best to get it for u. Very reasonable too. Enjoy ur visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gemma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi Gemma C,

And thank you so much for the wonderful feedback, I am so happy that your enjoyed your meal and experience with us here at The Locke, it is what we aim for it so its so nice when we can hit the mark.

After reading your review, Gavin is on cloud nine, dont know how we will get him back down (only joking) but he says a very BIG thank you as we all do. The chefs are delighted the food was so good as well.

As you are only in Dublin, I certainly hope you will come and visit us again.
Thank you,

Ann O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Locke Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing