We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lockes by the Docks”
Review of The Locke Restaurant - CLOSED

The Locke Restaurant
Price range: US$18 - US$43
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Locke Restaurant, Athlone is located in Athlone's historical quater and is set in an enchanting 150 year old church which stands proudly on the waterfront. The church was the original Anglican church in Athlone and dates back to the early 1800's. The church still retains most of its original fetures which now form part of the gorgeous restaurant that is The Locke. The Locke is situated beside the beer garden entrance to Sean's Bar, Ireland's Oldest Pub, Athlone Castle and is in the heart of the bustling nightlife of Athlone. The restaurant is one block away from the Dean Crowe theatre. It also also is within walking distance of some of Athlone's wonderful attractions, such as the Viking Boat Cruise and the Luain Gallery. The core of the restaurant, set in the captivating and magnificent church which dates back to 1858, now known as the Locke Restaurant is the second level with its high church beamed ceilings, warm, atmospheric lighting, panelling and rich carpet. The cosy snug bar located on the lower level has a dramatic feel about it. There is live piano and harp sessions every Saturday night in the bar area of the restaurant and all are welcome to come and enjoy it, even for a drink. The Locke Restaurant is a proud Irish Restaurant, specialising in fine Irish cuisine and seafood with a strong focus on local suppliers and produce. Our award winning Head Chef and his excellent team cook everything fresh to order and take great pride in the quality and standard of food they produce.The Locke Restaurant is open from Tuesday to Sunday served full evening, Al a Carte Menu from 5pm to 9.30Pm and There is also a great value Early Bird Menu available each day from 5pm to 7pm with 2 courses starting from €21.00 Per person. The Locke also has capacity for groups and parties with our private dining room options available for small or large groups and parties. We also have Group Menus and tailored packages for groups.
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very Good food but one felt a little rushed! However, It was terribly busy on the evening that we visited.
Extremely friendly host and service was excellent.
We will definitely give this one another try!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank 431Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

431Globetrotter, thank you.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your experience with us here at The Locke Restaurant. I am very sorry that you felt rushed in anyway, there is most definitely not our intension – we don’t do sittings at the Locke so when you get a table at our restaurant, it is yours for as long as you like on any evening so there is never any rush, just relax and enjoy the ambiance of our gorgeous church. I have passed on your comments to the team and Gavin says “Thank You” back on behalf of them.

I hope next time you are visiting from Leixlip, you will call and see us again.
Warm regards,

Ann O’Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Visited The Locke recently and would highly recommend it. My partner had the house speciality - the pork belly. It was glorious. Next time in Athlone this will be our first choice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Kerryman92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear kerryman92,
Your compliment has quiet simply blown us away and we are all very humbled by it, thank you. I am so happy that you came and experienced the Locke Restaurant while you were in Athlone and that you enjoyed our signature dish so much.
To be your first choice restaurant means alot to us and your recommendation means even more.

Warmest thanks,

Ann O’Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

From moment friend and I entered in Locke - we were so warmly greeted by the two fabulous girls. We had no reservation - girls found us a great table. Restaurant is a renovated church with plenty of character and warm atmosphere. Gavin the dazzling & delightful owner came over welcomed us, was very professional, food guru. We were in luck as that evening Champagne was on special - Gavin gave us a wonderful run down of the menu, all items sourced locally - all delicious options. I had seafood chowder to start - was just brimming with fish. Karolina had potted salmon a house speciality - absolutely amazing flavours. Main I had the most succulent , delicately cooked, and full of flavour lamb. Salivating just thinking about it - Truly the tastiest lamb I can recall. Karolina had the risotto- done perfectly . Gavin and his team really care and it is personifies in the Locke. I will definitely go back and can honestly recommend as a must in Athlone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Sinwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Sinwoo,

A huge and gracious thanks for such a wonderful review and great feedback, you have us all smiling here at the Locke and we are so happy that we could make you both smile, that is what is most important to us. Gavin is blown away by your compliments and says a HUGE "Thank You" back as does our team award winning chefs who are extatic that you enjoyed the food so much.

Your review, your compliments and your recomendation are so important to us so again, thank you and we all very much hope, you will come and visit again soon.

With thanks,

Ann "Mammy" O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Dined in The Locke Restaurant on a weekend visit to Athlone. It was a "birthday celebration", just two of us, and we both enjoyed it thoroughly. Service was wonderful and the food was the best I had tasted in a long, long time. Had a great table upstairs where we had a special of sea bass/lobster and John Dory/scallops. We could have stayed all night!
Can't say enough about it except to say I look forward to going back and hopefully, sooner rather than later! Dawn

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Deegee122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Deegee122014, thank you so much.

First off, a very happy birthday again and thank you for coming to spend it with us, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us so much, that is the whole aim of the Locke restaurant. Seamus Jordan and his brilliant team of chefs are so happy that you enjoyed your meal so much and it is exceptional to know that you were able to avail of our delicious Seafood specials over the weekend.

As much as you look forward to coming back, we look forward to hosting you again.
Thank you so much for the recomendation.

Warm regards,

Ann O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Visited The Locke yesterday evening and would highly recommend it. Actually I would travel to Athlone again particularly to revisit this wonderful restaurant. Service was great and Gavin and Ann, the owners were warm and welcoming. The food was delicious, the backround music excellently chosen to add to the wonderful ambience and the interior design splendid. Delightful place and well worth a visit.

1  Thank Kirstin321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Kirstin321,

It was our pleasure to host you and the girls last Sunday evening and I am so delighted that you enjoyed your experience so much, thats our aim. Gavin says hello and is very thankful for the compliment.

We trully love our gorgeous church restaurant and take great pride in it so it is so nice when this comes across. Both Gavin and I are totally blown away by the fact that you would travel from Naas just to have dinner with us again, this is the biggest compliment we could ask for.

Thank you for dining with us and I very much hope to see you again soon.
Ann "Mammy" O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Locke Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing