We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Restaurant, middle of the road prices .......”
Review of The Locke Restaurant - CLOSED

The Locke Restaurant
Price range: US$18 - US$41
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Locke Restaurant, Athlone is located in Athlone's historical quater and is set in an enchanting 150 year old church which stands proudly on the waterfront. The church was the original Anglican church in Athlone and dates back to the early 1800's. The church still retains most of its original fetures which now form part of the gorgeous restaurant that is The Locke. The Locke is situated beside the beer garden entrance to Sean's Bar, Ireland's Oldest Pub, Athlone Castle and is in the heart of the bustling nightlife of Athlone. The restaurant is one block away from the Dean Crowe theatre. It also also is within walking distance of some of Athlone's wonderful attractions, such as the Viking Boat Cruise and the Luain Gallery. The core of the restaurant, set in the captivating and magnificent church which dates back to 1858, now known as the Locke Restaurant is the second level with its high church beamed ceilings, warm, atmospheric lighting, panelling and rich carpet. The cosy snug bar located on the lower level has a dramatic feel about it. There is live piano and harp sessions every Saturday night in the bar area of the restaurant and all are welcome to come and enjoy it, even for a drink. The Locke Restaurant is a proud Irish Restaurant, specialising in fine Irish cuisine and seafood with a strong focus on local suppliers and produce. Our award winning Head Chef and his excellent team cook everything fresh to order and take great pride in the quality and standard of food they produce.The Locke Restaurant is open from Tuesday to Sunday served full evening, Al a Carte Menu from 5pm to 9.30Pm and There is also a great value Early Bird Menu available each day from 5pm to 7pm with 2 courses starting from €21.00 Per person. The Locke also has capacity for groups and parties with our private dining room options available for small or large groups and parties. We also have Group Menus and tailored packages for groups.
Reviewed 2 September 2014

What a surprise ! Had it in my mind that this was a middle of the road reataurant with middle of the road food. We dined on a busy Saturday and being early diners, used the early bird menu. (approx €26-€27 for 3 course) The only items I can recall not on the early bird were the duck and fresh fish(?) All food is cooked to order and surperb. The specials are worthy of consideration, very good. We were two and had 3 cources (steak included) each, bottle of wine and large water, budget approx. €85.00 which we thought very good having paid more for less in many other restaurants. Wonderful style and service, worth dressing up for !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dubtrabteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Dubtrabteen,

I am so so happy that we could impress you so much and that we were worth trying out. It means so much that you enjoyed your night with us and that we were such good value, that is what we aim for at The Locke.

Our brilliant team of chefs are all on cloud nine after your feedback and I'm still trying to figure out how to get them down ;-) . They are all very thankful of your compliments and asked me to pass on their regards. The girls on the floor are also smiling from ear to ear after your wonderful style comment, again thank you.

Your recommendation means so much to us and as you are only in Dublin, I very much hope you will call again soon.

Kind regards,

Ann O’Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Went to the early bird dinner tonight from 5 to 7. Price fix for two selections was 21eu. All selections were well done, tasty, and filling. Gavin was very engaging and added to the dinner. The Locke is an old church that has been renovated into a beautiful restaurant. I heartily agree with other reviewers and would highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Gerald K, thank you!

Gavin is so happy that you found him to be so engaging and that you enjoyed your dinner so much with us recently. More importantly, we are all delighted that you found our Early Bird to be such good value.

Thank you for such lovely compliments about our gorgeous old church and thank you for coming to dine. I very much hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around Ireland.

Warmest thanks,

Ann & Gavin O’Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Loved this place, staff very friendly, food delicious, great choice on the menu! Next time I'm in Athlone, would definitely go back!

1  Thank Avril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Avril M, thank you.
Your review, simple and to the point has quiet simply made us all smile here at the Locke today.

Thank you for coming to dine with us and thank you for the recommendation.
Warm regards,

Ann O’Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We went here at the weekend and in general the food was good, however the choices were very limited and some of these had "sold out" or the review would have been more favourable.
We also had a terrible (off) orange juice served without a bottle (although this was changed quickly) and they had sold out of our preferred wine. for a Saturday night one would have expected a good stock of supplies.
Good hosts with personality and passion for their trade and an interesting venue but could have potentially been better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
4  Thank Markbinherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Markbinherts,

Thank you so much for your review and I can understand your comments and feedback. At the Locke, we take huge pride in being a fresh food restaurant and only using the best local produce from the midlands of Ireland. As a fresh food restaurant and a restaurant that doesn’t freeze food, we only buy in enough stock for each individual day which sometimes means that, yes, we can sell out of an item, however I am delighted that you enjoyed your Pork Belly on the night when you dined with us.
I agree about the processco on the night and I know we did have an alternative available for you but I completely agree that we should have had more in stock. And as it was myself who served you on the night, I can only but hold my hands up about the OJ and thanks for noting how quickly it was changed for your good lady.

Thank you for the lovely compliments about our passion for what we do, because we do and we love it.

I very much hope next time the 4 of you are in Athlone, you will call again and let us show you how good we can be.

Warm regards,

Ann O’Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Excellent food and service. It was a very warm night and upstairs was extremely warm. The old interior of a church adds to the atmosphere. One step outside and you can have a lovely walk by the river. Turn the other way and you are at the oldest pub in Ireland.

1  Thank IndigoflowerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O, Owner at The Locke Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear IndigoflowerIreland,

It was our pleasure to have you come dine with us recently and thank you for the recommendation, it means ever so much to us all here at The Locke. I am so happy that you found the atmosphere to be so welcoming and intimate and our location on the river banks to be so good.

Thank you so much for your business and we very much hope to see you again soon.
Warmest regards,

Ann O’Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Locke Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing