We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming retreat with great food to eat”

Ballinahown Tea Rooms
Ranked #3 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, Soups, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Galway
2 reviews
“A charming retreat with great food to eat”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Had heard of these tea rooms by word of mouth so took a spin to Ballinahown this weekend. Stepping into these tearooms is akin to stepping away from the pressures of everyday life and into a haven where for a blissful hour or two all you have to do is relax, chat and sample the incredible food. The décor is delightful with great attention to detail. Service was commendable, the perfect balance between friendly but not overstepping boundaries. I ordered pancakes, which they were able to do for me without sugar as I was informed that the batter is made from scratch to order. Three fluffy American-style pancakes arrived shortly after, I could only eat two but asked for the third to be wrapped to go as there was no way I was leaving it behind - they were delicious! My companion was equally delighted with his scrambled eggs and bacon, and took particular delight in the quality of the coffee which accompanied them. Overall a charming tea rooms which perfectly compliment their quaint surroundings, will defiantly be making a return visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    0
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Take the time to stop. You will not be disappointed. A little haven of tranquility with food and service to match.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SleepersTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Tea Rooms as they should be”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I recently visited the Ballinahown Tea Rooms (in Westmeath's tidiest village!) and found the atmosphere and service second to none. China cups added to the sense of atmosphere and the fresh scone was first class and beautifully served with butter, cream and jam. A great place to break a journey or a nice little place to retreat to from the hustle and bustle of nearby Athlone. This tea room deserves your business!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gearoid O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Taken here by my Irish relatives whilst touring.
Relaxed ambience and comfortable seating.
We all had the soup and enjoyed it especially the chowder.
Then some had toasted bagels and we all finished with yummy cakes or scones.
Friendly laid back staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank covenanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The perfect place for lunch”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

On our way back from a visit to Clonmacnoise we stopped off for a bite of lunch and to visit the nearby gift shops. The food was quite simply delicious. I had homemade tomato soup with homemade brown and white bread, my wife a sandwich and we shared some absolutely divine carrot cake. There was a lovely friendly atmosphere, attentive service, and a delicious meal. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidandMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ballinahown Tea Rooms also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Ballinahown Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing