We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hit and miss”
Review of Beans & Leaves

Beans & Leaves
Ranked #11 of 100 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$14
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Irish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: "Simple Ingredients...Magical Foods"Steven & Martina's thinking is straightforward.Don’t mess with fantastic ingredients, keep it simple!Bring out the best in them and serve in delicious sandwiches, salads, hot meals & desserts all made on the premises & All for reasonable prices to have here or to take home. And, judging by the deli’s popularity, it’s a recipe that works.Happy Cooking,Steven & Martina.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“hit and miss”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have eaten here three times in the last six weeks or so and wanted to really enjoy it. The location is great, close to the river, decor is great, they have sofa and magazines. Some of the food is great, I had a butterflied chicken which was excellent. Breakfast was a little on the meager side, but beautifully presented.

Desserts in general have proved to be a let down on the two occasions that I have visited, some mass produced/bought in, (a personal hate, even though the waitress did tell me that everything was home made!) the scone and butter pudding, I really really wanted to like, but it was dry and tasteless, no custard..just a tiny paper pot of cream on the side. Also on that occasion tea was per cup...for a tea drinker like myself...that is anathema, teapots people, teapots!!..

service is consistently very friendly and they do a suspended coffee scheme for those in need, which is great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank astartef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    64
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly place, nice location, simple, good food”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere in a good location with friendly staff. Get the pulled pork sandwich, oh yes. Manages to feel modern but warm and homely effortlessly

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Altorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
navan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Friendly”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We just dropped in for a coffee and met a lovely assistant called Siobhan who could not be more friendly she told us to try their new dime bar cake and it was fantastic pity about the calories but as they say were worth it would recommend it highly to anyone in that area for a lovely lunch

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gerry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Westmeath, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place I've been to in a long time!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Visited here recently with a family friend and family member and we were all blown away by the great location of the café with great views. We were greeted by a member of staff and shown to a seating area upstairs with a good view of the river Shannon. Place had a great atmosphere and had with its own charm. Staff were attentive and friendly without being in your face. We ordered a mix of food from seafood chowder to a goats cheese dish. We did not even feel the need to monitor costs as all food was so reasonable (Approx €12-14 on average each for two dishes each) The food was superb! This is coming from the most fussy eater who hates eating out! It was great, there was utter silence once the food had arrived as we were all enjoying our food so much!
I will be returning customer no doubt and would recommend this lovely little place to anyone visiting Athlone or just going out looking for a great eatery.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bebhinn_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely breakfast”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have visited this very nice cafe on several occasions, but this was the first time for breakfast. I ordered the vegetarian breakfast which included coffee and 2 slices of the nicest brown bread I've had for a long time. Coffee was excellent and very good value for money - € 7.00, staff are as always very friendly. Will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ni-Da-Ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beans & Leaves also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Beans & Leaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing