We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Myself & my husband stayed here for one night. Check in was fine and staff were friendly. Very busy as it was a Saturday with hen parties etc. which added a bit of a buzz. Room was lovely, spacious, clean with a large comfortable bed. The only complaint about it was the heating wasn't on when we arrived which made the room quite chilly. It didn't really bother us as we weren't planning to spend much time in the room. The bathroom ceiling had a section over the toilet with chipped paint which could do with a fresh coat. Had a drink included with our offer which we had to ask the barman twice for. Ate in the hotel restaurant which was superb. Many gluten free options which suited myself including bread which a lot of hotels don't have in this day & age. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful also. Had breakfast in bed included in our offer also which was excellent. Overall very central hotel, very friendly staff and ideal location to the city centre. Definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel could possibly be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeathJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    522
    291
    115
    100
See reviews for
300
652
45
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

we were two women away for a two night break and stayed here.
had a great time we found all the staff very nice and friendly which makes a good hotel.
Had a lovely meal in the restaurand the 1st night few drinks in the bar ,
It was very quiet but the staff were very friendly. enjoyed a swim in there very nice pool which also has a steem room and sauna,location to the town was great . would stay here again and recommend it to my friends . the only negitave thing i have to say is i found 26 euro for a bottle of wine is a bit dear,

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky4161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Arrived to find our room freezing, after a number of calls to reception I was told that the heat wouldn't be on again until 5.30. A staff member brought a portable heater to the room which was totally inadequate for the size of our room.

In this day age for a hotel to have the heat off in their rooms in January is ridiculous and harks back to the olden days of stingy accommodation that used to be the norm

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faxpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in early January 2013. Check in was slow. The room was dated and cramped with two large armchairs in addition to a desk and chair. There were cigarette burns on the curtains. The lobby was very quiet, as was the bar. Breakfast was excellent, as is typical in the Radisson chain in Ireland.

One other thing - there seems to be some staff living in the hotel - from the outside, you can see clothes drying from the curtain poles in the rooms on the top floor. Management need to take a careful look at the image they are trying to portray.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were a group of women staying here and had two fabulous family rooms. Loads of space and well worth the extra money! We had an excellant meal in the restaurant and staff were wonderful. Food was great value for money and plenty of choice breakfast was v good / good range of options would def stay again and recommend to anyone. Great location in the town.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mog56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

On arrival we found that our room was cold and the radiator wasn't working. Reported to reception when we went out for a walk. Came back and found a portable electric heater was on in the room. My wife then tried to shower but found that there was no hot water. Asked for another room and was given one. No heating in this room. Went back to first room to get heater when a member of staff I passed in the corridor told me that the heating would be on in half an hour. It did come on but it would have helped if I had been told this at reception.

Just a couple of problems after this - cold, wet plates at breakfast and noisy television next door at 04;15 which stopped when I hammered their door with my shoe!

I only mentioned these problems at checkout and they were apologetic but.......

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We recently stayed in the Rasisson Blu Hotel in Athlone. We got a call the week before we arrived offering us an upgrade to a suite with champagne and strawberries on arrival which I decided to go for.

When we checked in the lobby was set up for a wedding, the place looked fantastic. It was very tastefully decorated.

The suite itself was large in size with a nice comfortable big bed and the place was clean. It had lovely views of the Shannon. The room was very cold though, there seemed to be a draught coming in and the radiators only seemed to come on at certain times. The TV was an old CRT type, I would expect some kind of flatscreen TV in a suite. The room also had a Nespresso machine which I thought was a nice touch!

We did not have the champagne or strawberries on arrival so I had to go down and ask at reception, the receptionist then gave me a voucher to redeem at the bar. Later on the strawberries arrived.

We booked dinner in the hotel for that evening. When we got the menu it was a set menu, we asked for the full menu but were told thats all they had even though we could clearly see that others were ordering from the full menu. I thought this strange as the dinner was not part of a package that we booked and they we would have paid alot more for the full menu. The set menu food was ok but at this point I was a little annoyed as I would have liked more options.

The following morning we had breakfast which was superb.

To be honest I dont think I will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try get a room with a view of the Shannon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,842 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,011 reviews
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing