We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff which can make a difference to a stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great staff which can make a difference to a stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Easy to find, the radisson is very central to all athlone has to offer. Check in was quick. I asked the pleasant girl if we could have a river views and that is what they had for us anyway. On opening the door we discovered it was a business class room with a superb view of river. We dropped bags and headed out to check out the town. On returning I used the leisure centre which was small but adequate. Locker rooms clean and secure. Pool was quiet as it was sunday so was nice to chill. We had dinner in the bar which was busy and plenty of staff to attend. Ordered fish but they had just run out of so burger it was. Wasn't the best nor were the frozen chips but it did. Wife had stir fry which didn't have much veg. What is good about the menu is that it's coeliac friendly with clear markings and good choice also which was one of the reasons we chose here instead of the Sheraton. Laura, I think, was barmaid and was excellent at her job and always had a smile when dealing with a customer. Breakfast was busy but pleasant. Wasn't the best of breakfasts but plenty of choice and again lots of staff to clear tables and serve tea/coffee. Check out was quick and hassle free. We certainly enjoyed our night away and would stay again if passing

Room Tip: Room 309 faces river with beautiful views. Plenty of restaurant in the town. Nearly all shops close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eoinhyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Milltree
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We take pride in the service and food we offer and are constantly reviewing our service so I was disappointed to hear you where not 100% happy with our food, We will be reviewing this at our next weekly standards meeting .I am pleased to hear you would visit us again and I look forward to welcoming you when you do. The Synergy leisure staff work really hard to provide very clean facilities and an area for guests & members to relax. It was always great to receive positive feedback from our Guests especially regarding the staff .I will be sending on your comments to all the team here at the hotel.

Thanks again
Sinead Marran
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    499
    276
    110
    92
See reviews for
277
614
44
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel over the bank holiday weekend . The location was excellent close to all amenities bar, restaurants and shopping.

Our room was lovely and spotlessly clean . We had a view of the river Shannon and the marina . Breakfast was great with a good choice of both hot and cold buffet .

Our only criticism was the lack of car parking spaces. The hotel was very busy and I guess this was to be expected.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I can't wait to return

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cupcake05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Cup Cake
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am delighted to hear you were pleased with your stay in our hotel. We work very hard to provide our customers with the best possible stay with us. I am happy to hear you would visit us again and I look forward to welcoming you when you do. It was always great to receive positive feedback from our Guests especially regarding the staff .I will be sending on your comments to all the team here at the hotel.

Thanks again
Sinead Marran
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed at the Athlone Radisson Blu Hotel for 3 nights in April. From initial phone contact through to departure, I found each and every staff member both helpful and most importantly friendly.

The location is excellent - right beside the river and beside the town centre. The hotel is spotless and the rooms more than adequate. Breakfast offers good choice and well cooked. The decking area overlooking the river would be lovely on a good day but the inclement weather didn't offer me the opportunity to enjoy it. I didn't use the leiture facilities so cannot comment on them.

The hotel should be very proud of its staff - I must admit that the service was the best I've experienced in many years.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband on our way to Galway. Hotel is in a great location and staff are extremely friendly. Room had lovely views and was on a corner so the size of the room seemed very small. Bathroom was standard size and nothing special. We had a drink in the bar and staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was very good and great selection available. Would go back and stay here again as location would bring you back together with the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dermotswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Dermotswoman
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. I look forward to sharing your very kind feedback with the entire staff. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your constructive feedback. We hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Thanks again
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

nice hotel, efficient staff, dealt with swiftly and efficiently at reception. Breakfast was good, hot and served fast. Rooms were nice, a little small, but comfortable. Free parking, didnt make use of the leisure centre, although I observed the pool is fairly short, 16.5 metres.
Would recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Mary 999
Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to provide a review of your experience with us and for choosing to stay at The Radisson Blu Hotel .It was always great to receive positive feedback from our Guests especially regarding the staff and i look forward to sharing your very kind feedback with the entire team.

Thanks again
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Radisson hotel in Athlone is located on the River Shannon, with a lovely decking area, if it's warm enough, to sit out on and admire the river and the flotilla of boats - sadly, in April, it wasn't that warm, but still lovely to pretend it's almost summer, sitting out with a drink - and several layers of clothes!
Hotel staff are friendly & helpful - check-in was smooth and hassle free.
Room felt a bit overcrowded with furniture - but it was well appointed. Not sure how old the hotel is, but might be time to start looking at updating some of the furnishings (eg, cigarette burn in curtain).
Breakfast next day was self service and well supplied - bit of a rush for eggs, but will do to order.
Leisure centre has small pool & sauna - was nice & peaceful but nothing spectacular.
Bar staff were helpful - but short on supplies for making cocktails or certain sandwiches!
Overall good stay, in good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river & cathedral - the view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Katb15
Thank you for taking to the time to write your review.I would agree with you about the terrace it is fantastic are to enjoy a drink or to have a bite to eat. We are currently replacing all of the curtains in the rooms. I hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
I will be sending on your comments to all the team here at the hotel.

Thanks again
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Rooms raslly clean and new. Bathroom all modern with bath and shower. Excellent location in town and rear of hotel looks onto marina. View from bar really nice. Staff great restaurant is really a bistro but nevertheless very nice and really good food. We would go back again to hotel but there is really not much to do in athlone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruby56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Ruby
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was delighted to read that you found the rooms to be of a very high standard. It is wonderful to hear you enjoy the food and have been impressed with our Elements restaurant. I am glad to read that you will visit our hotel again. We look forward to welcoming you again.
I will be sending on your comments to all the team here at the hotel.

Thanks again
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing