We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arch House B&B & Apartments(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prince of Wales Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$331
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,834)
Filter reviews
1,834 results
Traveller rating
689
593
314
129
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
689
593
314
129
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsavril kiernana business class roomoverlooking the rivershannon riverfamily suitehotel is in a great locationbar foodbar staffhot foodcentre of townbar areabreakfast was excellentsteam roomgreat selectionstayed here for one nightenjoyable stayfood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
1,264 - 1,269 of 1,834 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed in the Radisson for one night and can honestly say it was fab! Great welcome at Reception followed by an even better stay! We took full use of the Leisure center during our stay! We didnt eat in the restaurant but the smell of food in the bar while we waited to head out was mouth watering! Athlone is a great town and will definitely be returning very soon :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thedancingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Thedancingbear,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review on the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. I am delighted that we made it such an enjoyable and memorable experience for you.
It is always great to hear good comments regarding the facilities and the services at the hotel. I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with the leisure centre, and enjoyed yourself in Athlone.
I will be passing on your kind words to the reception department, as well as all other staff here at the hotel. Also we are looking forward to welcoming you back to us soon in the future!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

I attended this hotel for a business meeting recently and have to say that I was very impressed. The hotel itself looks great and the staff were professional and very accommodating. We had lunch on the beautiful terrace. We were served by a blonde waitress who could not have been more helpful and the food was top quality. Treat yourself and give this hotel a try!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Villain365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Villain365,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on our hotel. It is always great to hear positive comments on the staff and services.
I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here and you were pleased with the food on the terrace. Due to the good weather this summer in Ireland, we are always taking full advantage of our location overlooking the River Shannon, to offer a more comfortable environment for the guests during their stay.
I will be sending on your kind words to all the staff at the hotel. And we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here last weekend and couldn't fault alot with the hotel apart from the heat in the room and there was no air conditioning.They really need to install air conditioning or fans on the ceiling.
The hotel is in a great location and the parking is free

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor as it may not be as warm
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel27334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Noel27334,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the parking services at the hotel and with our location. I regret to learn about the issue of heat in your room. We do provide fans for any guests who find the heat uncomfortable.
We hope to see you and welcome you again to the hotel in the future!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Radisson Blu in Athlone and were impressed with the facilities and the friendliness of the staff. The view from our room of the Shannon River was wonderful.
Directions to places of interest were readily available.

Room Tip: We did not use the spa facilities
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMH106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear JMH 106,

Thank you for taking the time to express your lovely comments on the Radisson Blu Athlone. It is always great to hear positive comments about the facilities and staff here at the hotel. Our location overlooking the River Shannon offers beautiful views to our guests and so I am glad you were impressed. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel recently, as it was birthday gift to my partner from his family. The voucher included a standard room, two cocktails and a platter. We were pleasantly surprised they upgraded the room without us asking, from a standard room to a Junior Suite. Great to have free WIFI and a late check out at 2pm.

However the check in process was slow, waiting five minutes. We return later to make an inquiry but left it as there a queue of people and we were in a hurry. Maybe management should consider cross training one of their bar staff with reception duties as there was to many bar staff on at that particular time when there were queues at reception.

Breakfast was included in the deal which was ideal and great value to the wallet. They had everything to suit all tastes from cereal to full Irish breakfast to fruit and salad.

The Junior Suite was clean and spacious with plenty of storage space. The mattress was perfect for a great night’s sleep.

Despite the suite is a room of contradictions. While the room had a Nespresso. machine, we had to asked for milk as they was none in the room. The television was was too small and had a limited number of channels. I would have expected movies on demand or a free movie channel or music station. The room was perfectly clean but there was lack of stock such as toilet paper and only one tissue in the tissue box beside the sick. There was a CD player but out of place in this fast digital world.

The hotel needs to upgrade this room for example to include a fridge and rearrange the number of cupboards around the TV area. The room should be check in detail before a guest arrives to ensure sufficient stock of goods like milk sachets.

Overall a nice room but would bargain when making a reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear b_hassett_dublin,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback here.
Firstly I regret to hear about the slow check-in process. I have already passed on your comments to the Front Office Manager and I will also personally look into the issue.

On the other hand, I am happy to hear that you were pleased with the breakfast in our restaurant, as well as your upgraded room.

I will also send on your recommendations regarding the facilities and maintenance in the room to the housekeeping department. Your comments are really important to us, as we are always looking to improve the service which we provide to our Guests.
We hope you will consider to coming back to us again in the future!

Kind Regrds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews