We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to the Midlands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
cork
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A trip to the Midlands”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great location in Athlone, fantastic view of the Shannon from the balcony off the bar and reception area. Had lovely meal on our first night in the restaurant. Pizza's from the bar menu on second evening not good quality and very tough. Lovely meal last night watching the setting sun from the outdoor balcony. Compliments to Sandra on reception, extremely helpful with suggestion of locations to visit and also to Hazel in the dining room. Reception and dining room staff were very friendly and helpful. Bar menu could do with improvement. Noisy neighbours on the room across the hall. Air con not wprking well - one room extremely warm and as windows cannot be opened for perfectly good safety reasons it proved necessary to request fan which did not really solve the problem. Would consider room with river view next visit

Room Tip: Would suggest rooms with view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear MF,

Thank you for expressing your findings on the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone.
It is great to hear you were impressed with the location and the decking area outside the bar, which is one of the best attributes at the hotel. We are always taking advantage of the location beside the Shannon River to provide a more comfortable environment to stay for the guests.
I regret to learn about the food quality in the bar and will pass on your comments and recommendations to the chefs in hope of making improvements. I understand that it was still warm in the last few days, and some rooms were in an uncomfortable temperature. I apologise for any inconvenience caused as a result of the heat and the noise in the rooms.
It is always a delight to hear good comments regarding on our staff. I will send on your kind words to Sandra and Hazel, as well as all the team at the hotel. I hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    524
    291
    115
    100
See reviews for
300
654
45
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in August. Location wise it is perfect, within walking distance of the town where there are some lovely restaurants.

Breakfast was buffet style and was v nice. Had dinner there on our second night, food absolutely gorgeous and quite reasonable.

Would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sustyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear sustyse,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your findings on the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. I am glad to know you were impressed with the central location, which is perfect for exploring Athlone town and I am glad you took advantage of this. It is also lovely to get positive feedbacks on the breakfast buffet and the dinner in our Elements Bistro. We are currently updating new restaurant menus and seeking feedback from the guests, therefore I am glad to know you enjoyed your meals as it is really important for us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights attending a wedding at the kirk on the far side of the river. Check in a bit slow but it was very busy, no recognition of Carlston Club, Breakfast excellent, staff very pleasant and the rooms are getting a makeover. Paul on reception Thursday night was excellent. He came to our rescue when we needed help, much appreciated. The bar is a bit souless and the Guiness is not good at all. Very good location and the staff are very friendly

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micra03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear micra03,

Firstly, I’d like to thank you sincerely for writing your review. It is always great to hear such good comments about our staff as we strive to ensure all our guests are treated with warmth and kindness. So I will be sending on your kind words to all the staff at the hotel, especially Paul.
It is lovely to know you were impressed with our location and you were happy with the breakfast buffet, while I regret to learn about the slow service in the reception and the quality of the Guinness in our bar. I will be sure to address it immediately to ensure that both issues are resolved.
I hope you will return to us in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I use the Radisson for numerous business meetings.

I find the hotel itself in very good condition with the reception staff alway friendly and helpful.

The bar needs to improve service levels the encourage more business use.

Avril in the bar is very friendly and always has a smile for her customers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Keith h,

Firstly I’d like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is a joy to work with you and it is always great to hear such positive comments regarding the staff and services here at Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. I will be passing on your recommendations to the whole team at the hotel, so that we could improve the service standards in the bar. Also, I will be sure to send on your kind comments to Avril. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Nice modern Hotel. Good location in centre of Athlone. Staff friendly. Rooms clean and tidy. Got two good nights sleep with no noise at all. Breakfast was very very good. Will go back again. Very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear K_J143,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am delighted to hear you were satisfied with your room and had an enjoyable stay at the hotel.
It is lovely to hear such kind comments regarding our location, room and the breakfast buffet, as well as our staff and services. I will be passing on your kind words to all the team here at the hotel. We are looking forward to your return in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmeath
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We are two adults and two toddlers looking for an afternoon snack. It was a beautiful day and we decided to eat here as we could sit outside and overlook the Shannon. I had to look for someone to give us menus and take our order. I ordered soup and potatoes for the toddlers, a standard enough request I would have thought. At first she didn't know what I meant and then told me they had no potatoes but she would check with the chef. Over 30 minutes later another server brought out half our food, she had to be asked where was the rest of our order. On tasting the toddlers soup and potatoes, I discovered that the potatoes were garlic potatoes. Seriously, how disgusting is that? I called over another server, called Avril, she was lovely and very helpful and horrified at what we had been served but said it was a regular occurrence and one of the girls was actually studying hotel management in college! God love the future of the hotel and service industry if that's what the future management is going to be like. My sandwich was just edible, bread was a bit hard and the tortilla chips was all the bits shook out from the end of the bag. I would never eat here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrainneDuffy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear GrainneDuffy,

I regret to hear that you were disappointed with experience in our bar.
We regularly receive very positive comments regarding our staff and so I am surprised and disappointed with your findings. I feel sorry to learn about the issues in relation to your lunch in our bar. I already passed on your comments to the managers and all the staff in the bar so we can make improvements in our food quality and service standards. Also I will share your kind words with Avril, I am sure that she would be delighted to hear your kind words of praise.
I hope you will consider returning to us again for a more pleasant experience. If you require any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Wouldn't recommend this spot, not only because of the reputation Athlone is receiving re the drug issues there, but because this place gives the appearance of dirty. Our bed was clean and appeared clean, but furniture, carpets and bathroom did not. The room was well appointed and view was pretty good, but I suspect there have been one too many hen parties in it. Bath tub is dangerous, too high and slippery. Glass wall is falling off. Toilet creaks like it will fall off when sat on. Drapes off pull cord. Bar/lounge area is filthy. Furniture stained++ Service is slow. Food usual. Desk staff pleasant and ?? "too alert"??? Parking lot ok. Breakfast staff indifferent and rude. Room is freezing when storming.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joyce333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Joyce333,

I regret to hear that you had such an unmemorable stay with us.
While I am happy to know that you were impressed with the view outside your room, and you were satisfied with the parking area, I am sorry to learn about the problems in the bathroom. I have passed on your comments to the housekeeping and maintenance team. I will be looking into the hygiene issues myself to ensure these issues are resolved as soon as possible. Also, I will share your recommendations to the bar manager to make sure that we will pay more attention to the hygiene standards.
It is a pity that we did not reach the standard as you expected. I definitely will be sending on your words to all the team at the hotel. We hope you will consider to coming back to us in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,848 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,017 reviews
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.6 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing