We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brest hotel for weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brest hotel for weekend break”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

No complaints whatsoever, rooms good size and modern furniture, bathroom also nice. Nice food at the restaurant and really yummie full Irish breakfast! Great comfort and food is everything that you need! Hotel also have a leisure facilities which is great to relax. Athlone is a lovely town for weekend away.

Room Tip: Top floor has nice view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear paulkab,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable weekend stay with us and that you were pleased with your bedroom our food quality.

I am also glad to hear such positive feedback about Synergy Leisure Club. Athlone is indeed a lovely town and we have been very lucky to see increased visitors each year. We hope to welcome you back to us in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    523
    291
    115
    100
See reviews for
300
652
45
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Terrific hotel right on the river. Clean and new. Excellent value. Breakfast was slightly above average but service was excellent. Very easy walk to Sean's Bar. I was very happy with the service and the property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazak9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear kazak,

Many thanks for telling us your findings on the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone.

I am delighted to hear your good comments regarding the service and the staff. It is great you had the opportunity to take a walk around Athlone and visit our local attractions, especially to drop into Sean’s Bar, which is one of the most popular attractions in Athlone. We hope to see you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Sinead Marron

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Just back from a two-night stay at the Radisson Blu (Athlone).

Great hotel and the staff were very friendly. I'd especially like to thank Avril Kiernan, who took care of us in the breakfast room. She was a lovely lady who made us feel so welcomed. Thank you to Avril and the rest of the staff at the Radisson Blu.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear liam h,

Many thanks for posting your reviews. It is great to know you had an enjoyable stay here at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I am glad to hear such positive comments regarding our staff. It is lovely to know that you were taken good care during breakfast. I will be sure to share your kind words to Avril, and the rest of staff at the hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great location in Athlone, fantastic view of the Shannon from the balcony off the bar and reception area. Had lovely meal on our first night in the restaurant. Pizza's from the bar menu on second evening not good quality and very tough. Lovely meal last night watching the setting sun from the outdoor balcony. Compliments to Sandra on reception, extremely helpful with suggestion of locations to visit and also to Hazel in the dining room. Reception and dining room staff were very friendly and helpful. Bar menu could do with improvement. Noisy neighbours on the room across the hall. Air con not wprking well - one room extremely warm and as windows cannot be opened for perfectly good safety reasons it proved necessary to request fan which did not really solve the problem. Would consider room with river view next visit

Room Tip: Would suggest rooms with view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear MF,

Thank you for expressing your findings on the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone.
It is great to hear you were impressed with the location and the decking area outside the bar, which is one of the best attributes at the hotel. We are always taking advantage of the location beside the Shannon River to provide a more comfortable environment to stay for the guests.
I regret to learn about the food quality in the bar and will pass on your comments and recommendations to the chefs in hope of making improvements. I understand that it was still warm in the last few days, and some rooms were in an uncomfortable temperature. I apologise for any inconvenience caused as a result of the heat and the noise in the rooms.
It is always a delight to hear good comments regarding on our staff. I will send on your kind words to Sandra and Hazel, as well as all the team at the hotel. I hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in August. Location wise it is perfect, within walking distance of the town where there are some lovely restaurants.

Breakfast was buffet style and was v nice. Had dinner there on our second night, food absolutely gorgeous and quite reasonable.

Would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sustyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear sustyse,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your findings on the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. I am glad to know you were impressed with the central location, which is perfect for exploring Athlone town and I am glad you took advantage of this. It is also lovely to get positive feedbacks on the breakfast buffet and the dinner in our Elements Bistro. We are currently updating new restaurant menus and seeking feedback from the guests, therefore I am glad to know you enjoyed your meals as it is really important for us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights attending a wedding at the kirk on the far side of the river. Check in a bit slow but it was very busy, no recognition of Carlston Club, Breakfast excellent, staff very pleasant and the rooms are getting a makeover. Paul on reception Thursday night was excellent. He came to our rescue when we needed help, much appreciated. The bar is a bit souless and the Guiness is not good at all. Very good location and the staff are very friendly

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micra03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear micra03,

Firstly, I’d like to thank you sincerely for writing your review. It is always great to hear such good comments about our staff as we strive to ensure all our guests are treated with warmth and kindness. So I will be sending on your kind words to all the staff at the hotel, especially Paul.
It is lovely to know you were impressed with our location and you were happy with the breakfast buffet, while I regret to learn about the slow service in the reception and the quality of the Guinness in our bar. I will be sure to address it immediately to ensure that both issues are resolved.
I hope you will return to us in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I use the Radisson for numerous business meetings.

I find the hotel itself in very good condition with the reception staff alway friendly and helpful.

The bar needs to improve service levels the encourage more business use.

Avril in the bar is very friendly and always has a smile for her customers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Keith h,

Firstly I’d like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is a joy to work with you and it is always great to hear such positive comments regarding the staff and services here at Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. I will be passing on your recommendations to the whole team at the hotel, so that we could improve the service standards in the bar. Also, I will be sure to send on your kind comments to Avril. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,846 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,015 reviews
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing