We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shannon View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Offaly
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Shannon View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed at The Radisson just before Christmas. Booked a Double but were allocated a Twin. We were a little disappointed but chose not to complain as it was a lovely room, spacious and beautiful view of the River Shannon, and Christmas lights of the town so we didn't want the hassle of moving.
The hotel room itself was comfortable, clean and modern decor with all the usual facilities, however the TV's are a bit outdated.
Bar was very quiet but still managed to forget to drop down the Pint ordered.
Overall we enjoyed our night away

Room Tip: choose a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Lorraine,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I am disappointed to hear that you were given the incorrect room. It is unfortunate that we were not aware of this as we would have been more than happy to rectify it. It is great to hear that you were impressed with your room and that you got to enjoy the beautiful views of the River Shannon. I will pass on your feedback to bar staff and we will strive to ensure that we deliver high quality customer service

We do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    484
    269
    105
    89
See reviews for
275
597
42
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a girls weekend away. We normally stay in another hotel in town. The staff were all very helpful and polite. But the bedrooms, bar and restaurant are a bit dated. They are a bit of a let down. I have stayed in other Radissons where decor was better and less run down. Location is very central.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moso06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Moso06,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I am disappointed to hear that our hotel was not of the standard you expected. We will shortly begin renovations to the hotel and hope that you will visit us again to see the changes.

We are very fortunate with our central location and I hope that you got the chance to enjoy the many attractions of Athlone town during your stay.

Kind regards,

Sinead Marron,
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed here midweek as i had business in the town as did a colleague of mine.The rooms were perfect.Check in was very efficient and fast.The breakfast was a buffet with all you could want.Parking is free if staying,we ate in the bar and food was of a high standard.All the staff were very friendly and accomadating,all in all good value.I would imagine it would be a very pleasant place to have a drink on a sunny day as there is a nice decking area beside the Shannon river and you can watch all the cruisers go by.Alas when i was there we got the first snowfall of the winter so ind=side we stayed.Did not get a chance to use leisure centre as i was on the road early and we stayed late in the bar.I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Tom B,

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay at our hotel. I will pass on your kind words to all members of staff. Hopefully on your next visit to the hotel you will get the chance to enjoy our terrace and visit Synergy Health and Leisure Club.

Kind regards,
Sinead Marron,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Enjoyed a lovely stay here over a weekend. Stayed in a business class room which are very nice - nespresso coffee machine in the room was the highlight. The room was clean and fresh. The breakfast each morning was lovely. The only downside was for such a modern room that the TV was like something you would find in the 80's!! Bad sound and picture quality. A nice flatscreen would have fitted in nicely!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ser R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear 90CatherineM,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your weekend here with us. We are soon to begin renovations to the hotel and I will pass your feedback on to our maintenance department. I hope that improvements will be made before your next visit to us.

Kind regards,

Sinead Marron,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed here two nights in July 2013. The room was a bit under-par for a Radisson, but good value for what we paid. There was quite a buzz about the place, with a barbeque on the sun deck, as the weather was unusually hot.

The drinks and food in the bar were reasonably priced, and all staff were pleasant and helpful.

The hotel really is ideally located in the centre of town and right on the river; when the weather is good, the sun deck is a great place to hang out with a drink - there's a very good view from here of the river, the cathedral and the bridge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmpBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear fmpBelfast,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I am glad to hear that you found our hotel good value and that you were impressed with our staff. I will pass your kind words on to all staff. It is great that you got to enjoy the views from our terrace during the wonderful weather. We look forward to you visiting us again.

Kind regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here for one night in September. It was a well earned rest for me and my sister. The hotel reception was spacious. Our room was lovely and we had a beautiful view of the Shannon from our window. We didn't have dinner in the hotel that night but we had a lovely breakfast the following morning, there was a great choice and the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: We asked specifically for a room with a view of the Shannon. It's worth it, beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairehill_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Clairehill_12

Many thanks for reviewing the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I am delighted that you and your sister had a enjoyable stay at our hotel. We are very fortunate with our location and fabulous views of the river Shannon.

I will pass on your kind words to all staff. We look forward to you staying with us in the future.

Kind regards,

Sinead Marron,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights October.Nice hotel fairly good location.Was on b+b and evening dinner package.Food was very good.Breakfast had good selection
of stuff breads, cereals etc. Gym and pool were of good quality also. All in all quite a nice hotel with good food and facilities.Only qualm found room a little small.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob2512Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Rob2512Dublin,

I appreciate you taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I am delighted to hear that your experience at our hotel was enjoyable. I will pass on kind words about our food to the chefs.

We look forward to you visiting us again.

Kind regards,

Sinead Marron,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.5 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing