We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overnight in the Radisson Blu, Athlone.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Hi, Stayed there on the 20th February. Only stayed one night but found the hotel and staff very pleasant. Room was a really good size and although we had not booked breakfast, there was the usual tea and coffee facilities which sufficed. The room was large and warm enough with a massive bed, I think it was two doubles locked together and was very comfortable. The view was not exactly hectic, over the swimming pool/ leisure facility whilst the rooms on the other side of the hotel had the expanse of the Shannon river. Did not use the spa but met a family equipped with towels who were looking forward to a dip in the pool and they seemed happy. A good central location from which to explore the town on foot. Yes, I will be back for a weekend next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OllieODublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi OllieODublin,

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay in our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you found the hotel and staff pleasant. We always pride ourselves on our ideal location for those who are coming to explore Athlone – its central location is a perfect starting point for those visiting Athlone.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back next time – and please do let us know that you were here before and we will do our best to provide you with a river view room.

Kind Regards,

Sinead Marron

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

I booked this hotel as a 4 star. Very disappointing dull,morbid hotel.
The rooms are very old fashioned, and need a lot of refurbishment.
The leisure centre is very dated, but has a warm pool, sauna and steam room.
Very friendly staff.
Food is good.
Lovely outside boardwalk for the summer time.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colm54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi Colm54321,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with us and we value your opinions. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not feel that we lived up to your expectations. Currently we are redecorating our bedrooms. In relation to our Synergy Health and Leisure Club we just recently renovated a new gym space allowing for new Keiser Bikes to be part of our gym as we always strive to offer our members and guests alike a varied and enjoyable leisure experience. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our swimming pool facilities.

I will be sure to take all your comments on board, and pass on your findings to all relevant departments.

We do hope that you will come back to visit us in the near future for a more positive experience.

Kind Regards,

Sinead Marron General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

On the second floor with my wife and toddler. I think Elvis and his band may be in the bathroom if I open the door. Some function on down stairs and I am thinking of getting back up out of bed to party. (Not!). Well it has me awake so I might as well update trip advisor. Wouldn't recommend this for a family stay. Don't want to ring reception to complain as that may kick of the wee fella. This wasn't the scenario I expected when I thought I was paying top dollar for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dano1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi Dano1973,

I am disappointed to hear that you did not have a good sleep when you stayed here with us last. Thank you for letting us know of your experience and I will pass on these comments to our Reservations Manager. We always look forward to welcoming families to our hotel and we hope that you will come back to us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sinead Marron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Radisson has been located in Athlone long time,. Been there for meetings a dozen times, first time actually stayed over. Very decent hotel in the middle of the town center. Clean and nice rooms, facing to Shannon or town. Good lunch menu.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDubliner_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi TheDubliner_Girl,

Many thanks for writing a review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear of all your positive experiences with meetings in our hotel and it is great to hear that you finally had the opportunity to stay with us. We pride ourselves on being located centrally in the heart of Athlone and on the banks of the River Shannon. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed lunch in our hotel – currently we are launching new menus in our hotel from our lunch buffet at €10 per person to our Combo Dining Menu.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in future.

Kindest Regards,

Sinead Marron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I gave my daughter and her partner a gift of a one night stay in the Raddisson Blu Hotel Athlone. They have a very young child so this was very exciting for them to get away on their own (I was babysitting). However my daughter said the bed had springs coming through the mattress and was very uncomfortable. They could not get a room with a view either. She will not be recommending this hotel to any of her family or friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brigette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Brigette O,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your daughter’s recent stay with us. I am very disappointed to hear that the bed your daughter stayed in was uncomfortable and I will pass this on to our accommodation manager. I regret to hear that you were unable to get a room with a river view – we try to ensure that all our guests are accommodated in every way we can and I am saddened to hear that they were unable to fulfill your daughter’s request for a river view. We are very fortunate to have a number of rooms which have a beautiful view of the River Shannon.

We do hope your daughter and her partner would consider returning to us in the near future for a more enjoyable experience.

Kindest Regards,

Sinead Marron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My husband & I stayed here the weekend of 7th & 8th Feb. My husband rang the hotel to organise flowers to my room as a surprise & they happily did this, my flowers were amazing. We had booked a meal in the restaurant & the host Agnes & waitress Katie were so attentive & kind, really approachable & made us feel extremely welcome & happy with our choice to eat in the restaurant. Food was delicious, could not fault it at all, and Katie & Agnes brought out a beautiful dessert with candles & sang happy birthday to me, making us feel very special. Room was wonderful & bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was also very tasty & plenty to choose from - and on the Sunday morning Katie was working the breakfast also & came out of her way to approach me to ask how the rest of my birthday weekend went - something that she did not need to do, but made a big impression on me - in my opinion Katie & Agnes need a payrise!!!
Overall our stay was fantastic from start to finish & I look forward to staying again!!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the river & it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinders81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Cinders81,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I hope you had a wonderful birthday weekend. I am overwhelmed with your fantastic comments about your stay. It is always great to receive such positive feedback from our guests. Our staff are very customer focused and strive to provide are warm, welcoming atmosphere in the hotel. I am delighted that your overall stay was fantastic and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our new menu in Elements Bistro. I will pass on your wonderful comments to all staff.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Sinead Marron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had a nice family stay. Breakfast was lovely and there was a good pool. The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance of everything. Room could do with a bit of TLC. Lovely restaurants in Athlone. Castle worth a visit

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank geagang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Geagang1,

I appreciate you taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got the time to use Synergy Health and Leisure Club. We are very fortunate with our central location along the banks of the River Shannon. It is great to know that you got the opportunity to experience some of the many attractions that Athlone has to offer.

We will soon begin renovations at the hotel and hope that you will visit us again to see the changes.

Kind regards,

Sinead Marron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,973 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,192 reviews
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.6 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £58 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing