We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous hotel, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Had my 40th party here with 35 friends and family. Staff were very helpful, rooms were lovely and the food was good. I would definitely return. The only issue we encountered was the bar set up for pre dinner drinks, the chairs were heavy and couldn't be moved so our group were all separated however a small price to pay for an amazing trip.

Room Tip: No noise in our room, we were on a suite facing the river just beautiful. Room had all mod cons and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Tina m,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay in our hotel. I am delighted to hear that our staff were helpful – we regularly receive feedback that they help to make our guests stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,728 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

i stayed here with my 3 kids under 6.
the room was clean,warm,and comfortable twin beds and an extra camp bed -which was actually comfortable.bathroom clean and decent size,.kids had a great time,.breakfast was excellent,great selection,even a pancake machine!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellparkgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi wellparkgrove,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the rooms in which you stayed – I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our housekeeping department. I am so happy that your children had a nice time. Our pancake machine is something which all guests enjoy when they stay here and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our Head Chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

spent only one night here but will def be going back. on arrival (which was one hour too early for checkin) the receptionist kindly told us that she would speed up the cleaning of our rooms to facilitate our early arrival. when we got into our room it did not let us down with all the mod cons you would expect in a hotel of this rating. that night we eat in the dining room and spent a great night in the lively bar. breakfast was as good as dinner had been the night before and all in all a great weekend was had by all.

Room Tip: just ask for a room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeiseBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi DeiseBabs,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back to visit us again soon. I am happy to hear that our staff were helpful and friendly and were able to accommodate your requests. I will certainly let our Head Chef know that you were happy with the food you had while you were here.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Kindest Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Good location in Athlone, with nice views to the river and port. The cons are the smell typical in the island hotel due to the carpets on the floor, that always smell bad after having been cleaned. The breakfast superb. Nice pub with great hamburguers on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Nice views to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabusito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi AntonioM7,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are so fortunate to be located on the Banks of the River Shannon which affords such beautiful views, especially at this time of the year. I will pass on your comments to our housekeeping staff. I am delighted that you enjoyed your food while you were here and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in a really spacious family room recently - the hotel were very helpful in organising an extra bed for younger child too. Bar staff very friendly and food great. Particularly impressed by Avril in the restaurant for breakfast who remembered us from a visit 6months earlier! She has a wonderful way with people, welcoming and very hospitable and helpful. The leisure facilities were brilliant also.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi j l,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that our staff was able to accommodate your request. I am also happy that you found our staff helpful and friendly. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to let them know that their high standards of customer service are appreciated. Avril is a valued member of staff who regularly receives such kind compliments from staff. I will let her know that she helped to make your stay more enjoyable. I will also be sure to pass on your feedback about the leisure facilities to our Synergy Health & Leisure Club manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few weeks ago with wife and kids. Was a problem with room when we arrived but was quickly fixed. Mark (i think) the manager on duty explained the problem and showed us to our room. (The problem was nothing much)He dealt with us very well and was a credit to the hotel. Family room was very nice and big. Breakfast was lovely and bar food was lovely and well presented. Bar staff were very friendly. Decking area on the river was lovely and would be great with better weather. Cant wait to return

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Noshea8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi Noshea8,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am pleased to hear that our manager Mark dealt with your problem quickly and in an efficient manner. I am delighted to read such kind words and to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, from the spacious family room you stayed in to the food at breakfast and in the bar. I will be sure to let our staff know that they helped to make your stay an enjoyable one.

Yes, our terrace is beautiful particularly in the summer months when we start to host our BBQs.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel while visiting family for a wedding. My husband is handicapped, so we needed an accessible room. The bathroom and shower was fine, but the bed was so hard! Barely slept at night. I kept waking up and knew something must be wrong. When I got up in the morning, I realized there was no mattress pad, just the bottom sheet! I wasn't sure this was the norm, because I am from the US and things are all around different there. We left for the day and thought housekeeping would notice. We came back late and only until I got into bed, did I realize it wasn't put on. I put towels on bed and tried to sleep. It was scratchy and uncomfortable. I asked around and everyone thought there should be one on the bed, but evidently, this place did not. Not sure why the bed was so hard though. Maybe they think a handicapped person needs a hard bed? Don't know anything about the restaurant, bar was nice for drinks. Never again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flgirl954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi Flgirl954,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am very disappointed to hear that you found the bed uncomfortable. I will personally look into this and ensure that it is investigated by housekeeping. We do hope that on your next visit to Ireland that you consider returning to us for a more enjoyable and comfortable stay.

Kindest Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,959 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,163 reviews
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.2 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £57 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing