We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“V disappointing...expected a lot better standards...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Cork Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“V disappointing...expected a lot better standards...”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I chose this hotel as, by reputation we know the Radisson chain to be good quality hotels and a good standard of accommodation...we particularly wanted a high standard of accommodation as we intended to treat a very dear friend as our guest who joined us from overseas..( English is not her first language ) we wanted everything to be special.and smooth for our two night stay...we also chose this hotel for it's perfect proximity to Athlone town centre and, last, but not least, when we read that parking was available at the hotel and free of charge this was also a most inportant factor in making our choice of accommodation... we came to this hotel with high expectations..

Sadly our expectations were not met...the car park was full on our arrival after a very long drive to reach Athlone..looking for a car space was most stressful and then we were advised later by reception staff that the car park also served as a public car park!! I appreciate that there was a wedding on the evening of our arrival but why advertise "free parking" as part of hotel facilities if the car park is also a public one and liable to be full from time to time? (weekends, of course. when most guests arrive a pure nightmare...!) Does that mean one takes "pot luck" parking at the hotel?? We were most tired and frustrated looking for a car space and we finally had to park on the street after at least a half an hour's futile search... not a very good start to our stay!!!

We checked into our room which was nothing special..only very adequate...maintenance needed re: furniture and I thought it lacked some little touches especially for a four star establishment ..I could, just for one example say that the TV was really old fashioned and dated..most hotels, even 3 star ones, have plasma screen TVs now.. we have stayed in other hotels with a lower star rating and been very pleased without any complaint and did not pay anything like what we paid for this room..

However the real problem started when our friend who was in a single room attempted to sleep and unfortunately her room was directly over the function room where a wedding reception was in full swing until 3am..she was extremely tired as had an exhausting journey to get to Athlone and she phoned reception twice to ask for help as she could not sleep one bit..she was told by reception staff member that although he was very sorry he could not do anything at all to help her..he said he couldn't stop the wedding!! ( very unprofessional indeed!) Our friend pointed out to the receptionist that she herself was a guest too and needed to be considered and helped.. I appreciate the hotel was most likely full on account of the wedding but this was not very customer service orientated in my view and this staff member made no effort or used any initiative in my view to help or appease our friend as this noise was most distressing..Our friend pointed out to this staff member also that in every room there is a message from the Radission Blu CEO stating that if guests are unhappy with any aspect of their stay they should tell any member of staff and the problem would be sorted and if not a money back guarantee....no, we are not looking for money...the message from the Radisson Blu CEO is self explanatory..it is in every room for all guests to see..

On a positive note and , to be fair, the next morning, our friend made a formal complaint at reception about her horrible noise experience and lack of help from reception and the receptionist Claudine, at least listened attentively, empathised and apologised and upgraded my friend to a "Junior Suite" with a lovely view of the Shannon and boats...my poor friend therefore had a decent night's sleep in a quiet comfortable room on the second night of our stay..

Other positives..I am trying to be as fair in my review as possible...Breakfast was fine...there was a good choice and we have no complaints at all on that score..also the location in Athlone was superb being so near the restaurant area and the castle and the view of the boats on the Shannon was a lovely sight from the hotel

What was such a pity also on check out the receptionist never asked if we enjoyed our day...this may seem a small point but I have travelled enough to suggest it is an important one..the check out was sadly purely functional without a smile..

I feel in summary this hotel has so much potential with a beautuful river scene and in an excellent location ...such a pity the above points have brought it down in our estimation ..

Unfortunately we will not be staying in this hotel again on a return trip to Athlone..too many hitches during our stay

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a QUIET room if you value your sleep especially if checking in at weekends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinolaCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi FinolaCorkIreland,

I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with detailed feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. I want to take this opportunity to assure you that all points you have brought to my attention will be followed-up and investigated into. We hope to make every guests stay enjoyable and it is deeply disappointing to learn that this was not so in your case.

In relation to our car park, this is for guests of the hotel only and is not open to the public as our receptionist unfortunately misinformed you. In relation to your experience of our reception staff, I will speak with our Front Office Manager about all the points you have outlined.

I am disappointed that your friend was unable to sleep during the night of your wedding. Unfortunately these weddings have been booked months, even years in advance, and it is the nature of weddings that they last into the early hours of the morning. I am pleased that when your friend did speak with Claudine she felt her complaint was heard and she was offered a complimentary upgrade.

As you have pointed out, our central location is ideal for exploring Athlone town and being located on the banks of the River Shannon affords such beautiful views. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast.

I am very disappointed to hear that you will choose to stay somewhere else next time. We do hope that you reconsider and return to us for a much more enjoyable experience.

Once again, thank your review.

Kindest Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    540
    299
    118
    101
See reviews for
312
675
46
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was travelling west and decided to use the hotel to break - the room was surprsisingly spacious - it was a oft room with lots of skylights which opened and had an amazing view of the river. I was too late to eat but had a glass of wine - staff were really nice an directed me to a place I could grab a bite. Breakfast was FABULOUS - the nicest I have experienced in this class of hotel - was I swayed by pancake maker? Perhaps but everything else was fresh, local for the most part and delicious... very happy stay!

Room Tip: As for a room on top floor for amazing views and an airy room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BACB122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi BACB122,

I am delighted to hear that you got the opportunity to stay with us here on the banks of the River Shannon while exploring the West of Ireland. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff helpful and I will be sure to let our Head Chef know that you enjoyed your breakfast.

We do hope that you will be able to make a trip here to us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had had a long day travelling by boat and car but the welcome in reception and at dinner was brilliant as indeed was the service over two days. This is a busy hotel but nothing was too much trouble and the ladies at breakfast and dinner were new found friends

Room Tip: I guess the rooms overlooking the river will give an excellent view, but the standard is good wherev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi Alexander G,

Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with our friendly staff and restaurant. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and hope you will be able to experience our Elements restaurant on your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.


Kindest Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It was a while ago now , but I had the misfortune to stay in this hotel when the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night and the place was evacuated.

To my horror, some of the fire exits were locked much to the panic of the 2 children I was with.

I complained at the time of my say and in writing afterwards.

While my complaint email was acknowledged, I never received a response or any indication that measures would be taken to prevent it happening in the future.
(I still have the emails)

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BarryDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi BarryDV,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. Regarding the issue with the fire exits, we will launch an internal investigation and should your claims be substantiated please be assured we will take serious action to address this.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.


Kindest Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

stayed for 3 nights at christmas 2013. hotel was lovely, clean and staff were so freindly and welcoming. christmas dinner was perfect relaxed athmosphere. 1st time spending christmas in a hotel in ireland and would recomend it to anyone. so good we have all booked in for this year already.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xserena88x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi xserena88x,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a relaxing Christmas break in our hotel. I will also pass on your compliments to our head chef as he will be delighted to hear that you had a pleasant meal during your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you have booked in again this year and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kindest Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

stayed here for a one night stay,location excellent just a short walk into town, rooms nice and clean and staff at check in friendly, plenty of parking.
The only thing can complain about lack of eating facilities (we stayed on a Sunday night main restaurant closed) there was a bar but very limited seating it was a bit chilly to sit outside.
Also breakfast was good plenty of choice the only thing that let it down was you had to get your toast from a toaster machine (3 star standard) as this is a four star hotel I think that the toast should be bought out to you as it is in most 4 star hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70beckyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi 70beckyboo,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with our friendly staff and parking facilities. I am disappointed that our restaurant was closed on Sunday night and hope you will get the chance to experience it in the near future.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast as we get a lot of positive feedback on its quality and variety. I will certainly pass on your feedback to our restaurant manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kindest Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,919 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,104 reviews
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
2.2 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing