We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Modern and comfortable”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Modern, clean and very comfortable room with large bed. Definitely a 4* feel with lit up bedhead and coffee pod machine. Lovely river view . Food ( we had both breakfast and evening meal), was good. Staff friendly and efficient. Had only booked for one night, but could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katesam247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi KateSam247,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our room was to your liking. I will pass on your compliments to our Head Chef as he will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal. I will also ensure our staff keep up the good work.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future, perhaps for a longer stay.

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    538
    298
    118
    101
See reviews for
311
673
46
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
louth
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Checked in to find problem with reservation, had booked us a junior suite instead if family suite, however it was resolved by reception team who were v helpful.

Pool staff very efficient & friendly

Breakfast staff were unfriendly and inefficient although food quality was good.

Room could benefit from some more plugs.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Honestguest-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Honestguest-7,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear there was a problem with your reservation upon arrival but I am also happy to hear that our reception team was able to sort this problem out for you.
I am delighted to hear that our Synergy Health & Leisure Club was to your liking and that the staff there were very efficient and friendly. I am disappointed to hear that you found our breakfast staff not up to the standard of the rest though. I will pass on this feedback to our restaurant manager and they will provide the necessary training to ensure better efficiency in future.

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

`Very central location,right in the heart of the town and overlooking the marina.Check in with a smile and good wit from an excellent staff member Claudine.We booked this hotel well in advance and were able to avail of a newly refurbished junior suite.Best inroom coffee making facilities we have come across..`Nespresso`..room was beautifully lit,modern tv,cd,etc..Queen sized bed and fab spotless bathroom.breakfast a little chaotic as bank holiday weekend,but good standard.Overall we thought this hotel has a lot to offer at a very fair price.

Room Tip: Room 327 is the refurbished junior suite,probably one of many
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi barryands,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to pass on compliments to the staff. We receive regular positive feedback on our staff and room facilities and I am happy to hear this was so in your case too.
Perhaps on your return you could experience our Element’s Bistro, which is currently offering it’s ‘Summer Saver Menu’ 3 course dinner for just €20 per person.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you for recommending us!

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Radisson Blu Athlone is similar to others in Ireland in decor which is of good standard. It is exactly as advertised. Stayed here on business trip / short break with friends and found it a very relaxing location. Staff are very friendly and helpful and loved the foreign staff who have picked up Irish mannerisms. Great breakfast and wonderful value quality evening meals in both bar and restaurant which made it all very relaxing. Lot of Irish families in the hotel, no doubt taking advantage of the competitive rates. Shall be back for a holiday to rediscover the area as it provides easy access to midlands locations and Galway only 40 mins on motorway. Also I never slept so well in a hotel so that is another plus.

Room Tip: Riverside view rooms take full advantage of the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi David O,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on the good feedback to our hotel staff and compliment our Head Chef on his breakfast and evening meals.
The local area around Athlone is the hidden gem of the midlands and would recommend exploring the historical sites and waterways.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice hotel, bar area and outdoor terrace overlooking the River. Staff polite, but could be more trained when things do not work correctly. Leisure area looking a bit tired, bits missing in the steam room, lockers that would not lock etc. Nice depth of pool, but a jucuzzi instead of poolside loungers would be a big improvement.
Bedrooms were bright and modern, but lack of A/Con meant very hot nights, and our room overlooked the dustbin area, where they were collected early each morning, not a nice wake up call.
Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice, and food in the bar area was good and also in the restaurant in an evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if possible away from the busy road and the dustbin area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T3482013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi T3482013,

Thank you for your recent feedback on our hotel. I am delighted to hear you found our hotel, bar area and outdoor terrace to your liking. I will pass on your comments to our Front office manager about more training for the staf
With regards to the leisure centre I am sorry you found it slightly dated. It was unfortunate your stay was during one of the warmer weeks of the year, which meant you had an uncomfortable night’s sleep. Our hotel is centrally located within walking distance from all local amenities and attractions and because of this central location we cannot guarantee every room our outstanding river views. We would be delighted to upgrade you to a river view room on your next visit if you would like to ask when you make your next reservation.
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed breakfast and dinner. Perhaps upon your return you could also experience our succulent Summer Barbeque out on our terrace.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you for recommending us!

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rennes, France
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a girls night out and booked the 'the crunchie it's Friday' deal online. With this deal you are supposed to get two crunchies (haha) and a 'starter plate' with two cocktails. We were a bit disappointed that we never actually received the crunchies and the starter plate turned out to be a small meal for one (awkward)! The food was not good! Cocktails were nice though.

They were the only negative aspects. Check-in was quick. Staff were friendly. Our room was beautiful! I was really impressed with the view overlooking the river too!

Location is what really made this hotel good. It's located right on the river and it's only a short walk to both sides of the town. I would stay here again but I wouldn't book the same deal. Maybe just b&b.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emerbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Emberc,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
I am disappointed to hear you never received your Crunchie bars and I will investigate in to why this was. I am also disappointed that our food was not to your liking as we strive to uphold the best possible standards with our cuisine. Our head chef will be informed right away.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room and our scenic views of the River Shannon and its surroundings. I will also be sure to pass on compliments to staff. Perhaps on your return you could experience our Element’s Bistro, which boasts the finest contemporary food with a mixture of Irish & European dishes.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The room decor is very modern, with excellent attention to detail & everything you need. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff in the hotel are fast, really friendly and seem to enjoy their work! With excellent value for July at €69 mid week room only rate, we decided to stay an extra night, and we were very glad we did. The restaurant is definitely worth a visit for a meal, fine dining and very attentive waitresses. Free parking in the hotel! I would really recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Shanogle,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with your bedroom and comfortable bed. I will be sure to inform the staff to keep up the good work and I will certainly pass on your compliments to our head chef and the restaurant team, Perhaps upon your return you could also experience our succulent Summer Barbeque out on our terrace.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you for recommending us!

Kind Regards,
Sinead Marron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,917 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
3.6 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing