We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed 10 June 2010

nice hotel in centre of athlone. convenient to shopping. lovely views of river shannon. nice helpful staff.
ate in the restaurant and on the terrace and would recommend highly. the food is fantastic - couldn't fault.
paid for an upgrade to business class. not worth the extra money. no air conditioning so very uncomfortable at night. We asked for a fan which didn't make a huge difference to the "stuffiness" of the room. window didn't open very far. pay tv didn't work.
lovely hotel, enjoyed the food and the location but don't feel its worthy of it's four stars.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 4 July 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay. It is great to hear so many positive comments about your stay.

The heat in the rooms is something we are aware of, and once a guest notifies us that they are uncomfortable we organise a fan for them immediately.

I do hope you have the opportunity to visit Athlone in the near future, if you do please book through myself and I will ensure that there is no doubt at all in your mind as to our worthiness of our four stars.

I look forward to welcoming you to the Radisson BLU Hotel Athlone in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards

Rónán O’Halloran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    534
    296
    117
    100
See reviews for
304
663
46
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Just back from a two night stay in Radisson Blu, Athlone. Can't wait to go back!! Fab hotel, great staff, esp Nicola on reception. A great help. We hadnt got a room with a view, but the terrace out back overlooking the river shannon is to die for. There was a swing group on the sunday, and with the sun shining, the terrace was the place to be. We ate in the restaurant our first night, and found the food and service excellent. The bar food is also great and service second to none. The rooms are spotless and well maintained, the only gripe is rooms are too warm!! the windows don't open much and no air conditioning. Otherwise it's a well placed hotel, with great service and excellent food.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 4 July 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and also brilliant to receive such positive comments about staff, I’ll be sure to pass these on.

I would like to apologise for any discomfort you felt with the rooms being warm, this is the one negative side affect of having the sun shining outside that it does warm up the rooms a bit, for some people.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Radisson BLU Hotel Athlone in the near future.

Kind Regards

Rónán O’Halloran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Myself, hubby and 2 year old little girl stayed for 2 nights in the Radisson Athlone in April. We have a small speed boat that we were hoping to spend time on over this particular weekend. Outside the hotel there are berts that can be rented out over night. starting from €15.
We booked our room with the hotel directly, the lady in reservations was so nice and helpful. We wanted a room with a view of the river and spacious for a little toddler to run around,
We were recommended and booked into room 111 , this is an amazing room. With a big hall as you walk in ( loads of room for the big buggy), big room with a king bed, huge bathroom with 2 sinks, sep shower and bath.
The high point of the room was the floor to celing window that overlooked the river. The sun filled the room, we spent alot more time in the room as it was so spacious and bright.
We didnt try out the hotel restraunt for dinner as we have a favourite Italian in Athlone that we like to go to " Di Bella". We highly recommend it.
Breakfast each morning had so much choice and food was great. The leisure centre pool was lovely too.
The next time we come to Athlone we will be staying in room 111 in the RAS.
Regards,
A very happy Portlaoise family.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 6 June 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your visit to the Radisson BLU Hotel Athlone.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you to Athlone in the near future.


Kind Regards
Ronan O’Halloran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We spent a weekend at the Radisson Hotel in the Athlone, the hotel was right in the centre of the town so handy for walking to the shops, We had both lunch and dinner in the hotel the food was excelent the service was outstanding one lady in the resturant (Avril) was so friendley and efficient nothing was two much bother for her she could run the place on her own and looked like she was,

Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank emer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 6 June 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments about your recent stay in the Radisson BLU Hotel Athlone.

It is great to receive such nice comments, especially about individual members of the team, I will be sure to pass on your compliments to Avril.

I do hope we have the pleasure of your company, again some time soon.

Kind Regards


Ronan O’Halloran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We recently spent a relaxing weekend in the Radisson, Athlone - the hotel was centrally located in Athlone and only a short 1 hour trip from Dublin. Both the hotel facilities and staff were excellent and ensured we were welcomed and enjoyed every aspect of our stay. I spent a lovely afternoon in the spa and found it first-rate. We ate in the hotel restaurant on one of the nights, there was a big choice on the menu, the wait staff were attentive and friendly and our meal was delicious. Overall, a lovely hotel and looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wkend_travel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 6 June 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, from your recent visit to our hotel.

As you mention in your review, we are very lucky here in Athlone, situated in the heart of Ireland, and not too long from any destination. With the new M6 fully open now, we are less than an hour from Dublin, and only 40 minutes from Galway.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson BLU Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Ronan O’Halloran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Our social club group had a most enjoyable evening last week after work with a barbecue - excellent choice of food served by friendly and courteous staff. We totally relaxed overlooking the river Shannon as the hours slipped by ! - thank you

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 6 June 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out, to provide us with your feedback from your recent visit.

When the sun comes out, our terrace is the perfect location overlooking the River Shannon to enjoy one of our Barbeques, or just to simply sip a cocktail.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Radisson BLU Hotel Athlone, in the near future.

Kind Regards


Rónán O’Halloran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co mayo
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2010

stayed in the radisson blu hotel in athlone for a hen party,greeted by friendly staff which were efficient and quick.there was a lovely atmosphere in the hotel,the rooms were clean and well kept.the food was gorgeous,the service i got was value for money,and i would highly rate this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoMayoMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 6 June 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments here on Tripadvisor.

It’s great to see that you enjoyed your stay so much.

With our central location here in Athlone, we belief we are ideal for any gathering, whether it be a conference, family reunion, or in your case a hen party.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Radisson BLU Athlone in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards


Rónán O’Halloran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,884 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,057 reviews
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Rezidor, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing