We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay somewere else...Badly needs renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Stay somewere else...Badly needs renovation”
Reviewed 14 July 2010

This hotel has only one positve...the location! If you are in a room overlooking the marina!! Otherwise this place badly needs an interior makeover, awful colour shcemes throughout, bar and restaurant furniture is well past its use by date. The room furniture is bizzare 80's style stuff...we were given a suite which was nice and big. Shame really as the location is excellent and this could be a great hotel. We won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 16 July 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay in our hotel.

I am disappointed to learn that you did not find your surroundings to be pleasant while you were here. As part of a hotel group, careful consideration must go into every piece of furniture and decoration to ensure it engenders the brand identity to our guests, and that there is a sense of familiarity for guests that use Radisson BLU Hotels regularly. Considering we just celebrated our 6th Birthday in May just gone by, I’m not entirely sure where the 80’s influence was coming from either.

On a positive note, I must thank you for your kind comments, about our location, which we believe is second to none in the Athlone area.

I do hope you will change your mind about returning, if you have the occasion to visit the Midlands again in the future, please book directly through myself and I will ensure you are well looked after.

Kind Regards

Rónán O’Halloran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    510
    286
    115
    96
See reviews for
288
640
45
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Lovely Hotel, staff friendly, right beside river, nice breakfast served till 11 at weekends. Rooms nice and clean. Perfect location right in middle of town. rates good value at moment approx € 75 a night for 2 B&B.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 16 July 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review online here on Tripadvisor.

It is great to see that we managed to meet and exceed your expectations on this occasion.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson BLU Hotel Athlone in the not so distant future.

Kind regards

Rónán O’Halloran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

the setting of the hotel on the Shannon is lovely and it is very convenient for the shops. we have stayed in this hotel several times and it is comfortable and predictable. the beds are comfortable and the rooms well appointed. it is worth asking for a view of the river and worth ringing to book as we were able to get a better price than via the internet and we wanted to book a family room which didn't seem to be possible via the net. the pool is good and the gym ok but basic.
the breakfasts are legendary in our family as there is so much variety and for young men with healthy appetites there is enough to keep them going for some hours . for the older members of the family there is not usually a need for lunch!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satisfied005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Stayed here last week and had an amazing holiday ever. We were on a 2 nights bed and breakfast package that also inculded an outstanding dinner in the Elements restaurant.
We had a super twin room that overlooked the river that ran through the town, they also have a marine!!! Check in and check out we very effective and all the services were explained to us will, with a map of the area given to us.
The manager, a red hair guy, we very nice and welcoming, took some time out to talk to us and to see how our stay, nice touch.
Dinner was excellent, top class from starters to dessert, and the service was second to none.
We have been travelling around Ireland for the last 2 weeks and we both found this hotel to be the best we have stayed in.
They seem to have everything wrapped up - good food, good drink -(lovely terrace to watch the sunset!!) great rooms, top quality staff...the list goes on.. Well done Radisson Athlone.
We will be back :)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaIguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

found this hotel to be in a great location. very central and lovely view.the room was small but nice except for the really old fashined big tv. found the staff really helpful really great. the only let down was the swimming pool.. the changing rooms were dirty and the pool itself same! my partner was afraid to use toilets in the mens area said it was filthy

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emo-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo2
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Went on a hen party in June with 24 others. We sat for the meal at 5pm and it was just delicious. The service was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful and not one person could find fault with anything. Bed, Breakfast and a 4 course meal for 82.50.
Fantastic value for money considering the very high standards of the meal, rooms and service.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Athlone was a total disappointment: a badly kept, dirty town with nothing to recommend it but the river Shannon!
Radisson Blu is a good hotel with excellent food and service. Rooms are a bid drab and uninteresting.
Excellent location was excellent overlooking the river.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 240fedora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing