We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice bar food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good location, nice bar food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Stayed for one night in July while on a hens party. Main point is that the hotel has a good location the town. Nice, modern building overlooking the river shannon.. We thought it was very warm in the bedrooms even with the windows open. The bar food was really lovely. Overall enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    499
    276
    110
    92
See reviews for
277
615
44
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

Myself and partner stayed here one night recently and I would most certianly return. The staff on reception were extremely helpful and friendly. The location is perfect, just a few minutes walk from the town centre and a wonderful terraced are overlooking the river and marino.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxedjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

Stayed at this hotel on business trip, travel very frequently and have to say it is probably one of the worst hotels I've stayed in. From check-in where the 'reception' was less than friendly or helpful, to the 'bijou' room - first time ever I was given single beds in a hotel, the bathroom was unbelievably small and I was glad that it was just an overnight visit, the iron (with tiny ironing board) had scorch mark on bottom which since the iron didn't work anyhow made little difference. Breakfast, even though we had it at 7.30am was cold! Coffee came in tiniest coffee pot ever and was weak and bitter, orange juice was unpalatable.

There was really nothing to entice me back to this hotel, room was poor, food was poor and staff equally poor (except for bar man named Paul).

Have stayed in other hotels in Athlone that are all much superior!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugs57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement33, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent visit to our hotel. It is obvious to me from reading your review that you have not received the typical customer experience that our guests receive, and you will see this yourself from other reviews on this website. For this I would firstly like to apologise.

Secondly I would like to invite you to book through myself directly, on your next visit to Athlone, so that we can showcase what our hotel has to offer.

Once again I would like to apologise for your visit not being of the standard that you expected when you made your booking, I would also like to thank you for your kind comments about Paul, which I will be sure to pass on.

If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the hotel.

Kind Regards

Rónán O’Halloran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

The hotel is very nice and modern with a pleasant bar area leading out onto a great outdoor terrace overlooking a marina on the River Shannon.

Positives:

- staff were extremely helpful and polite
- all our requests (for cot , fan, etc) dealt with very promptly
- great location
- good facilities

Negatives:

- room very hot
- room a little on the small side (especially as we needed a cot for our daughter)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaggers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Greeted with a smile and easily and quickly checked into this hotel. We booked a junior suite and were not disappointed. Our room was cheerful bright, clean and very comfortable. We had dual aspect views, both of the river and marina where lots of boats where moored up - I would guess to avail of the hotel and its facilities.

Breakfast was one of the best selections I have encountered, with the hot food - hot and the chilled food chilled - simple I know but not all hotels get this right. Dinner in the bar area was grand, nothing fancy but tasty and hot. The room brochure says it stops serving at 9.00 pm but it serves beyond this so I would suggest updating your info - as patrons may head off somewhere else thinking they are too late.

The pool and sauna were grand too - make sure if you want to bring your bathrobe down to the pool you make that clear as one staff member (bless him) thought we wanted to bring our wardrobes! But sure it gave us a good laugh. The staff were all very friendly and pleasant and the location was brilliant. Athlone is on the up with more shops and hotels each time we visit but it still feels compact and olde worlde too. Great centarl location for touring too - we had a lovely day in Galway.

Great stay and we would certainly go back again. Well done the Radisson Blu

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaffinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

Stayed here for a weekend. The location is excellent - right in the centre of Athlone. There is a good pool and sauna - with a lift going right to the door of the fitness studio. The breakfast is good - the usual hotel buffet but they will make you anything you want. The rooms are a good size too, and the staff helpful enough. No complaints. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alekito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Stayed here for 1 night on a hen party. The hotel is very central and you can walk everywhere from it. Over all I was very happy with my stay, staff very nice & helpful, food was great and good atmosphere in the hotel. We had a BBQ on the terrance & the food was delicious!

The only problem I had was the room was extremely warm, and there was no AC. But I asked in reception for a fan, and they quickly obliged and it was brought straight up to my room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cunga22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing