We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely little place”

La Cucina Di Angelo's
Ranked #6 of 102 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Cuisines: Irish, Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We provide, high quality traditional freshly made Italian dishes, with fresh local ingredients at an affordable price. We are a casual dining experience with top class family customer service. Try us and you decide, we know you wont be disappointed!! We are an Italian family of two sister and one brother with the knowledge and secrets form our ancestors in Italian cuisine. We look forward to meeting you and serving you.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely little place”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

If you're in Athlone and looking for a nice little place with good food, nice atmosphere and really tasty food then go here. Such a cute little place with little booths so nice and private for a date or a get together with friends. Great Italian tunes in the background, candles and lovely lighting.... You actually feel like you could be in Italy Staff are so nice and friendly. Then the food. I have been twice and the food was really good on both occasions. The menu is extensive with lots to choose from (not the best selection for vegetarians but they were more than happy to offer vegetarian versions of many of the meals so you just need to ask). Really interesting dishes and much better selection than your run of the mill Italian in Ireland. Plus the food is so reasonably priced. Starters 5-7 euro, mains approx 10-15 euros. Went with 3 friends who are all real foodies and we loved everything about it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eveam_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    55
    22
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really good restaurant...”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Great wee restaurant. Visited on a Wednesday night and there was warm and welcoming atmosphere. We particularly liked the booths, which gave us privacy without detracting from the relaxing atmosphere. Staff were great; very friendly and helpful with menu and service was top notch. All dishes ordered were good sized portions and great quality as well. Good value for money too; was surprised at price for the quality and amount we ate/drank. This was our first visit to Athlone and we thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DMcK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“over rated”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

cheap and cheerful restaurant .. some nice dishes.. had the piri piri chiken.. bit dry.. but tasty.. had the nachos to start which were very disappointing.. nachos and cheese.. no sour cream/salsa etc .. pasta had very fatty bacon bits in it.. reminded me of aldi lardons.. yuck.. service was very good .. helpful staff .. but food is certainly not up there to be the no 1 restaurant in athlone..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank aorbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Basic but good quality”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Great staff, basic menu but quality delivered. BYOD and staff got beer in! Had piri piri chicken which was good. Everyone agreed it was basic but good, number one in Athlone?
Hate to live in Athlone!!

Helpful?
7 Thank ArcfireSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food reasonably priced.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our first time in this restaurant on Friday last. It was lovely relaxing experience. Loved the booths. We got a lovely welcome from Felicity. Very helpful in explaining the various dishes on the menu. The food was delicious, freshly cooked and well presented. Great atmosphere. The nicest surprise of all was the cost. Less than €55 for two starters, two mains, half bottle of red and a glass of white wine. We will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank francesAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cucina Di Angelo's also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to La Cucina Di Angelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing