We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty friendly value”

La Cucina Di Angelo's
Ranked #6 of 100 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Cuisines: Irish, Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We provide, high quality traditional freshly made Italian dishes, with fresh local ingredients at an affordable price. We are a casual dining experience with top class family customer service. Try us and you decide, we know you wont be disappointed!! We are an Italian family of two sister and one brother with the knowledge and secrets form our ancestors in Italian cuisine. We look forward to meeting you and serving you.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty friendly value”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our waitress, Felicity, was smiling and extremely helpful. We kept costs down by bringing our own bottle of wine and chose an early bird offer of €16 for 2 courses. Starters of garlic mushrooms and nachos were very tasty. Mains of fajitas and spicy steak were good too. Dinner was washed down with a generous Sambuca digestíf. All in all this place is great value for good food with staff that charm, impress and make sure all the guests have a great evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank ConorOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    55
    22
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very satisfied yum yum”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here with my husband. Staff were very friendly and atmosphere was nice and relaxed. We really enjoyed our food. We had staters, main, dessert and coffee and we ate it all! Would have loved a little more choice on the menu.. but the food we ordered was delicious and was good value too!

Helpful?
8 Thank mhoc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I'd say I'll be one of many girls writing up reviews for DiAngelo's this week..........we descended on the place on Sunday and were treated so well by the staff and had such a fun time that we had to spread the word! what can I say? brilliant. that pretty much says it all! brilliant food. brilliant staff. brilliant decor. brilliant everything. if you want fresh ingredients, great taste and the best staff in ireland, this is where to go.............thank you for everything guys.......we had a wonderful time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous place!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We recently held a babyshower in La Cucina's and we honestly couldn't have asked for more - the family who own this restaurant genuinely couldn't do enough for us and the food was absolutely superb. 3 of us booked a table for the next night too!! The restaurant itself is beautifully decorated and everything is immaculately clean - the atmosphere was old style warm - like you had come home - and it really did feel as though we had wandered into rural Italy with all the tiny details.

We had booked the upstairs suite to begin with, making our way downstairs later on - and everything from the chandeliers on the staircases to the authentic Italian menu made this day really special for everyone involved. Felicity who served us on the night was just so lovely and helped us order from what we'd told her we liked the taste of - and she got it spot on! The fish was fresh and delicate, the side dishes just the right size - and none of us want to talk about just how much of that tiramasu we scoffed!!

5stars for this fantastic place and the wonderful team behind it - and a massive recommendation from us to anyone looking for a special night out - we're so glad we chose this place and will continue to come here everytime we visit Athlone.

Thank you so much everyone at La Cucina's - don't change a thing!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Babyshower2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good choice for celebrating”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I brought my Dad here to celebrate his 60th birthday, along with my 3 children. He was not impressed, for he is very hard to impress, but he was happy enough!!! Lovely interior, very cosy, tasteful and somehow artisan; and very friendly staff. We felt very much at home. Food was just what we expected (enough to say, my 10-year-old son ate the starter AND the main, leaving plates completely empty ;). Good, that here the menu is not a one-side traditional cuisine, but more of a fusion, so something for everyone. Loved the steak with sauce in separate glass! Familiar chilli prawns from Sam's shop, on the other hand, I often cook myself at home ;)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Justyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cucina Di Angelo's also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to La Cucina Di Angelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing