We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not what we thought it would be” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bastion B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bastion B&B
Ranked #9 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not what we thought it would be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here for one night in September 2013.... it was not what we thought it would be at all we had the Loft room which i might say was kind of unique but if i would have known about all the spiders i would have picked a different room... the breakfast was minimal and nothing was offered that was cooked i feel at 75 euros that is very steep location is good near some great pubs...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    27
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
40
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
limerick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean friendly place. Perfect location, near great pubs . Lots of cool decor to look at . Bed was clean and comfortable. Only problem is that the shower/toilet is downstairs ,but that was also very clean . Overall it was a pleasant stay . Would recommend to anyone .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night only, room a bodge-up of all sorts of materials, poor shower not working very well, mirror over sink not central, plenty of money at 70 euros, should be 40-50. Breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Inspect it thoroughly, (we didn't)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed in this b&b two nights this week and was really delighted with it. The décor is amazing, lots of quirky pieces and plants. The owner was really helpful and patient, and was kind to point out places to eat or go walking.

Great location too in the quaint left bank of the town. And even though I've been to Athlone for work many times, I never realised how lovely it is!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carolineann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Full of art and color, wonderfully decorated, comfortable and conveniently located. A really unusual, fun B&B. The loft room is fabulous, more like a suite; the main sleeping area has a double (or queen?) bed, and an adjoining area, up a few steps, has a single bed. The loft room has skylights in the room; a little balcony; an electric heater; no TV (or phone, that I recall). Perfect for a small family, with bathroom en suite. The owners were very helpful and friendly, super nice. Breakfast is breads, fruits, cheeses, cereals, yogurt, coffee or tea. The B&B is on the west side ("Left Bank") of Athlone, very near the castle, Sean's Pub, and Thai, Lebanese or Italian restaurants, among others. Great location. Great price. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The loft room is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justanothermember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This place is fantastic, the decor is worth visiting on its own. I loved it. The owners were really helpful regarding where to go, what to visit. Breakfast is continental. A buffet of cereal, cheeses, preserves, breads, etc.. All fresh and high quality.
The cleanliness of the place was second to none and the linen crisp fresh and white.
A friend and I shared the attic room which is split on two levels and has a great en suite shower room.
The eclectic decor is a fantastic mix which I found fascinating. Loads of random stuff put together beautifully.
Well done guys!

Room Tip: The attic room is spacious and nicely decorated away from the Main Street. It has a balcony which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Fareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We found this recommended in "Let's go Ireland", and were very happy with our selections. The building is old and the layout is a maze, but the room was clean and just what we needed. It was on the small side, but the lounge area was nice and comfy, so if you felt the walls closing in, there was a place to go. The location is in the heart of that side of the river. Several Nice restaurants in walking distance, as was Sean's Bar, as another reveiwer noted. The hosts were friendly and Helpful. Breakfast is continental style, but Tea or coffee was fixed to order and there was plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAtravelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.3 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.2 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.9 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion B&B

Property: Bastion B&B
Address: 4 Bastion Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bastion B&B - Award winning townhouse accommodation situated in the heart of Athlone's Left Bank area, close to the River Shannon and the 12th Century King Johns Castle. Surrounded by great restaurants and shops and just a stones throw from Seáns Bar - Ireland's Oldest Bar which is officially declared so in The Guiness Book of World Records! Consistently recommended! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Bastion B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Hotel Athlone
Bastion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing