We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time in the heart of the City”
Review of Bastion B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bastion B&B
Ranked #11 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun time in the heart of the City”
Reviewed 13 August 2007

This B&B is located at the bottom of the hill above a funky shop right in the middle of town. Parking can be a challenge. I paid 2 E to park for 2 hours whilst I got settled into the B&B. I later found a car park behind the building which was 2 E for the day Mon-Sun. Anthony was very agreeable and gave me a walking map of the town with lots of recommendations for food, walks, live music, etc. There are food choices minutes from the place - Thai, Italian and Irish - recommend Sean's Pub for a few pints!

My room was small (but it was for a single), very clean, great duvet. There was a heater in the room but I didn't need it. Newer shower, nice and warm, water pressure was ok. The place is a huge maze of rooms but has so much charm!. Breakfast was nice - lots of selections cheese, yogurt, bread, cereal, etc. Since the B&B is on a busy street, noise can be an issue if you stay there over a weekend.

  • Liked — Host
  • Disliked — Parking can be difficult
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    27
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
40
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2007

Served the purpose for our overnight on the way from Dublin to the west coast. Rooms and bath were spotless, located right in town for food and pubs. Breakfast was juice, coffee, and cereal, no hot food.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looper63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

The Bastion was convient, right in the center of town. But there was no Parking available except, in a pay lot around the corner. Because of its location, it was noisy. There was no traditional irish breakfast, only a do it yourself cold buffet of ceral and store bread. we had to even make our own coffee. Owner wasn't even onsite in case of problems. Choose another B&B if you are going to visit Athlone.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MickSyracuse_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2007

We liked the Bastion- it's quirky and quite different to most other B&Bs. Not for those with mobility problems though as there's steep stairs and awkward spaces. Our room was very clean and bright. We enjoyed the sitting area with all the old books and tea/coffee facilities and the breakfasts of muesli, yoghurts, fruit and great bread suited us very well.
It's a bit like staying in student digs but superior ones!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank Bellini6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2006

The Bastion is a great B&B in Athlone. We stayed in 5 different B&B's on our trip, this place was our favorite. Anthony, the host, was very nice and made us feel at home. We stayed in the attic room. The room was very unique and comfortable. The outdoor patio with table and chairs was a nice bonus. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Naz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2006

The Bastion is a great place to stay while in Athlone. Actually well worth a trip to Athlone just to stay here. Superb atmosphere, very friendly staff and an excellent breakfast buffet with loads of fresh fruit, bread etc. etc.
Our best recommendations!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kontiki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 September 2005

We're just back from a trip to Ireland where we went out of our way to stay in Athlone, on the strength of the glowing reviews of the Bastion B&B and the Left Bank restaurant. Both exceeded expectations. The Bastion B&B is a great example of an old building, sensitively renovated and creatively decorately. A far cry from the 1970's swirly carpets and bland bedrooms typical of so many B&Bs! The well-stocked kitchen, big sofas in the dining area and an excellent selection of books meant we could relax in comfort with very good coffee after a long drive. Small but spotlessly clean room & bathroom, comfortable bed with fresh white bedlinen and some nice old furniture. A congenial host and excellent breakfast buffet made it a memorable stay. We were only sorry that we didn't have time to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arch House B&B & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion B&B

Property: Bastion B&B
Address: 4 Bastion Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bastion B&B - Award winning townhouse accommodation situated in the heart of Athlone's Left Bank area, close to the River Shannon and the 12th Century King Johns Castle. Surrounded by great restaurants and shops and just a stones throw from Seáns Bar - Ireland's Oldest Bar which is officially declared so in The Guiness Book of World Records! Consistently recommended! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Bastion B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Bed And Breakfast
Bastion Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing