We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable and comfortable - without any hassle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Londonderry
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and comfortable - without any hassle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

There were mixed reviews to this accommodation and we were cautious of using it, as our stay would involve several nights.

We had booked on an offer - four nights for the price of three. This managed to bring the price down to a more suitable charge of €80 per night. We were expecting great things, as decent accommodation is hard to come by in Athlone. There was ample parking outside and the hotel offers a bar and a simple menu of bar snacks too. This is handy if you are in a rush or wish to invite non-residents for a drink or food. The accommodation is a ten minute walk, to the centre of town, although it is situated near an area of the town - The Batteries - which could be rough.

Our room was spacious and had a large bathroom with both a bath and shower. So the shower was over the bath not separate walk-in. The wash-hand basin was also very spacious and there was ample room for toiletries etc. I can see why some reviews have complained about the cleanliness of the lodge. Our bathroom had clearly been refurbished.

There were tea-coffee making facilities, which is something not pointed out on their website. This proved invaluable as the inclement weather often kept us in our room longer than expected. The bed was superking size - ultimately two singles fitted together ; but it was very comfortable and there were extra pillows in the wardrobe. The wardrobe was quite spacious and included some hangers. A pair of matching seats were provided in the room for relaxation. This meant when watching TV, we were not sitting on the bed the whole time. The room looked quite clean and was serviced daily. The staff on the reception desk were helpful and pleasant.

Breakfast did raise a couple of problems though. Thankfully it was served as late as 10am - which for most people is very appealing. For the first two mornings there was a buffet style for cereals and juice, whilst the cooked breakfast and toast and fresh tea-coffee was provided by table service. There were also croissants to die for! The breakfast was cooked well but the breakfast room seemed a bit dull and shabby - obviously next on the owners renovation list. The last two mornings/weekends, breakfast wasn’t served at all and as there seemed to be a party of tourists, the entire breakfast was served, shall we say, with a certain amount of chaos.

Our stay in Shamrock lodge was overall quite pleasant, and the wired broadband access for a laptop was very accommodating and worked without error. I should say that there is not wi-fi and a cable needs inserted from the wall to the laptop. This is quite acceptable but things like an iPad or iPhone will not work.

I would certainly like to return to this accommodation in the future. However, with a room normally costing over €100 per night, it is a little pricey. Lets hope there will be more three for two deals in the future.

Room Tip: try a downstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aravensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Director of Sales at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Hi Aravensis
Thank you for taking the time to put your kind review on tripadvisor.
Just a quick note on the breakfast room - We have reviewed the way a tour has breakfast served in the hotel and are glad to report we improved our service. We have tried many ways to be efficent & quick in serving breakfast to such large numbers!
We have had a meeting with our IT company only last week on the situation about the Ipad for the internet and hope to have it changed in the near future.
We would be delighted to have you return to the Shamrock Lodge ... Keep looking at our website for all the deals available!!
Regards

Deirdre Keegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    139
    58
    24
    29
See reviews for
117
168
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a short (3 day) stay in this hotel, and I must say we set out with some apprehension. We had completed our booking before looking up the reviews !

We need not have worried. All aspects of this hotel satisfied our needs and expectations. We do not normally stay in accommodation below 4 star and take about 3 or 4 hotel breaks a year as we are both retired.

We both cannot understand why this hotel has been given such negative reviews. Friendly, efficient, and competent staff. Great food. Reasonable prices. Clean comfortable rooms, and TLC from housekeeping staff

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandNorah49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
Hi

Thank you for your review of the Shamrock Lodge.

We are glad you went ahead with your booking. We also feel that the reviews depicted are unfair. As it is a public forum, sometimes negative reviews are out of our control.

We strive on a daily basis to ensure that everyones stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as yours.

We look forward to having you stay again in the future

Regards

Alan McCaul
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Stayed in the Shamrock Lodge for a long weekend recently... Found the staff more than efficient. Went above & beyond their call of duty. Food in the restaurant & bar was delicious & of very high standard. Grounds were beautiful. Bedrooms were very clean & beautifully decorated & spacious. The musical entertainment provided on both the Sat & Sun nite was superb. Got a magnificant deal for the weekend.Within walking distance of the shopping. All in all, We had a fantastic welcoming weekend.... Thanks to all the management & staff. Have already recommended the Shamrock Lodge to other friends & we'll defintely be returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dublincitygirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
Hi
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisorl
Im glad you enjoyed your stay at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel.
We looko forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Alan McCaul
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Got a great deal on our stay and whilst not 5 star really enjoyed our stay.
Negatives first, central to town but not nicest location and doesnt do Athlone and views of the Shannon justice. Having said that the grounds themselves are pleasent.
The hotel from outside is ok but they have made a good revamping inside and its much more impressive if some of the carpets are beginning to look a little worn.
Overall though all staff were extremely nice and helpful, room was nice, breakfast was very good and with the rates it offers very good value for money in the area

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judefella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
Hi,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel.
We here at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel pride ourselfs on our staff, food and atmosphere and we work hard to acheive this.
We appreciate your comments and certianly look forward to your return

Regards

Alan McCaul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipp
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Initially everything looked great, but I was assigned a smoking room which I did not ask for and it stank very badly of smoke which at various times of the day got stronger. Now at the same time my friend in another room was fine. Back to my room - the tap was leaking in the bathroom and the tv channels were just pathetic, breakfast was not great - very salty. We went down to the residents bar for a late bev. 2.00 am there was no one serving and the smell almost knocked us over, I can only describe as a dead animal smell, needles to say we decided against the drink. Staff were helpful and it was ok for the money I guess.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spratjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
Hi,
I am writing in response to your stay at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. I apologise we did not live up to your expectations.
We are required to have a percentage of our rooms as smoking rooms. We have non smoking rooms available. Can i first ask if you had contacted reception to be moved from a smoking room?
As regards to the tap leaking in the bedroom. We have a maintence person on our premisis at all times. Again, i would need to know if you contacted our front office to get this seen to?

In response to your comment about our TV listings. We have a variety of channels available in the hotel and a larger range in our bar area. I will personnally look into the situation to see if any were not available on the night in question.

The Shamrock Lodge prides itself in its service and indeed in our food. We are known locally for all functions and it is under very unusual circumstances that we would get a complaint about it. I can only apologise if you felt the breakfast was not up to standard.

As for the serving of drinks. There is a nite porter on duty at all night times. There is a bell to ring and a sign on the desk if any requirements are needed through the night. Also, it is stated in our room information that reception is available at all times by dialing "0" on your phone.

I have no explanation and have never been commented to about a smell anywhere in the hotel.



Regards

Alan McCaul
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

I'll start off with something positive, the hotel is in a lovely setting. That is the only positive thing I can say though. The hotel is very shabby and could do with a major facelift. Breakfast was tasteless and undercooked, this combined with the smell in the corridors made me nauseous. The second day the shower/water went in our apartment. Despite ringing reception on numerous occasions and being promised someone was coming, we has to wait over an hour and a half. We were then told it could not be fixed until 9am the following morning, at which time we would have checked out. There was barely enough water to wash our teeth. As we were going to a function, it was very inconvenient. Luckily some women in the apartment next door kindly let me use their shower. When I went to reception to ask to be facilitated to have a shower the following morning they were on the offensive, they told me it wasn't there fault and they had no spare rooms. I had no problem with this and tried to explain that all I wanted was to be able to have a shower and was more then happy to use a staff shower or a shower in a room with an early check out. They just could not understand that they had an obligation to provide facilities for paying guests. Eventually after much discussion, they saw my point of view. I felt they had absolutely no idea what customer service was or how to provide it. I could not recommend this hotel to anyone. It was the most stressful and unpleasant stay I've had in any hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zebeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
hi.

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online.
It is only through constructive critism like yours that we can improve our service.

I will start off by thanking you for your lovley comment about our setting. We take pride in our grounds & gardens and indeed in the hotel itself.

To respond to your other comments:
The hotel has had a major facelift just a few years back and we work hard to keep it to this standard. Im sorry if you felt that it was not what you were expecting.

Our receptionist on duty rang a plumber the day the water went and he was here within half an hour. I have checked this out myself. Some circumstances are out of our control. Our hotel was full that night and it was unfortunate that it was your room that there was a problem with the water in.
Having spoken to the people in question, you were given a shower the next morning, with no hesitation. There fore i disagree with your comment that our receptionist didnt help out in every way possible.
The staff facalities in the hotel are not always available for public use.

In relation to your comment about our corridors. Our house keeping staff clean corridors /lobby/ toilets and rooms on a daily basis. I have had no other complaint about this.

I would, however, reject any comments about our customer service. We pride ourselfs on our staff and will continue to do so.

I find it a pity that you felt your stay was stressful.
We work hard to make everyones stay with us as comfortable as possible and we take customer comments and feedback very serious & should you decide to return, you will see this.

Regards

Alan McCaul
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

We came - two friends from Australia, our daughter, our sons girlfriend, my wife and I, to watch the Under 20's rugby game - Ireland vs. England. We arrived on St Patricks Day. The hotel was packed and all staff very busy. We were welcomed, handled very efficently and ended up in the bar. Fantastic! Friday was spent walking around the very charming Athlone town and rsting pre- match. The game was great and we returned to the hotel to enjoy the evening - which we did. The rooms were very roomy and comfy, the food good and all round a great place for a short break.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186334Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Property: Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing