We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Wicklow, IE
Level Contributor
221 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“I will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Super room, staff excellent, good big bed and really quiet. Set in lovely grounds

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Sales & Marketing at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear Happy_ie

Thank you for your tripadvisor review!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shamrock Lodge

Dont forget to keep an eye on our website for the best deals!!

Regards

Deirdre Keegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    141
    61
    24
    28
See reviews for
121
169
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co Donegal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

I stayed for three nights. My room did not have broadband and it was no trouble to get changed. The staff were very helpful nothing was any trouble. The rate was also very good. Good size of a room and clean. The bar food was not to my taste but there are good places to eat in Athlone town which is a short drive. The hotel is quiet and has no leisure facilities.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelalot53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Director of Sales at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Hi Travelalot53
Thank you for your kind words about the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Keep an eye on our website for our best deals !!
Thanks

Deirdre Keegan
(sales & marketing)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

My family and I had a meal in the restaurant for a family celebration recently. We were absolutely appalled at the venue. On arrival we were seated at the back of an empty restaurant. The first thing we saw was a filthy carpet full of left over food which was disgusting. It took ages to get served and when we asked for a wine list, we were told that were out of stock and only had one wine to offer, which was pretty average.Then when our main course arrived one of the guests found a hair in her food. They did take it away but no apology was offered.The childrens food was low standard and over cooked.There was also a hair in one of the deserts but at this stage we just left it. Overall, it was a horrendous experience and very disappointing. We will not be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ros10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Director of Sales at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Hi Ros10_11
I have tried to contact you via tripadvisor and have got no reply.
We did have some new members of staff on in the evening in question, however this is no excuse for the fact that you felt this way.
The reason you were seated at the back of our restaurant (the conservatory area) is because a larger group were due to sit in the main area of the restaurant. We feel the back area is more suited to smaller groups and this is why you were allocated here.
We do have a wine list available on request and i will personally look into the fact that you didnt recieve it on this evening.
I am sorry for the fact you didnt get an apology when your meal was changed for you. We work hard and serve every individual with a high standard & of most importance as our returning guests are the largest part of our business.
I would like to ask if you contacted a manager on the evening in question as often these problems can be sorted out on the day.
Regards
Deirdre Keegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We decided to have a meal in the bar and thank goodness we left plenty of time as even though the bar wasnt busy it was painful to get served. We could have gotten over that if the food was good but it was awful for the price. The mixed grill main course was just thrown together and tasted awful and the kids waited nearly 40 mins for their food which was dry and tasteless.
Considering its nearly 14e on average each main you would expect a decent fresh meal. We ended up rushing as we had to be at the theatre for 8pm so I was not happy I didnt have time to call the manager.

Shocking service - overpriced and awful food - Never again and I have spread the word.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank AMBLESIDE71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Director of Sales at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Hi Ambleside71
I would like to start off by stating that we have tried to contact you via tripadvisor and have had no response to date.
I would like to sincerely apologise and assure you that this isnt normal practice of service for the Shamrock Lodge Hotel.
The cost of the menu is one of the cheapest in Athlone and we are in great competition to keep our prices as low as possible. We have many different offers on at the minute which are attached to the front of the bar menu. This takes down the cost and certianly does not average out each meal at 14e.
Having said this, i have mentioned your comments on the cooking (which each meal is cooked to order) and the cost of the food to each relevant department..
Under usual circumstances our comment cards/letters/other websites and indeed word of mouth are extremely positive and hope you return to see this.
Regards
Deirdre Keegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westmeath
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed here recently for a wedding. Can not fault this hotel. Staff were welcoming and friendly, ample parking, food was great and room was very comfortable. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pudsey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Director of Sales at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Hi Hollie2007
Thank you for your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Keep an eye on our website for all the best deals available!
Regards
Deirdre Keegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

There were mixed reviews to this accommodation and we were cautious of using it, as our stay would involve several nights.

We had booked on an offer - four nights for the price of three. This managed to bring the price down to a more suitable charge of €80 per night. We were expecting great things, as decent accommodation is hard to come by in Athlone. There was ample parking outside and the hotel offers a bar and a simple menu of bar snacks too. This is handy if you are in a rush or wish to invite non-residents for a drink or food. The accommodation is a ten minute walk, to the centre of town, although it is situated near an area of the town - The Batteries - which could be rough.

Our room was spacious and had a large bathroom with both a bath and shower. So the shower was over the bath not separate walk-in. The wash-hand basin was also very spacious and there was ample room for toiletries etc. I can see why some reviews have complained about the cleanliness of the lodge. Our bathroom had clearly been refurbished.

There were tea-coffee making facilities, which is something not pointed out on their website. This proved invaluable as the inclement weather often kept us in our room longer than expected. The bed was superking size - ultimately two singles fitted together ; but it was very comfortable and there were extra pillows in the wardrobe. The wardrobe was quite spacious and included some hangers. A pair of matching seats were provided in the room for relaxation. This meant when watching TV, we were not sitting on the bed the whole time. The room looked quite clean and was serviced daily. The staff on the reception desk were helpful and pleasant.

Breakfast did raise a couple of problems though. Thankfully it was served as late as 10am - which for most people is very appealing. For the first two mornings there was a buffet style for cereals and juice, whilst the cooked breakfast and toast and fresh tea-coffee was provided by table service. There were also croissants to die for! The breakfast was cooked well but the breakfast room seemed a bit dull and shabby - obviously next on the owners renovation list. The last two mornings/weekends, breakfast wasn’t served at all and as there seemed to be a party of tourists, the entire breakfast was served, shall we say, with a certain amount of chaos.

Our stay in Shamrock lodge was overall quite pleasant, and the wired broadband access for a laptop was very accommodating and worked without error. I should say that there is not wi-fi and a cable needs inserted from the wall to the laptop. This is quite acceptable but things like an iPad or iPhone will not work.

I would certainly like to return to this accommodation in the future. However, with a room normally costing over €100 per night, it is a little pricey. Lets hope there will be more three for two deals in the future.

Room Tip: try a downstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aravensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Director of Sales at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Hi Aravensis
Thank you for taking the time to put your kind review on tripadvisor.
Just a quick note on the breakfast room - We have reviewed the way a tour has breakfast served in the hotel and are glad to report we improved our service. We have tried many ways to be efficent & quick in serving breakfast to such large numbers!
We have had a meeting with our IT company only last week on the situation about the Ipad for the internet and hope to have it changed in the near future.
We would be delighted to have you return to the Shamrock Lodge ... Keep looking at our website for all the deals available!!
Regards

Deirdre Keegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a short (3 day) stay in this hotel, and I must say we set out with some apprehension. We had completed our booking before looking up the reviews !

We need not have worried. All aspects of this hotel satisfied our needs and expectations. We do not normally stay in accommodation below 4 star and take about 3 or 4 hotel breaks a year as we are both retired.

We both cannot understand why this hotel has been given such negative reviews. Friendly, efficient, and competent staff. Great food. Reasonable prices. Clean comfortable rooms, and TLC from housekeeping staff

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandNorah49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
Hi

Thank you for your review of the Shamrock Lodge.

We are glad you went ahead with your booking. We also feel that the reviews depicted are unfair. As it is a public forum, sometimes negative reviews are out of our control.

We strive on a daily basis to ensure that everyones stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as yours.

We look forward to having you stay again in the future

Regards

Alan McCaul
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Property: Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing