We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Dropped in here on our way back from the west of ireland looking for some food.lovely hotel great service and the bar food is the best i have had in a while.steak was fantastic and the children were well catered for, lovely friendly staff and will def be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westlouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Sales & Marketing at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

hi West louth

Thank you for your tripadvisor review!!

Since you were with us in august we have updated our barfood menu .(with steak still on it!!!!)

We look forward to hearing your comments when you call again!

Regards

Deirdre Keegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed three nights here for a huge family reunion. We booked a 2 bed apartment. While it was very comfortable, the kitchen facilities consisted of a kettle, microwave and fridge. No sink, crockery or cutlery so it was pretty impossible to prepare food for the family. That said, the event was a success and the staff were very helpful and charming. I don't think we'd go back as it was a little beyond our budget....which is why we needed kitchen facilities...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmotherof3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamrocklodgehotel, Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Good Morning
Thank you for your comments and we are glad your family reunion in our hotel was such a success however we are disappointed that you were unhappy with your 2 Bedroom suites.
Our hotel has 40 deluxe rooms and 12 - 2 Bedroom suites, but we do not have apartments/chalets/cottages or any self catering facilities on site and we are sorry you thought we had.
We have had a couple of family reunions in our hotel over the last few weeks and all of the organisers have come to view the rooms and were aware of exactly what their facilities were before they booked.
Our 2 Bedroom suites are ideal for a large group or family who are with us for a few nights as they have plenty space. I understand they maybe a little more expensive but this time of the year they are very popular and availability on them would be low.
We are glad you were happy with our hotel and staff and I will pass your kind words on, and if you would like to return please phone our reservations team and we will offer you and your family/group our very best rate.

Kindest Regards
Kathleen Shine
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Had our wedding here recently. The food is fantastic and was complemented on by all of the guests family and friends. The bar service is great and rooms are comfortable and relaxing. The loaction within the town means its within 10 mins walk to the town centre and 5 mins walk to the best resturants and bars in the town if you choose to leave the hotel.
Its an ideal location for children as its not on a main road

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brianknockdomney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Sales & Marketing at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

hi Brian Knockdomney

We appreciate you taking the time to write this reivew on tripadvisor.

We were delighted to part-take in your big day !!!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Deirdre Keegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Super room, staff excellent, good big bed and really quiet. Set in lovely grounds

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Sales & Marketing at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Dear Happy_ie

Thank you for your tripadvisor review!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shamrock Lodge

Dont forget to keep an eye on our website for the best deals!!

Regards

Deirdre Keegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I stayed for three nights. My room did not have broadband and it was no trouble to get changed. The staff were very helpful nothing was any trouble. The rate was also very good. Good size of a room and clean. The bar food was not to my taste but there are good places to eat in Athlone town which is a short drive. The hotel is quiet and has no leisure facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelalot53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Director of Sales at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Hi Travelalot53
Thank you for your kind words about the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Keep an eye on our website for our best deals !!
Thanks

Deirdre Keegan
(sales & marketing)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My family and I had a meal in the restaurant for a family celebration recently. We were absolutely appalled at the venue. On arrival we were seated at the back of an empty restaurant. The first thing we saw was a filthy carpet full of left over food which was disgusting. It took ages to get served and when we asked for a wine list, we were told that were out of stock and only had one wine to offer, which was pretty average.Then when our main course arrived one of the guests found a hair in her food. They did take it away but no apology was offered.The childrens food was low standard and over cooked.There was also a hair in one of the deserts but at this stage we just left it. Overall, it was a horrendous experience and very disappointing. We will not be coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ros10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Director of Sales at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Hi Ros10_11
I have tried to contact you via tripadvisor and have got no reply.
We did have some new members of staff on in the evening in question, however this is no excuse for the fact that you felt this way.
The reason you were seated at the back of our restaurant (the conservatory area) is because a larger group were due to sit in the main area of the restaurant. We feel the back area is more suited to smaller groups and this is why you were allocated here.
We do have a wine list available on request and i will personally look into the fact that you didnt recieve it on this evening.
I am sorry for the fact you didnt get an apology when your meal was changed for you. We work hard and serve every individual with a high standard & of most importance as our returning guests are the largest part of our business.
I would like to ask if you contacted a manager on the evening in question as often these problems can be sorted out on the day.
Regards
Deirdre Keegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We decided to have a meal in the bar and thank goodness we left plenty of time as even though the bar wasnt busy it was painful to get served. We could have gotten over that if the food was good but it was awful for the price. The mixed grill main course was just thrown together and tasted awful and the kids waited nearly 40 mins for their food which was dry and tasteless.
Considering its nearly 14e on average each main you would expect a decent fresh meal. We ended up rushing as we had to be at the theatre for 8pm so I was not happy I didnt have time to call the manager.

Shocking service - overpriced and awful food - Never again and I have spread the word.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
2  Thank AMBLESIDE71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Director of Sales at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Hi Ambleside71
I would like to start off by stating that we have tried to contact you via tripadvisor and have had no response to date.
I would like to sincerely apologise and assure you that this isnt normal practice of service for the Shamrock Lodge Hotel.
The cost of the menu is one of the cheapest in Athlone and we are in great competition to keep our prices as low as possible. We have many different offers on at the minute which are attached to the front of the bar menu. This takes down the cost and certianly does not average out each meal at 14e.
Having said this, i have mentioned your comments on the cooking (which each meal is cooked to order) and the cost of the food to each relevant department..
Under usual circumstances our comment cards/letters/other websites and indeed word of mouth are extremely positive and hope you return to see this.
Regards
Deirdre Keegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
955 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,203 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £42 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing