We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Clare
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not for us”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

From the moment we got to the entrance of the hotel i had my doubts, there was empty glasses and bottles left in the flower pots outside the hotel, people hung around the front door smoking and fag butts lay on the ground. The doors were covered in finger prints as were the windows.

On the up side the receptionist was friendly and directed us to our room however the corridor to our room was dirty, the walls were filthy, the carpet looked like it hadnt been hoovered and the smell was vile. We dropped our bags and heading to the town centre, we later came back to drop off the car and decided to have a drink in the bar. The girl behind the bar was friendly, along side us sat 2 families with their kids (from a conversation they had i noted they were not hotel residents) - it was like being at a kids birthday party, they had multi bags of tayto and sweets and there were throwing them at the kids - the kids were running around both inside and outside and even had a football to play with across the entramce to the hotel. They were 4 tones higher than everyone else in the place, and the foul mouthed language being used was disgraceful, with NO correction from the bar staff. I was just glad we had left our own child at home so as he wasnt subjected to that!! We swiftly gathered our stuff and headed back into town.

We arrived back later that night and decided to have a drink before bed, the girl in the bar (same as the one earlier) had no interest in us coming in it felt like we were delaying her going home - she never spoke to us and cleaned all around us - shoving and dragging chairs and tables and spraying the table tops with cleaner. I did not sample breakfast as that lingering smell I spoke about earlier was all over the hotel and was off turning. Also, there was one bath towel in our room despite it being a double room and both our names given at the time of booking. My husband checked us out - on check out the one thing i noticed was we were never asked how was our stay or if everything was ok!!!

To sum up We felt that this hotel had absolutely no idea what customer service was or how to provide it. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It was the most stressful and unpleasant stay we've had in any hotel - definetely more of a SHAMBLES than SHAMROCK!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Hi Jean.
I am very disapointed to read your comments about your stay here with us at the Shamrock lodge hotel. I appericate all comments both negative and positive and will be in contact to discuss your comments further.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    142
    61
    24
    29
See reviews for
123
174
6
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights over st. patrick's weekend. room was lovely and clean, big bed but was 2 singles and slept well, food was great in the bar and good in the restaurant. the staff were all very frindly and couldn't do enough when asked. bathroom was lovely and had a good shower. breakfast was great and as stated served till 11.
Staff were the best part of this weekend, as very informative and friendly. easy walk to town, and nice place for a weekend.
music in the bar was traditional and enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniek_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Hi Annike
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel . Your comments about our staff are much appericated. We pride ourselves on good customer service.We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundalk
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

great weekend break in this hotel, clean comfortable rooms and friendly helpful staff. Full marks for breakfast, served till 11.00am, also late checking out time, 4.00pm Sunday. Lots to do in Athlone, only 10mns walk away. All round great value, will visit again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Hi Mary
Thank you very much for your nice comments about the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

stayed here 4th of march a sunday was in athlone for a meeting my wife tagged along i stay in hotels all over ireland with work hotel was lovely rooms lovely staff brill and there to help had bar food the sunday night it was top notch for a hotel

Room Tip: try the pint of guinness and bar food
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Hi Wayne
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Seven members of my family had a great weekend at this hotel.Staff very friendly and helpful. Great value for money. Good selection at breakfast.Rooms very comfortable . Athlone town well worth a visit.Good music good craic. We will definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annamay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Hi Annamay
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us .We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Just back from a 2 night bed and breakfast break. Breakfast?? It was absolutely dreadful.Bacon must have been cooked the night before.Bar food not much better.Hotel could certainly do with a makeover. bar very depressing and dull, no atmosphere at all. Probably the wrong time of year to go but as we were given a gift of this we had to use it. I felt it was quite a bit away from the town. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmenharra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Hi Carmenharra
I am disapointed you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel.I appericate your comments and i will discuss your points internally.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leixlip, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here at the weekend and it was a lovely pleasant trip. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town even in heels. The food in the hotel was decliciious especially the chicken sharer platter. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. They are even posting on a necklace i left behind in my room.
I'll definatley be back in the future

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room that was a little noisy but that was due to other guests having their tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Hi Lilly
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Property: Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing