We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'No bodder'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Mayo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'No bodder'”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed in your hotel on friday last. Beautiful room except not enough pillows and bedside light not working. Rang reception and was told 'no bodder' BUT obviously it was too much 'bodder' as it was not rectified. Bar staff very friendly, breakfast beautiful shame about the pillows, no bodder!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    144
    63
    24
    29
See reviews for
127
176
6
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scottsdale
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

What a lovely hotel, excellent place to stay, good staff, it's a pity the food is so poor, enjoyed my stay .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Lovely hotel in a quiet location but very close to town center. Free parking a plus too. Room I had was fantastic, Huge room very well decorated and a big king size bed.. Bathroom lovely too and spotless. Cannot fault it in any way. We ate in the bar on both nights and the food was excellent, portions huge and very reasonably priced .Great selection on the menu too. Breakfast in the morning was lovely, great selection and staff were very pleasant and helpful. will definately stay here on my next visit to athlone. We were up for a workshop so 12 of us stayed here and got an excellent rate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chel_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
hi chel
Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Booked this hotel for a present for my husband's birthday, disappointed from the time we arrived, we were asked to pay for stay as we checked in, stayed at lots of hotels and have never been asked to pay on check in, the elderly lady was not plesent, she was not very forcoming with information about meal times, told us we did not need to book evening meals, went down on Sat for meal and were asked if we had a booking,

Food was disgracefull, could not eat my meal on both nights, Fri night i got roast beef, it was so tough i could not cut or chew it, not once were we asked if everything was ok. sat night i thought i will get chicken cant go wrong with that, the chicken was so dried up i could not cut it, so i decided i would pull it apart, the center of the chicken was coal black, thought i was going to be sick, the girl took it away and said she was very sorry, i got turkey and ham instead, but i could not eat anything nor could my husband after seeing the chicken, we were given €50 refund for our meals.

There was a very heavy smell in the hotel, our first room was terrible, it was all set out for weelchair, no cold water, no stopper, very small hand basin, one you could only wash your hands in, shower was for weelchair to, they should keep these rooms free for the people who need them, we had our room changed, thank god we got a much nicer room, i honestly dont think the check in lady liked us.

I would or could not recommend this hotel, thought we would never get home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinCollette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Hi Dublin Collette.
I am very disapointed that you did not enjoy your stay in the hotel.I will do an internal review of the issues that you have raised.We pride ourselves on good customer service and standards and i will take your comments very seriously.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway,Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

the staff were very nice from the time we arrived to leaving. When we got to hotel we had one extra member on our team this was not an issue with the hotel staff and they got a sofa bed moved into one room when we where out. Food nice and again the staff were happy to tell us some good places in athlone to head to. Breakfeast was great and would happly come back

Room Tip: get one of the apartments loads of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hughem7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Hi Hughem 7
Thank you very much for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

On reading some previous reviews of this hotel we booked an overnight in one of the
2 bedroom ground floor apartments suitable for 4 people. We decided to treat my Mum to an overnight away, being wheelchair dependent her carers need to be present at all times, so this was what we considered to be the best option at the time of our booking.
From our immediate arrival at Reception i senced things may not be what we were expecting !!
However we were checked in promptly by a lovely receptionist and proceeded to our room / apartment...
All i can say is it was far from Luxurious !! ....... The Blind on the kitchen window is stuck down and can not be raised up, The chairs that we were expected to sit on have coffee / tea and beer stains all over them, Although roomy the apartment needs a serious updating and freshning up, The problems are very evident to anyone on normal housekeeping duties, I cannont understand if these apartments are being monitored by Managment that they cant see the the furnishings need replacing or at minimum steam cleaning !! Some ground floor apartments with disabled facilities could be something worth considering if not already in existance ??
Bar food was o.k .... wouldnt brag about it but breakfast was good and plentyful.,
All staff members that we met were very pleasant, helpful and friendly, They were willing to assist without any hesitation no matter what.
Overall i would say the Staff made the visit bearable, but in general we were disaapointed with the apartments, Finding them shabby, dull and very cold, we left the heating on for several hours and went shopping in the hope of airing / heating the rooms. We believe if we had of stayed in the hotel itself all would have been much better.
I am very disappointed for my Mum more than ourselves and she doesnt get the night away option to often and we were looking forward to suprising her ...... Unfortunatley i think it was us that got the Suprise !!

Room Tip: Stay in Hotel rather than apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DELLAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Hi Dellao
I am very disapointed you and your family did not enjoy your stay with us. I will do a review internally on the issues you have pointed out. We will be in contact to discuss your stay futher.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
151 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We booked a dinner and breakfast package here and overall it was a good experience. The deal on the food was a great one but unfortunately it was amazingly loud overnight and we didn't have a good sleep. I think athlone might be a military town and that we some soldiers shipping out and they stayed here overnight for a big night out. Can't blame them but it was so loud we didn't get to sleep until around 3am.

Aside from that the room was large and the bathroom was nice. The free parking was a plus with us. However I booked a family room which I understood from the website to have a couch and a baloney. But I didn't recieve any even after asking the front desk. The room we did get was quite nice with many amenities.

The package we got included dinner and breakfast, both of which we really did enjoy. The dinner included a two course meal in bar. The steak would normally have been a supplement but the waiter didn't charge us. That was a great price. Dinner wouldn't have cost us 40 euro but for 99 euro we got dinner breakfast and the room! Great!

The breakfast was off menu and had a Buffett to choose from. Great presentation and great meal. Aside from the noise it was a good stay between the west coast and Dublin. The free wifi was great but could only be accessed near lobby on first floor.

Room Tip: See if there are any big groups there that night and try to stay away from them. Seems to be a big c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtsublueraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Hi Mtsublueraider
Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel. We hope you return to visit us again soon.
We apoligise about the noise you encountered that night and assure you this would not be a regular occurance.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,845 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
903 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,015 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Property: Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing