We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Athlone, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We had our wedding here on 2nd June. They couldn't do enough for us anything we asked for it was no problem at all. The function room was fabulous. Food was lovely and service was great also. The bridal suit was very nice and comfortable not that we were in there for long. All the guests that stayed said same. Price per head for meal is also good. No hidden costs at all price you see is price you pay. We were made feel very relaxed for our big day. I highly recommend this hotel for a wedding or any function or just a break away. Its close to the town but not in the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magoo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    155
    67
    24
    30
See reviews for
137
186
6
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I was meeting a very good girlfriend for an overnight stay and dinner, athlone being the halfway point for both of us. We found the shamrock lodge price to be very reasonable and wanted somewhere with 2 seperate bedrooms so we could get a good nights sleep. So we booked into their 2 bed apt. Upon driving in I was a bit nervous the place is very rundown, the reception had a funny smell and I had to pay upfront for the room, before even seeing it? I was glad not to stay in the hotel but the apt was clean and big so I would recommend those. Breakfast was very slow as we asked for eggs cooked too order - we waited at least 40 mins, they were fine. Overall the stay was ok but it just has a bit of a "low-rent" feel about the place and I didn't feel very safe there.

Room Tip: stay in the apts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbriody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Reservation staff were not very helpful. Told us there was no availability but when we checked online there was & had to inform her of the hotel's availability. Also was not very polite when we requested a quiet room. Once we arrived, the checkin was fine & the apartment was clean & comfortable, great for a weekend stay. However, although there was a microwave & fridge, there was no cutlery, crokery or glasses. Nice rooms, slept well & all that. Would return next time we're in the area

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The first room that we were offered contained dirty (badly stained) upholstered chairs and a terrible view of the alley and adjoining roof strewn with antenna wires! Ugh! After seeing that, I was a little reluctant to take another room, but we were so tired that we gave in. Never felt truly comfortable with the cleanliness here. Sorry to say, but I don't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Check the room carefully before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyBoomerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

very clean and the staff were very friendly. stayed there during the week very relaxing

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gamblesir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed in your hotel on friday last. Beautiful room except not enough pillows and bedside light not working. Rang reception and was told 'no bodder' BUT obviously it was too much 'bodder' as it was not rectified. Bar staff very friendly, breakfast beautiful shame about the pillows, no bodder!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottsdale
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

What a lovely hotel, excellent place to stay, good staff, it's a pity the food is so poor, enjoyed my stay .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
932 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Property: Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing