We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I recently booked a 'day long' meeting room for 13 of my company managers for a quarterly training day(Friday Aug 31st). We booked the obligatory welcome tea/coffee and scones that were served under a staircase in the foyer. The meeting room was poorly prepared and cold with an extremely noisey airconditioning unit.
The advised lunch-time break was a complete joke with the lunch 45 mins late (preparations were not even started at the lunch time designated) which put our schedule back disruptively.
On top of all this when questioned, come payment time, the manager was rudely dismissive.
As a meeting venue.. to be avoided.!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

Extremely Friendly and Helpful. From reception to house keeping, couldnt do enough for us. Breakfast was tasty and freshly cooked to ordered not dried up buffet style food. Only draw back was the coffee burnt and undrinkable. But not a big issue as overall service and care and attention to detail prevailed. Would recommend to anyone for midweek or family deals. Got the family package with 2 nights B&B and 1 evening meal plus a Viking river boat cruise for €218. Great offer. Ended up staying an additional night for €50 room only. Cant go wrong with that. Overall Lovely experience hope to do it again sometime soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shawshank34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel is lovely, with a good location within the area! On arrival the receptionist was lovely! Very friendly! We were directed to our room which was nice! We ate in the bar that evening, food was beautiful, portion sizes were huge! And I refused to leave any behind! Breakfast didn't disappoint either. Service was good and nothing could have been faulted! We had an enjoyable stay here! It is suitable for all ages and group sizes. A lot of young families around! Children were very well behaved!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FermanaghGirl1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Situated less than a 10 minute walk from Athlone town centre the Shamrock Lodge Hotel is situated on nice , well kept grounds . Our room was spacious and clean . A 4 course evening meal was included in our deal and was very tasty and filling . We had their carvery lunch the day after which was also very nice - plenty of choice and reasonably priced . Both nights of our stay (Saturday and Sunday) the public bar had live music which , on the whole , was mostly enjoyable - depending on your taste .
Finally , we found any of the staff we dealt with very efficient , polite and helpful.
PS - This hotel has regular special offers - worth keeping a look out for them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corky_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here for the weekend on 20th July. Had a great weekend. The room were spacious and very clean. Breakfast was good, bar food was good but dinner was ok. The staff were very friendly and more than helpful, it is so nice to have a receptionist that will actually make time to chat with you.
We had a lovely weekend and will definitely be returning. Thank you to all at the Shamrock.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidwhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here for 1 night mid week in July. The hotels staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel room was spotless and i assume newly decorated. The bar food was fine and the breakfast was equally delicious. The only problem was the tables in the breakfast room were long and set for a group of people to sit at. So all of the tables were taken up by couples or individuals. There was four of us and we didn't fancy sharing a table with complete strangers. We had to wait a while before a member of staff appeared.(This seems to be another small hiccup with staffing. Expect to wait awhile for someone to see you at the reception desk or in the breakfast room). Eventually she opened the other restaurant for us to sit in. If the hotel staff are reading this. Just sort out the seating/table settings in the breakfast room. Just set up a few small tables for couples and loners. If I wanted to socialize with the other guests it definetly wouldn't be at breakfast! I would have given this full marks but just those little things bug me so much.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaoirseKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
955 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,204 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £41 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing