We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walked Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had reserved 2 rooms, 2 adults in each, on arrival told bit of a mix up, they thought we had cancelled one of the rooms and therefore they did not have the rooms we booked. We were offered a 2 bed apartment and told that this was an upgrade at no additional cost. We went to the apartment, it wasnt ready, the beds were not made the shower was filthy and the place stank. Went back to reception, they apologised and offered us the apartment next door, we left our luggage there because we were not optimistic. When we got to the 2nd apartment the cleaner was on her way out armed with a tin of air freshener. The beds were half made, once again the shower was dirty and smelly, we lifted the cushions on the sofa and discovered stains and crisps. We are in our fifties and well travelled, we have never, ever, walked out of a hotel before, but we do expect a certain standard of cleanliness, the girl at reception was very friendly and professional and asked us to reconsider, but she could not provide us the 2 rooms we had booked.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Hi Jack
We are very sorry that you encountered these issues at the hotel. I have dealth with these issues internally and would hope that you may return to us in the future.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

My wedding reception was held in the Shamrock Lodge on 25th August this year. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the function room looked beautiful. The food was beyond reproach (people are still talking about how nice it was). The prices were very reasonable and i was pleased when we checked out to find no surprises on the bill. I would highly recommend the Shamrock Lodge to people who are looking for a nice hotel to hold their wedding, the grounds are very pretty and we got some nice photographs in the garden (luckily the sun was shining on our day)! Overall a lovely hotel with pleasant friendly management and staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Hi bmboc
Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel. We are delighted you had a great day. We were delighted to host your wedding.We wish you both the very best for the future.
Kind Regards
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

As I have posted previously I tend to stay in small Irish family-owned quality hotels rather than in one of the multinational chains. They are sometimes rather quirky and the genuine welcome of the local owners is something I like. The Shamrock Lodge Hotel does not fit into this category. Having stayed there for two nights recently I do not have a complaint. The staff were friendly and efficient. The room was nice. The breakfast could have been better. The price was €120 for two nights bed and breakfast for two. This is an unbelievably low price for this type of hotel and any criticism one might have, has to be set against this remarkable value. I was on a business trip and for that purpose it was good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrigaholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Hi Carrigaholt
Thank you very much for your comments on the Hotel. Your feedback is great for us to receive. Just in relation to the family run aspect of your comment. This Hotel prides itself on the family personal touch and for the past twenty years this has been the most important factor in the management of the hotel. If you experienced something different to this i would like to discuss this further with you.
Kind Regards
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Very disappointed in the professionalism of this Hotel as a business meeting venue.
We were a company training day event with a dozen or so of our Country Managers for business discussions and a light lunch.
The welcome tea and coffee was not ready on time, the meeting room was not satisfactorily set up and the lunch break was completely overlooked by the staff to the point we were nearly 40-50mins waiting to be served.
On top of all this, the Manager on the day brashly dismissed any complaint and defended his staff.
Just not good enough is an understatement. I imagine the owners would be horrified.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Hi Keith
Thank you very much for your comments. I have dealt with these issues internally and have been in contact with your colleague John.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I recently booked a 'day long' meeting room for 13 of my company managers for a quarterly training day(Friday Aug 31st). We booked the obligatory welcome tea/coffee and scones that were served under a staircase in the foyer. The meeting room was poorly prepared and cold with an extremely noisey airconditioning unit.
The advised lunch-time break was a complete joke with the lunch 45 mins late (preparations were not even started at the lunch time designated) which put our schedule back disruptively.
On top of all this when questioned, come payment time, the manager was rudely dismissive.
As a meeting venue.. to be avoided.!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

Extremely Friendly and Helpful. From reception to house keeping, couldnt do enough for us. Breakfast was tasty and freshly cooked to ordered not dried up buffet style food. Only draw back was the coffee burnt and undrinkable. But not a big issue as overall service and care and attention to detail prevailed. Would recommend to anyone for midweek or family deals. Got the family package with 2 nights B&B and 1 evening meal plus a Viking river boat cruise for €218. Great offer. Ended up staying an additional night for €50 room only. Cant go wrong with that. Overall Lovely experience hope to do it again sometime soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shawshank34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel is lovely, with a good location within the area! On arrival the receptionist was lovely! Very friendly! We were directed to our room which was nice! We ate in the bar that evening, food was beautiful, portion sizes were huge! And I refused to leave any behind! Breakfast didn't disappoint either. Service was good and nothing could have been faulted! We had an enjoyable stay here! It is suitable for all ages and group sizes. A lot of young families around! Children were very well behaved!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FermanaghGirl1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
955 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,204 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £42 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing