We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow.Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Had a very brief trip to this hotel in November to visit a relative nearby and my wife and I just loved the place. Lovely room which was a good size, well appointed and spotless. Dinner in the restaurant was good value and maybe a tad old fashioned was very enjoyable with great friendly service and got very busy as we started our main course. A manager appeared and immediately other staff were re-directed from the bar and all went smoothly. Which was typical of this hotel as management were evident at all times. This to us is a very good sign of a hotel and directions were givnen quitely and politely to staff. This is a happy place which takes its clients care at a premium.
We asked for a quiet room as when booking we were informed as it was Friday there was a function in the hotel. To be honest there was some noise from music at this function but it packed up reasonably early and was not too much bother.
Breakfast was a feast with everything one might ask for and plenty of it including smoked salmon. All served seamlessly and again despite it being November the place was full.
Very good value for money and just off the hustle and bustle of Athlone.
Lots to do in Athlone with great shopping so this is a great place for a break. Lovely pint in the bar and as I wandered down alone a young barman asked if I would like a newspaper...nice touch.
One small gripe is that about 8.30 in the morning we were awakened by music and discoverd later that the public music system had a speaker in the corridor just outside our room. Why would anybody put hotel background music in the area adjacent to bedrooms??? So no lie in for us unfortunately. We did mention this as we checked out.
Despite this we will definitly go back and we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomMonaghan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    155
    67
    24
    30
See reviews for
137
186
6
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Just back from a two night break away at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. The exterior of the hotel is dated and isn't much to look at but the interior is much more modern. The rooms are nicely decorated, clean and spacious. My only complaint is that we found the room and restaurant a little cold. There was one small radiator in our room but it didn't through out much heat and there was no way to adjust the temperature. On a positive note, the staff are very friendly and are wiling to meet any requests that you may have and it is within walking distance to Athlone Centre and Athlone Castle.

As for Athlone itself, it is full of pubs, restaurants/fast food eateries and has two main shopping centres.., so two nights/three days was more than enough down there as we are not heavy drinkers and not big shoppers (one day at the shops is more than enough for me!). Also, we feel like we haven't stopped eating and drinkers since Christmas so we feel a diet/detox is in order.

Room Tip: Select non-smoking as I could smell a lot of smoke in the hallway as I walked to my room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I stayed here as part of a group of five for a christmas party night. The overall experience was very good. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The food and entertainment at the party night was very good and we had a very enjoyable night.
On the second night we had a meal in the bar and while the menu offered a standard selection, the food was excellent and very tasty. Breakfast, which was very good, was the usual selection of cerels, fruit, eggs and cooked irish breakfast.
The hotel is situated about 10 minutes walk from the town centre. If arriving by train, a taxi is a necessity as the station is quite a distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann6273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Just back from a night away in shamrock lodge hotel, we had a great stay, from the excellent and friendly staff, lovely dinner and fab breakfast,best tasing rashers and sausages I have ever had in a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

From start to finish this hotel delivers, we were upgraded to an apartment as the hotel seemed to have party on and they didn't want us disturbed which I thought was a nice touch. We had two bedroom apartment , very spacious , cannot fault it at all .
The food in the restaurant although a little basic was very tasty and wholesome and once again the staff could not do enough for us. Top marks for everything , from check in to check out. A big thanks to management and staff for making our stay very enjoyable , relaxing and special .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YOLANNA-TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Booked a two night Mid Term break in The Shamrock Lodge in Athlone and could not rate this experience highly enough. The accommodation was excellent and to a very high standard. We had breakfast and two evening meals which were the equivalent of a five star restaurant. The staff and management could not have been any more attentive or helpful. Will revisit for more of the same.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 900Joey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Hi Joey
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Very good experience in this hotel which has marvellous bedrooms. It is just a 5 to 10 minute stroll to Athlone town and the staff are very friendly. Nice location and no complaints about the substantial breakfast. Read some reviews before we went and thankfully they did not apply. Overall good experience and great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Hi Brendan
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
931 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Property: Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing