We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Bundoran, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just spent a lovely 3 days here. Staff very friendly and efficient. Rooms were very comfortable and well serviced, good food and nice pleasant bar. The whole staff were very friendly and very efficient. It is also well located. 10 out of 10 from myself and my wife. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidwhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    141
    61
    24
    28
See reviews for
121
169
5
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I cannot understand good reviews here. This hotel was horribly dated and dirty. Can't fault staff but our room was atrocious. 2 of lamps didn't work, toilet seat was broken , mould all over shower , curtains and blinds all manky. All of furniture was worn , dirty and full of dust. Honestly I could keep going. Then went for dinner . Worst I've ever eaten. It was brutal. Our party of 4 all ate nothing. Tasteless mash probably smash , chicken was probably cooked last week. Id be embarrassed to serve it. Everyone in the restaurant agreed. Appalling.. Never ever again. Our friends room was just as bad. We ended up having to eat down town... Avoid this place at all costs

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank sekon2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Good Afternoon
In relation to the issues that you had during your recent stay ,as you see from our other reviews this has come as quite a suprise to us,however I value all feedback both positive and negative. if you would like to contact me directly at the hotel . i would like to discuss this in further with you.
Thanks
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

It is a lovely quiet hotel in the country side but close to town too...nice and peaceful...staff always very nice and couldn't do enough for us....we normally stay here when we come down and love it here...just on the outskirts of town and only 5 euro taxi into the centre which is great!...rooms are lovely too.we either stay here or sheraton hotel when we come down and the rooms are quite similar...cheaper prices here though!!...would recommend here to anyone really....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munster-all-the-way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

great weekend.went down with over 60 people from different pubs in the dublin 12 area .2 nights b+b and 1 evening dinner food very good but had to wait a while to be served.hard to sleep on saturday night very windy latch on window broken window banging all night .still we are all going back in october

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murf45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow.Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Had a very brief trip to this hotel in November to visit a relative nearby and my wife and I just loved the place. Lovely room which was a good size, well appointed and spotless. Dinner in the restaurant was good value and maybe a tad old fashioned was very enjoyable with great friendly service and got very busy as we started our main course. A manager appeared and immediately other staff were re-directed from the bar and all went smoothly. Which was typical of this hotel as management were evident at all times. This to us is a very good sign of a hotel and directions were givnen quitely and politely to staff. This is a happy place which takes its clients care at a premium.
We asked for a quiet room as when booking we were informed as it was Friday there was a function in the hotel. To be honest there was some noise from music at this function but it packed up reasonably early and was not too much bother.
Breakfast was a feast with everything one might ask for and plenty of it including smoked salmon. All served seamlessly and again despite it being November the place was full.
Very good value for money and just off the hustle and bustle of Athlone.
Lots to do in Athlone with great shopping so this is a great place for a break. Lovely pint in the bar and as I wandered down alone a young barman asked if I would like a newspaper...nice touch.
One small gripe is that about 8.30 in the morning we were awakened by music and discoverd later that the public music system had a speaker in the corridor just outside our room. Why would anybody put hotel background music in the area adjacent to bedrooms??? So no lie in for us unfortunately. We did mention this as we checked out.
Despite this we will definitly go back and we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomMonaghan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Just back from a two night break away at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. The exterior of the hotel is dated and isn't much to look at but the interior is much more modern. The rooms are nicely decorated, clean and spacious. My only complaint is that we found the room and restaurant a little cold. There was one small radiator in our room but it didn't through out much heat and there was no way to adjust the temperature. On a positive note, the staff are very friendly and are wiling to meet any requests that you may have and it is within walking distance to Athlone Centre and Athlone Castle.

As for Athlone itself, it is full of pubs, restaurants/fast food eateries and has two main shopping centres.., so two nights/three days was more than enough down there as we are not heavy drinkers and not big shoppers (one day at the shops is more than enough for me!). Also, we feel like we haven't stopped eating and drinkers since Christmas so we feel a diet/detox is in order.

Room Tip: Select non-smoking as I could smell a lot of smoke in the hallway as I walked to my room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

I stayed here as part of a group of five for a christmas party night. The overall experience was very good. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The food and entertainment at the party night was very good and we had a very enjoyable night.
On the second night we had a meal in the bar and while the menu offered a standard selection, the food was excellent and very tasty. Breakfast, which was very good, was the usual selection of cerels, fruit, eggs and cooked irish breakfast.
The hotel is situated about 10 minutes walk from the town centre. If arriving by train, a taxi is a necessity as the station is quite a distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann6273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Property: Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing