We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We were here for a family reunion and as always the food was just fab. Quick service and the staff were great they looked after the kids as well. We all had a great night here and we will def hold the next reunion here as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magoo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

just back from a nights stay here, cannot fault the place. lovely clean room, the staff were very friendly and nice. they weren't constantly in our face but were there when needed which was lovely. the food was really good especially the breakfast.i went to the spa for a facial and it was so nice and relaxing, a tad expensive but i got 10 percent off because i was staying in the hotel. i would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank muinteoir22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Just back from a night in Shamrock Lodge with 4 school friends. We had a great time. Nothing was too much trouble. We were still in dining room at 12.45pm today having finished breakfast - staff werent asking us to leave they were lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was really good, best hotel breakfast I have had, possibly ever! The bedroom was spacious with a couch and coffee table. We also had a small balcony, which was a lovely surprise! There was a problem with the TV in the room but the staff sorted it out quickly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitty_jat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just spent a lovely 3 days here. Staff very friendly and efficient. Rooms were very comfortable and well serviced, good food and nice pleasant bar. The whole staff were very friendly and very efficient. It is also well located. 10 out of 10 from myself and my wife. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidwhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I cannot understand good reviews here. This hotel was horribly dated and dirty. Can't fault staff but our room was atrocious. 2 of lamps didn't work, toilet seat was broken , mould all over shower , curtains and blinds all manky. All of furniture was worn , dirty and full of dust. Honestly I could keep going. Then went for dinner . Worst I've ever eaten. It was brutal. Our party of 4 all ate nothing. Tasteless mash probably smash , chicken was probably cooked last week. Id be embarrassed to serve it. Everyone in the restaurant agreed. Appalling.. Never ever again. Our friends room was just as bad. We ended up having to eat down town... Avoid this place at all costs

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank sekon2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Good Afternoon
In relation to the issues that you had during your recent stay ,as you see from our other reviews this has come as quite a suprise to us,however I value all feedback both positive and negative. if you would like to contact me directly at the hotel . i would like to discuss this in further with you.
Thanks
Alan McCaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

It is a lovely quiet hotel in the country side but close to town too...nice and peaceful...staff always very nice and couldn't do enough for us....we normally stay here when we come down and love it here...just on the outskirts of town and only 5 euro taxi into the centre which is great!...rooms are lovely too.we either stay here or sheraton hotel when we come down and the rooms are quite similar...cheaper prices here though!!...would recommend here to anyone really....

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munster-all-the-way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,956 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,162 reviews
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
948 reviews
2.5 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £37 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing